Department Directory

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Physics and Astronomy Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Name Contact Details Research Interests
Jaikumar, Prashanth
Department Chair; Professor
E: Prashanth.Jaikumar@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5592
O: HSCI-220a
Book Appointment with Department Chair
theoretical nuclear physics, astrophysics, computational physics
Gredig, Thomas
Undergraduate Advisor; Society of Physics Students Advisor; Professor
E: Thomas.Gredig@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4922
O: HSCI-272d
Appointment with Undergraduate Advisor through Beach Connect
condensed matter experiments
Gu, Jiyeong
Graduate Advisor; Professor
E: Jiyeong.Gu@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4848
O: HSCI-264
Book Appointment with Graduate Advisor
condensed matter experiments
Bill, Andreas
Professor
E: Andreas.Bill@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8616
O: HSCI-262
condensed matter theory, computational physics
Hintzen, Paul
Professor Emeritus
E: Paul.Hintzen@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8619
O: HSCI-244
astronomy
Klähn, Thomas
Associate Professor
E: Thomas.Klaehn@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2717
O: HSCI-258
astrophysics, many particle theory, in-medium quantum chromodynamics
Klotz, Alex
Assistant Professor
E: Alex.Klotz@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8700
O: HSCI-252
biophysics, soft materials, complex fluids
Kwon, Chuhee
Professor Emerita
E: Chuhee.Kwon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5967
O: HSCI-266
condensed matter experiments
Ojeda-Aristizabal, Claudia
Associate Professor
E: Claudia.Ojeda-Aristizabal@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4923
O: HSCI-248
condensed matter experiments
Papp, Zoltan
Professor
E: Zoltan.Papp@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4900
O: HSCI-272c
few body theory, quantum theory, computational physics
Peterson, Michael
Associate Chair; Professor
E: Michael.Peterson@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2734
O: HSCI-272b
condensed matter theory, computational physics
Pickett, Galen
Professor
E: Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4934
O: HSCI-260
condensed matter theory, computational physics
Rajpoot, Subhash
Professor
E: Subhash.Rajpoot@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4847
O: HSCI-242
field theory, elementary particle interactions
Zinn, Joel
Assistant Professor
E: Joel.Zinn@csulb.edu
O: HSCI-256
asteroseismology, stellar physics, galactic archaeology

Lecturers

Physics and Astronomy Lecturers
Name Contact Details Research Interests
Asbell, Jessica E: Jessica.Asbell@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-254
astronomy
Bevli, Gurmohanjeet E: Gurmohan.Bevli@csulb.edu  
de la Cruz, Victor E: Victor.DeLaCruz@csulb.edu experimental physics and materials science
Eleby, Johnae E: Johnae.Eleby@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
 
Fournier, Justin E: Justin.Fournier@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
 
Gomez, Angel E: Angel.Gomez@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
 
Gutierrez, Diego E: Diego.Gutierrez@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-254
 
Jamali, Shirin E: Shirin.Jamali@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-270
 
Keller, Scott E: Scott.Keller@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
 
Lanoye, Michael E: Michael.Lanoye@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
 
Lozano, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Lozano@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
 
Mehr Motamedi, Bita E: Bita.MehrMotamedi@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
 
Nishino, Hitoshi E: H.Nishino@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-240
high energy physics, particle physics, field theory
Werner, Nicholas E: Nicolas.Werner@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
 
Woodhouse, Robert E: Robert.Woodhouse@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-272a
 
Ziolkowski, Rod E: Rod.Ziolkowski@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
 

Staff

Physics and Astronomy Staff
Name Position Contact Details
Conlon, Jay Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Jay.Conlon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
McLaughlin, Mark Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Mark.McLaughlin@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
Mendoza, Sergio Administrative Assistant E: Sergio.Mendoza@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220
Shaw, John Administrative Coordinator E: John.Shaw@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7026
O: HSCI-220
Student Assistants Student Assistants P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220

Special Appointments

Physics and Astronomy Special Appointments
Name Contact Details Office Hours
Duong, Khue
Science Librarian
E: Khue.Duong@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2641
O: Library-418
 

Teaching Associates and Graduate Assistants

Physics and Astronomy Teaching Associates and Graduate Assistants
Name Email Office Hours
Blackshire, Dion E: Dion.Blackshire@student.csulb.edu PHSC:
Wed. 11:50am-12:50pm, 3:50pm-4:50pm
Brulc, Angelic E: Angie.Brulc01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152:
Mon. 4:00pm-5:00pm;
Thu. 11:00am-12:00pm
Chow, Sylvia E: Sylvia.Chow@student.csulb.edu ASTR 100: Mon. 2:00pm-4:00pm.
PHYS 254: Mon. 1:00pm-2:00pm.
PHSC 112: Mon. 4:00pm-5:00pm
Corona, Elias Victor E: Victor.Corona01@student.csulb.edu Mon. 12:00pm-12:30pm, 3:15pm-3:30pm,  6:15pm-6:30pm
Cuomo, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Cuomo01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152: Mon. 3:00pm-4:00pm
Deal, Shanel E: Shanel.Deal01@student.csulb.edu PHSC 112: Wed. 3:30pm-4:30pm.
PHYS 100B: Thu. 11:00am-12:00pm
Diaz, Deanna E: Deanna.Diaz01@student.csulb.edu ASTR 100L: Tue. 1:00pm-3:00pm.
PHYS 100B: Thu. 1:00pm-2:00pm
Ford, Colin E: Colin.Ford@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152: Tue. 3:45pm-4:30pm.
PHYS 152: Wed. 2:00pm-2:45pm
Franco, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Franco02@student.csulb.edu Thu. 11:00am-2:00pm
Garcia, Cristian E: Cristian.Garcia03@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100A:
Mon. 6:00pm-7:00pm, 2:00pm-3:00pm;
Wed. 6:00pm-7:00pm
Henkhaus, Erin E: Erin.Henkhaus01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100B:
Tue. 2:00pm-3:00pm;
Wed. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Juan, Lydia E: Lydia.Juan@student.csulb.edu ASTR 100L: Tue. 3:00pm-5:00pm.
PHYS 560A: Tue. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Kosareff, Felipe E: Felipe.Kosareff01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152:
Mon. 1:00pm-2:00pm;
Wed. 1:00pm-2:00pm
Lima, Carlos E: Carlos.Lima@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151: Wed. 9:00am-10:00am
PHYS 151: 1:00pm-2:50pm
Ly, Raymond E: Raymond.Ly01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151: Mon. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Martinez, Raul E: Raul.Martinez03@student.csulb.edu ASTR 100L: Thu. 10:00am-11:00am.
PHYS 100A: Tue. 10:00am-11:00am
Mendez, Fanuel E: Fanuel.Mendez01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 562: Fri. 12:00pm-1:00pm.
PHYS 360: Fri. 11:00am-12:00pm
Mizukami, Ryan E: Ryan.Mizukami01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100A: Wed. 11:45am-12:45pm.
PHYS 151: Thu. 9:00am-10:00am
Ragotskie, Joshua E: Josh.Ragotskie@student.csulb.edu Mon. 10:00am-11:00am
Rosales, Giovanny E: Giovanny.Rosales01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152: Mon. 3:00pm-4:00pm
Sundland, Henry E: Henry.Sundland01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100B: Tue. 11:00am-12:00pm.
PHYS 152:
Mon. 1:00pm-2:00pm;
Tue. 1:00pm-2:00pm;
Wed. 1:00pm-2:00pm
Tandy, Laura E: Laura.Tandy01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 450: Thu. 12:30-1:30pm
Torres, Daniel E: Daniel.Torres04@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152: Tue. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Tran, Vinh E: Vinh.Tran02@student.csulb.edu Mon. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Virgen, Tomas E: Tomas.Virgen01@student.csulb.edu PHYS152: Mon. 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wilcox, Brian E: Brian.Wilcox01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100A: Wed. 11:00am-12:00pm.
PHYS 100B: Thu. 2:15pm-3:15pm
Yadav, Kedar E: Kedar.Yadav01@student.csulb.edu Fri. 12:00pm-3:00pm
Zafra, Alejandro E: Alejandro.Zafra01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151: Fri. 10:00am-12:00pm

Emeriti and Former Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

  • Yohannes Abate
  • Zahur Anwar
  • R.D. Ayers
  • Mladen Barbic
  • Christian Bracher
  • Lowell Eliason
  • Simon George
  • M. Gross
  • Zvonimir Hlousek
  • C.Y. Hu
  • Pat Kenealy
  • Larry S. Lerner
  • Alfred Leung
  • Ken Luke
  • Jack Munsee
  • Seeman Salem
  • Bruce Scott
  • K.Y. Shen
  • Cramer W. Shultz
  • Edwin L. Woollett
  • A.F. Yano

Emeriti and Former Lecturer Faculty

  • Tamara Araya
  • Chris Burgess
  • Kuan-Wen Chuang
  • Michael Frey
  • Montserrat Geier (Emerita)
  • Dylan Gilbert
  • Kim Gordon
  • Laura Henriques (Emerita)
  • George Kuck
  • Mariyeh Mafi
  • Eric Muckley
  • Deepak Sharma
  • Jasmina Stankovic
  • Slobodan (Bob) Stankovic
  • Hiroki Sunahata
  • Hooshang Tahsiri
  • Mark Tang

Former Staff

  • Korin Coombs
  • Sandy Dana
  • Lisa Dignadice
  • Irene Howard
  • Nicole Torres
  • Tony Torres