You are here

Center Staff

Don Haviland, Ph.D.

Executive Director

Don Haviland has more than 20 years of research experience. He has evaluated graduate education reform initiatives, teacher professional development programs, newly developed curricula, and efforts directed at systemic change -- at the local, state and national levels. He is the founding director of CEEE.


Avery B. Olson, Ph.D.



Avery B. Olson has over 15 years of experience in higher education, as both a student affairs practitioner and higher education researcher. Her areas of research and scholarship include underrepresented student access and persistence; college student development; community college students; and the impact of social class and socioeconomic status on the college experience. She draws from her experiences as a student affairs professional to develop and support research and evaluation that will inform decision-making and increase the quality of program delivery. Dr. Olson currently serves as the Associate Director of CEEE and is faculty in the Educational Leadership Department.


Makisha Glover-Hill

Operations Analyst



CEEE Faculty Project Directors

Erin Biolchino, Ed.D. - Educational Leadership Department

May Ling Halim, Ph.D. - Psychology Department

Erika Kato, Ph.D. - Educational Leadership Department

Jonathan O'Brien, Ed.D. - Educational Leadership Department

Misty Sawatzky, Ph.D. - Educational Leadership Department

Hannah Whang Sayson, Ph.D. - UCLA Center for Educational Assessment