You are here

Important Contacts for Undergraduate Students

We know that taking classes remotely and only coming to campus for essential learning activities is challenging. That's why we created this list of important contacts for the College of Health and Human Services (CHHS) undergraduate students. Connect with the correct faculty or staff member to get academic and career advising,  join a student organization, or learn program-specific information. 

Advising Center 

Academic Advising

Undergraduate Advising for the College of Health & Human Services is done through the CHHS Advising Center. The Advising Center can help with:

  • Exploring and declaring majors and minors​
  • Providing General Education and major advising​
  • Assisting with course registration, scheduling and graduating planning
  • Helping with academic policies and processes
  • Connecting to campus resources

For contact info and hours, visit the CHHS Advising Center website. ​

Note

Career Counseling

Career Workshops: Join CHHS on BeachSync to RSVP for career workshops and sessions.

Individual Appointments: Students may also schedule an individual appointment with Amy Gleason, the Career Coordinator, through SSC.

  1. Log in using Single Sign-On. Click on the BeachConnect button.
  2. On the far right side, click the “Get Assistance” Button to make an advising appointment.
  3. From the drop-down menu choose the type of appointment you need. To meet with your Career Counselor choose “Academic Advising”.
  4. Select the type of advising by choosing the “Advising Center”. Then select the service “Career/Internship Exploration.”
  5. Select "College of Health and Human Services Advising Center" from the Location drop-down.
  6. Choose the day and time that fits with your schedule. If none of the available times work for you, you can view the Walk-in Times for the advising center.
  7. Review the Appointment Details and select which method you wish to receive your reminder: email or text. Please put a few brief notes about what you’d like to discuss with your advisor in the comment box.

Student Groups

Student Organizations and Honor Societies

BeachSync is CSULB's online community. On BeachSync you can interact with student organizations and get up-to-date information on meetings, events, and activities.

Find the BeachSync information for all the CHHS Student Organizations

Undergraduate Programs   

Child Development & Family Studies (CDFS)

Faculty Mentors: Contact your faculty mentor for discipline-specific questions, graduate program and study abroad information, or assistance with internships and career opportunities.

Child Development & Family Studies: Students are advised by their last name. 

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-D Dr. Nancy Dayne nancy.dayne@csulb.edu
E-H Dr. Tiffany Brown tiffany.brown@csulb.edu
I-M Dr. Youngok Jung youngok.jung@csulb.edu
N-Q Dr. Michelle Taylor michelle.taylor@csulb.edu
R-U Dr. Sarah Taylor sarah.taylor@csulb.edu
V-Z Dr. Matthew Jaurequi matthew.jaurequi@csulb.edu

Family Life Education: Students are advised by their last name.

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-M Dr. Nilufer Medora nilufer.medora@csulb.edu
 N-Z Dr. Roudi Roy roudi.roy@csulb.edu

Course-Specific Information: Contact the course instructor.

Department Chair: Dr. Wendy Reiboldt

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed a CDFS faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days. 

Criminology & Criminal Justice (CRJU) 

Main Office: Contact the Administrative Support Coordinator, Monique Corona, for program-specific information and administrative issues. 

  • Email: monique.corona@csulb.edu
  • Phone: 562.985.8965 (please include your name and ID number when you leave a message).

Internship information: Please refer to the Criminology and Criminal Justice BeachBoard page. 

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor

School Director: Dr. Brenda Vogel

Contact the School Director if you have emailed a CRJU faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days. 

Consumer Affairs (CAFF)

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Peter Kreysa

Contact the faculty mentor for discipline-specific questions,  study abroad and graduate program information, or assistance with internships and career opportunities.

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor.

Department Chair: Dr. Wendy Reiboldt

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed a CAFF faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days. 

Fashion Merchandising & Design (FMD)

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Suzanne Marshall

Contact your faculty mentor for discipline-specific questions, study abroad, and graduate program information or assistance with internships and career opportunities.

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor.

Department Chair: Dr. Wendy Reiboldt

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed an FMD faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days. 

Food Science (FSCI)

Faculty Mentor:  Dr. Cheryl Rock

 Contact your faculty mentor for discipline-specific questions, graduate program information, or assistance with internships and career opportunities.

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor. For contact information, visit the FCS Faculty & Staff page.

Department Chair: Dr. Wendy Reiboldt

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed an FSCI faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days. 

Gerontology (GERN)

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Maria Claver

Contact your faculty mentor for program-specific questions, graduate program information, or assistance with internships and career opportunities.  

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor 

Department Chair: Dr. Wendy Reiboldt

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed a GERN instructor and do not hear back within two business days. 

Health Care Administration (HCA)

Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Henry O’Lawrence

Contact the Undergraduate Program Director for discipline-specific questions or assistance with career opportunities and graduate program information. 

Internship information: Visit the HCA Internship Program page for internship information and course instructors. 

Internship Coordinator: Dr. Brenda Freshman

Contact the Internship Coordinator for any further internship information. 

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor 

Department Chair:  Dr. Erlyana Erlyana

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed an HCA faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days.

Health Science (HSC)

Undergraduate Coordinator: Vikki Bisorca

Contact the Undergraduate Coordinator for discipline-specific questions or study abroad and graduate program information. 

Internship Coordinator: Dr. Veronica Acosta-Deprez.

Questions regarding class content or types of internship site should be directed to the Internship Coordinator.

Career counseling: Gail Farmer
Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor 

Department Coordinator: Karen Miyahara

Contact the Department Coordinator if you have emailed an HS faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days.

Department Chair: Dr. Kamiar Alaei

Hospitality Management (HM)

Program-specific information

Faculty Mentors: Contact your faculty mentor for discipline-specific questions, graduate program information, study abroad course approval, and assistance with internship and career opportunities. 

Students are advised by their last name.

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-G Dr. Lee Blecher lee.blecher@csulb.edu
H-N Dr. Ryan Giffen ryan.giffen@csulb.edu
O-T Dr. Libby Gustin libby.gustin@csulb.edu
U-Z Dr. Ronnie Yeh ronnie.yeh@csulb.edu

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor

Program Director: Dr. Lee Blecher

Department Chair: Dr. Wendy Reiboldt

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed an HM faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days. 

Nutrition & Dietetics (NUTR)

Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD) information: Contact Dustin Moore.

Faculty Mentors: Email your faculty mentor for questions about career options, graduate school, and selecting the right major. 

Students are advised by their last name: 

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-C James Childers james.childers@csulb.edu
H-M Dr. Michelle Barrack michelle.barrack@csulb.edu
N-R Dr. Virginia Gray virginia.gray@csulb.edu
S-Z Dr. Long Wang long.wang@csulb.edu

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor 

Department Chair: Dr. Wendy Reiboldt

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed a NUTR faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days. 

Kinesiology (KIN)

Faculty Mentors: Faculty mentors provide assistance with discipline-specific questions, career opportunities, graduate program information, and internship inquiries.

K-12 Teaching Credential: Dr. Emyr Williams

Exercise Science: Students are advised by their last name. 

First Letter of Your Last Name  Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-H Dr. Jill Crussemeyer jill.crussemeyer@csulb.edu
I-L Dr. Josh Cotter joshua.cotter@csulb.edu
M-R Dr. Evan Schick evan.schick@csulb.edu
S-Z Dr. Will Wu will.wu@csulb.edu

Fitness: Dr. Jan Schroeder

Physical Education-Teacher Education: Students are advised by their last name: 

First Letter of Your Last Name  Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-M Dr. Jeff Kress jeff.kress@csulb.edu
N-Z Dr. Christine Galvan christine.galvan@csulb.edu

Sport Psychology and Leadership: Students are advised by their last name. 

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-M Dr. Alison Ede alison.ede@csulb.edu
N-Z Dr. Leilani Madrigal leilani.madrigal@csulb.edu

Course-specific information: contact your course instructor

Exchange program information: Dr. Emyr Williams

Department Chair: Dr. Tiffanye Vargas

Contact the Department Chair for undergraduate program information or if you have emailed a KIN faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days. 

Military Science, Army ROTC 

CSU Long Beach ROTC and Recruitment Office: contact David Ziegelhofer for program information, enrollment, eligibility, scholarship opportunities, or to contact an instructor or staff member. 

Program Chair: Maj. Victor Stephenson

Contact the Program Chair if you have emailed your instructor and do not hear back within two business days.

Nursing (NRSG)

Undergraduate Programs Coordinator - Current and Prospective Students: Nancy Espinosa

Prospective students and current undergraduate students should contact the Undergraduate Programs Coordinator for program information and advising. 

Administrative Support Coordinator - Course Scheduling and Permits: Mark Vela

Contact the Administration Support Coordinator for course scheduling and permits. 

Course-specific information: Contact your course instructor 

Assistant Director of Undergraduate ProgramsMelissa Dyo

School Director: Dr. Lucy Huckabay

Contact the School Director if you have emailed an NRSG faculty or staff member and do not hear back within 2 business days

Recreation & Leisure Studies (REC)

Faculty Mentors: Contact your faculty mentor for discipline-specific questions, graduate program information, study abroad course approval, and assistance with internships and career opportunities. 

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor

Department Chair: Dr. Terry Robertson.

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed a REC faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days.

Social Work (SW)

Admissions questions and information: Mercedes Anderson

Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Lisa Jennings

Contact the Undergraduate Program Director for program-specific questions, graduate program information, study abroad course approval, and assistance with career opportunities.

Field Education information: 

Director of Field Education: Dr. Susan Salas

For further field education information, contact the Director of Field Education. 

Course-specific information: Course instructor

School Director: Dr. Nancy Meyer-Adams

Contact the School Director if you have emailed an SW faculty or staff member and do not hear back within 2 business days. 

Speech-Language Pathology (SLP)

Undergraduate MentorBelinda Daughrity 

Contact the undergraduate mentor for major-specific questions, graduate program information, and assistance with career opportunities. 

Course-specific information: contact the course instructor

Department Chair: Dr. Pei-Fang Hung

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed an SLP faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two business days.