You are here

Department Directory

Please note that the campus buildings are restricted or closed due to COVID-19; faculty and staff will not be available in the listed physical location until further notice. All faculty and staff can still be contacted via email.

Office hours have been updated for Spring 2021.

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Name Contact Details Office Hours Research Interests
Bill, Andreas
Department Chair; Professor
E: Andreas.Bill@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8616
O: HSCI-220a
Book Appointment with Chair
by appointment condensed matter theory, computational physics
Gredig, Thomas
Professor
E: Thomas.Gredig@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4922
O: HSCI-272d
  condensed matter experiments
Gu, Jiyeong
Undergraduate Advisor; Professor
E: Jiyeong.Gu@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4848
O: HSCI-264
Appointment with Undergraduate Advisor through Beach Connect
  condensed matter experiments
Hintzen, Paul
Professor (FERP)
E: Paul.Hintzen@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8619
O: HSCI-244
  astronomy
Jaikumar, Prashanth
Graduate Advisor; Associate Chair; Professor
E: Prashanth.Jaikumar@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5592
O: HSCI-272e
Book Appointment with Graduate Advisor
  theoretical nuclear physics, astrophysics, computational physics
Klähn, Thomas
Assistant Professor
E: Thomas.Klaehn@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2717
O: HSCI-258
  astrophysics, many particle theory, in-medium quantum chromodynamics
Klotz, Alex
Assistant Professor
E: Alex.Klotz@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8700
O: HSCI-252
  biophysics, soft materials, complex fluids
Kwon, Chuhee
Professor
E: Chuhee.Kwon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5967
O: HSCI-266
  condensed matter experiments
Ojeda-Aristizabal, Claudia
Society of Physics Student Advisor; Assistant Professor
E: Claudia.Ojeda-Aristizabal@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4923
O: HSCI-248
  condensed matter experiments
Papp, Zoltan
Professor
E: Zoltan.Papp@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4900
O: HSCI-272c
  few body theory, quantum theory, computational physics
Peterson, Michael
Associate Professor
E: Michael.Peterson@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2734
O: HSCI-272b
  condensed matter theory, computational physics
Pickett, Galen
Professor
E: Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4934
O: HSCI-260
  condensed matter theory, computational physics
Rajpoot, Subhash
Professor
E: Subhash.Rajpoot@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4847
O: HSCI-242
  field theory, elementary particle interactions

Lecturers

Name Contact Details Office Hours Research Interests
Asbell, Jessica E: Jessica.Asbell@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-254
  astronomy
Beck, Kathryn E: Kathryn.Beck@csulb.edu    
Casalino, Meredith E: Meredith.Casalino@csulb.edu    
Chuang, Kuan-Wen E: Kuanwen.Chuang@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-270
  high energy astrophysics
de la Cruz, Victor E: Victor.DeLaCruz@csulb.edu   experimental physics and materials science
Eisenberg, David
Teacher in Residence
E: David.Eisenberg@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
   
Eleby, Johnae E: Johnae.Eleby@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
   
Geier, Montserrat E: Montserrat.Geier@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
   
Gutierrez, Diego E: Diego.Gutierrez@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
   
Mafi, Mariyeh E: Mariyeh.Mafi@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
   
Nishino, Hitoshi E: H.Nishino@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-240
  high energy physics, particle physics, field theory
Woodhouse, Robert E: Robert.Woodhouse@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-272a
   
Ziolkowski, Rod E: Rod.Ziolkowski@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
   

Special Appointments

Name Contact Details Office Hours
Duong, Khue
Science Librarian
E: Khue.Duong@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2641
O: Library-418
 
Henriques, Laura
Professor - Science Education & Physics
E: Laura.Henriqes@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.1408
O: HSCI-214
 
Usufzy, Mary
SPS President
E: Mary.Usufzy@student.csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-276
 

Staff

Name Position Contact Details
Dignadice, Lisa Administrative Assistant E: Lisa.Dignadice@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220
Coombs, Korin Administrative Coordinator E: Korin.Coombs@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7026
O: HSCI-220
Conlon, Jay Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Jay.Conlon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
McLaughlin, Mark Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Mark.Mclaughlin@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
Student Assistants Student Assistants P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220

Teaching Associates and Graduate Assistants

Name Contact Details Office Hours
Arzate, Cristien E: Cristien.Arzate@student.csulb.edu  
Ashas, Mohamad E: Mohamad.Ashas@student.csulb.edu  
Barfield, Patrick E: Patrick.Barfield@student.csulb.edu  
Bergner, Derek E: Derek.Bergner@student.csulb.edu  
Blackshire, Dion E: Dion.Blackshire@student.csulb.edu  
Brulc, Angelic E: Angie.Brulc01@student.csulb.edu  
Cassar, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Cassar01@student.csulb.edu  
Chica, Hugo    
Fischer, Paul E: Paul.Fischer@student.csulb.edu  
Ford, Colin E: Colin.Ford@student.csulb.edu  
Garcia, Edgar E: Edgar.Garcia04@student.csulb.edu  
Gomez, Angel E: Angel.Gomez01@student.csulb.edu  
Halls, Spencer E: Spencer.Halls@student.csulb.edu  
Juan, Lydia E: Lydia.Juan@student.csulb.edu  
Karzai, Emran E: Emran.Karzai@student.csulb.edu  
Lima, Carlos E: Carlos.Lima@student.csulb.edu  
Lozano, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Lozano01@student.csulb.edu  
Luna, Cristopher E: Cristopher.Luna@student.csulb.edu  
Minaker, Zachary E: Zachary.Minaker@student.csulb.edu  
Modjtahedzadeh, Kam E: Kam.Modjtahedzadeh01@student.csulb.edu  
Molina, Everardo E: Everardo.Molina@student.csulb.edu  
Omidwar, Amir E: Amir.Omidwar@student.csulb.edu  
Park, Luke E: Luke.Park01@student.csulb.edu  
Ragotskie, Joshua E: Josh.Ragotskie@student.csulb.edu  
Rincon, Adriana E: Adriana.Rincon@student.csulb.edu  
Roberts, Michael E: Grant.Roberts01@student.csulb.edu  
Smallwood, Seann E: Seann.Smallwood01@student.csulb.edu  
Tandy, Laura E: Laura.Tandy01@student.csulb.edu  
Towne, Ryan E: Ryan.Towne@student.csulb.edu  
Tran, Vinh E: Vinh.Tran02@student.csulb.edu  
Zafra, Alejandro E: Alejandro.Zafra01@student.csulb.edu  

Emeriti and Former Faculty

  • Yohannes Abate
  • Zahur Anwar
  • R.D. Ayers
  • Mladen Barbic
  • Christian Bracher
  • Lowell Eliason
  • Simon George
  • M. Gross
  • Zvonimir Hlousek
  • C.Y. Hu
  • Pat Kenealy
  • Larry S. Lerner
  • Alfred Leung
  • Ken Luke
  • Jack Munsee
  • Seeman Salem
  • Bruce Scott
  • K.Y. Shen
  • Cramer W. Shultz
  • Edwin L. Woollett
  • A.F. Yano

Former Lecturers and Staff

  • Sandy Dana
  • Michael Frey
  • Kim Gordon
  • Irene Howard
  • George Kuck
  • Eric Muckley
  • Deepak Sharma
  • Jasmina Stankovic
  • Slobodan (Bob) Stankovic
  • Hiroki Sunahata
  • Hooshang Tahsiri
  • Mark Tang