Department Directory

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Physics and Astronomy Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Name Contact Details Office Hours Research Interests
Bill, Andreas
Department Chair; Professor
E: Andreas.Bill@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8616
O: HSCI-220a
Book Appointment with Chair
by appointment condensed matter theory, computational physics
Gredig, Thomas
Professor; Undergraduate Advisor
E: Thomas.Gredig@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4922
O: HSCI-272d
Appointment with Undergraduate Advisor through Beach Connect
  condensed matter experiments
Gu, Jiyeong
Professor
E: Jiyeong.Gu@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4848
O: HSCI-264
  condensed matter experiments
Hintzen, Paul
Professor Emeritus
E: Paul.Hintzen@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8619
O: HSCI-244
  astronomy
Jaikumar, Prashanth
Graduate Advisor; Associate Chair; Professor
E: Prashanth.Jaikumar@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5592
O: HSCI-272e
Book Appointment with Graduate Advisor
  theoretical nuclear physics, astrophysics, computational physics
Klähn, Thomas
Associate Professor
E: Thomas.Klaehn@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2717
O: HSCI-258
  astrophysics, many particle theory, in-medium quantum chromodynamics
Klotz, Alex
Assistant Professor
E: Alex.Klotz@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8700
O: HSCI-252
  biophysics, soft materials, complex fluids
Kwon, Chuhee
Professor Emerita
E: Chuhee.Kwon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5967
O: HSCI-266
  condensed matter experiments
Ojeda-Aristizabal, Claudia
Society of Physics Student Advisor; Associate Professor
E: Claudia.Ojeda-Aristizabal@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4923
O: HSCI-248
  condensed matter experiments
Papp, Zoltan
Professor
E: Zoltan.Papp@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4900
O: HSCI-272c
  few body theory, quantum theory, computational physics
Peterson, Michael
Professor
E: Michael.Peterson@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2734
O: HSCI-272b
  condensed matter theory, computational physics
Pickett, Galen
Professor
E: Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4934
O: HSCI-260
  condensed matter theory, computational physics
Rajpoot, Subhash
Professor
E: Subhash.Rajpoot@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4847
O: HSCI-242
  field theory, elementary particle interactions

Lecturers

Physics and Astronomy Lecturers
Name Contact Details Office Hours Research Interests
Araya, Tamara
Teacher in Residence
E: Tamara.Araya@csulb.edu    
Asbell, Jessica E: Jessica.Asbell@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-254
  astronomy
Bevli, Gurmohanjeet E: Gurmohan.Bevli@csulb.edu    
Burgess, Chris E: Chris.Burgess@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
   
Chuang, Kuan-Wen E: Kuanwen.Chuang@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-270
  high energy astrophysics
de la Cruz, Victor E: Victor.DeLaCruz@csulb.edu   experimental physics and materials science
Eleby, Johnae E: Johnae.Eleby@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
   
Fournier, Justin      
Gutierrez, Diego E: Diego.Gutierrez@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-254
   
Henriques, Laura
Professor
E: Laura.Henriques@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.1408
O: HSCI-214
   
Keller, Scott E: Scott.Keller@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
   
Mehr Motamedi, Bita E: Bita.MehrMotamedi@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
   
Nishino, Hitoshi E: H.Nishino@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-240
  high energy physics, particle physics, field theory
Woodhouse, Robert E: Robert.Woodhouse@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-272a
   
Ziolkowski, Rod E: Rod.Ziolkowski@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
   

Staff

Physics and Astronomy Staff
Name Position Contact Details
Coombs, Korin Administrative Coordinator E: Korin.Coombs@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7026
O: HSCI-220
Conlon, Jay Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Jay.Conlon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
McLaughlin, Mark Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Mark.Mclaughlin@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
Mendoza, Sergio Office Assistant E: Sergio.Mendoza@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220
Student Assistants Student Assistants P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220

Special Appointments

Physics and Astronomy Special Appointments
Name Contact Details Office Hours
Duong, Khue
Science Librarian
E: Khue.Duong@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2641
O: Library-418
 

Teaching Associates and Graduate Assistants

Physics and Astronomy Teaching Associates and Graduate Assistants
Name Email Office Hours
Blackshire, Dion E: Dion.Blackshire@student.csulb.edu  
Brulc, Angelic E: Angie.Brulc01@student.csulb.edu  
Cassar, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Cassar01@student.csulb.edu  
Corona, Elias Victor E: Victor.Corona01@student.csulb.edu  
Deal, Shanel E: Shanel.Deal01@student.csulb.edu  
Fischer, Paul E: Paul.Fischer@student.csulb.edu  
Ford, Colin E: Colin.Ford@student.csulb.edu  
Gomez, Angel E: Angel.Gomez01@student.csulb.edu  
Hilliard, Willaim E: William.Hilliard@student.csulb.edu  
Juan, Lydia E: Lydia.Juan@student.csulb.edu  
Karzai, Emran E: Emran.Karzai@student.csulb.edu  
Lima, Carlos E: Carlos.Lima@student.csulb.edu  
Lozano, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Lozano01@student.csulb.edu  
Ly, Raymond E: Raymond.Ly01@student.csulb.edu  
Mendez, Fanuel E: Fanuel.Mendez01@student.csulb.edu  
Mizukami, Ryan E: Ryan.Mizukami01@student.csulb.edu  
Modjtahedzadeh, Kam E: Kam.Modjtahedzadeh01@student.csulb.edu  
Omidwar, Amir E: Amir.Omidwar@student.csulb.edu  
Park, Luke E: Luke.Park01@student.csulb.edu  
Ragotskie, Joshua E: Josh.Ragotskie@student.csulb.edu  
Roberts, Grant E: Grant.Roberts01@student.csulb.edu  
Smallwood, Seann E: Seann.Smallwood01@student.csulb.edu  
Sundland, Henry E: Henry.Sundland01@student.csulb.edu  
Tandy, Laura E: Laura.Tandy01@student.csulb.edu  
Towne, Ryan E: Ryan.Towne@student.csulb.edu  
Tran, Vinh E: Vinh.Tran02@student.csulb.edu  
Wingard, Derek E: Derek.Wingard01@student.csulb.edu  
Zafra, Alejandro E: Alejandro.Zafra01@student.csulb.edu  

Emeriti and Former Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

  • Yohannes Abate
  • Zahur Anwar
  • R.D. Ayers
  • Mladen Barbic
  • Christian Bracher
  • Lowell Eliason
  • Simon George
  • M. Gross
  • Zvonimir Hlousek
  • C.Y. Hu
  • Pat Kenealy
  • Larry S. Lerner
  • Alfred Leung
  • Ken Luke
  • Jack Munsee
  • Seeman Salem
  • Bruce Scott
  • K.Y. Shen
  • Cramer W. Shultz
  • Edwin L. Woollett
  • A.F. Yano

Emeriti and Former Lecturer Faculty

  • Michael Frey
  • Montserrat Geier (Emerita)
  • Dylan Gilbert
  • Kim Gordon
  • George Kuck
  • Mariyeh Mafi
  • Eric Muckley
  • Deepak Sharma
  • Jasmina Stankovic
  • Slobodan (Bob) Stankovic
  • Hiroki Sunahata
  • Hooshang Tahsiri
  • Mark Tang

Former Staff

  • Sandy Dana
  • Lisa Dignadice
  • Irene Howard
  • Nicole Torres
  • Tony Torres