You are here

Department Directory

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Name Contact Details Office Hours Research Interests
Bill, Andreas
Department Chair; Professor
E: Andreas.Bill@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8616
O: HSCI-220a
Book Appointment with Chair
by appointment condensed matter theory, computational physics
Gredig, Thomas
Professor
E: Thomas.Gredig@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4922
O: HSCI-272d
on leave condensed matter experiments
Gu, Jiyeong
Professor
E: Jiyeong.Gu@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4848
O: HSCI-264
on leave condensed matter experiments
Hintzen, Paul
Professor (FERP)
E: Paul.Hintzen@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8619
O: HSCI-244
n/a astronomy
Jaikumar, Prashanth
Graduate Advisor; Associate Chair; Professor
E: Prashanth.Jaikumar@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5592
O: HSCI-272e
Book Appointment with Graduate Advisor
Fri. 2:00pm-3:00pm theoretical nuclear physics, astrophysics, computational physics
Klähn, Thomas
Assistant Professor
E: Thomas.Klaehn@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2717
O: HSCI-258
Tue./Thu. 3:30pm-4:30pm;
by appointment
astrophysics, many particle theory, in-medium quantum chromodynamics
Klotz, Alex
Assistant Professor
E: Alex.Klotz@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8700
O: HSCI-252
Thu. 11:00am-12:00pm;
by appointment
biophysics, soft materials, complex fluids
Kwon, Chuhee
Professor
E: Chuhee.Kwon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5967
O: HSCI-266
on leave condensed matter experiments
Ojeda-Aristizabal, Claudia
Society of Physics Student Advisor; Assistant Professor
E: Claudia.Ojeda-Aristizabal@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4923
O: HSCI-248
Thu. 1:30pm-2:30pm condensed matter experiments
Papp, Zoltan
Professor
E: Zoltan.Papp@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4900
O: HSCI-272c
Mon. 4:45pm-5:45pm;
15 min after each class;
by appointment/email
few body theory, quantum theory, computational physics
Peterson, Michael
Associate Professor
E: Michael.Peterson@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2734
O: HSCI-272b
PHYS 360 03:
Tue. 3:30pm-4:30pm

PHYS 560 03:
Thu. 3:30pm-4:30pm

PHYS 380:
Thu. 4:30pm-5:30pm
condensed matter theory, computational physics
Pickett, Galen
Undergraduate Advisor; Professor
E: Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4934
O: HSCI-260
Appointment with Undergraduate Advisor through Beach Connect
Mon.-Fri. 10:00am-10:50am
(via Zoom, not recorded)
condensed matter theory, computational physics
Rajpoot, Subhash
Professor
E: Subhash.Rajpoot@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4847
O: HSCI-242
Mon./Wed. 1:00pm-2:00pm, 3:15pm-4:00pm;
by appointment
field theory, elementary particle interactions

Lecturers

Name Contact Details Office Hours Research Interests
Araya, Tamara
Teacher in Residence
E: Tamara.Araya@csulb.edu Thu. 7:45pm-8:30pm;
by appointment
 
Asbell, Jessica E: Jessica.Asbell@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-254
Mon./Wed. 12:50pm-1:50pm, 6:30pm-7:30pm;
Tue./Thu. 12:50pm-1:50pm
astronomy
Bevli, Gurmohanjeet E: Gurmohan.Bevli@csulb.edu Tue. 6:00pm-7:00pm  
Chuang, Kuan-Wen E: Kuanwen.Chuang@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-270
PHYS 320/152:
Tue. 2:40pm-3:30pm

PHYS 100A:
Thu. 1:50pm-2:40pm

PHYS 100B:
Thu. 2:40pm-3:30pm

PHYS 151:
Fri. 11:00am-11:50am
high energy astrophysics
de la Cruz, Victor E: Victor.DeLaCruz@csulb.edu Mon. 2:30pm-3:30pm;
Tue. 4:00pm-5:00pm;
Wed. 9:00am-10:00am, 2:00pm-3:00pm;
by appointment (e-mail)
experimental physics and materials science
Eleby, Johnae E: Johnae.Eleby@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
ASTR 100 02:
Thu. 11:30am-2:00pm

ASTR 100L 01 & ASTR 100L 02:
Mon. 11:00 am-1:00pm
 
Fournier, Justin   Mon. 5:00pm-6:00pm  
Gilbert, Dylan E: Dylan.Gilbert@csulb.edu PHYS 152 02:
Fri. 2:00pm-3:00pm

PHYS 450:
Fri. 3:00pm-4:00pm
 
Gutierrez, Diego E: Diego.Gutierrez@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
PHYS 100B:
Mon. 10:30am-11:30am

PHSC 112:
Mon. 1:00pm-2:00pm

ASTR 100:
Thu. 12:00pm-1:00pm

PHYS 100A:
Fri. 10:00am-11:00am
 
Henriques, Laura E: Laura.Henriques@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.1408
O: HSCI-214
Tue. 4:00pm-5:00pm via zoom;
Thu. 4:00pm-4:30pm (in person) and by appointment
 
Mafi, Mariyeh E: Mariyeh.Mafi@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
Mon. 4:00pm-5:00pm

PHYS 151 19:
Wed. 2:00pm-2:45pm

PHYS 151 11:
Thu. 4:00pm-4:45pm

PHYS 151 12:
Thu. 4:45pm-5:30pm

PHYS 100B:
Fri. 10:30am-11:30am
 
Nishino, Hitoshi E: H.Nishino@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-240
Mon. 4:00pm-5:00pm high energy physics, particle physics, field theory
Woodhouse, Robert E: Robert.Woodhouse@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-272a
n/a  
Ziolkowski, Rod E: Rod.Ziolkowski@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
PHSC 112:
Mon. 10:00am-11:00am

PHSC 112L:
30 minutes before and after class
 

Special Appointments

Name Contact Details Office Hours
Duong, Khue
Science Librarian
E: Khue.Duong@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2641
O: Library-418
 
Usufzy, Mary
SPS President
E: Mary.Usufzy@student.csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-276
 

Staff

Name Position Contact Details
Dignadice, Lisa Administrative Assistant E: Lisa.Dignadice@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220
Coombs, Korin Administrative Coordinator E: Korin.Coombs@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7026
O: HSCI-220
Conlon, Jay Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Jay.Conlon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
McLaughlin, Mark Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Mark.Mclaughlin@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
Student Assistants Student Assistants P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220

Teaching Associates and Graduate Assistants

Name Email Office Hours
Bergner, Derek E: Derek.Bergner@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100A:
Thu. 1:00pm-2:00pm

ASTR 100L:
Thu. 9:00am-10:00am
Blackshire, Dion E: Dion.Blackshire@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 06:
Mon. 9:00am-10:00am

PHSC 112 05:
Tue. 11:00am-12:00pm

PHSC 112 10:
Tue. 6:00pm-7:00pm

PHSC 112 08:
Wed. 7:00pm-8:00pm
Brulc, Angelic E: Angie.Brulc01@student.csulb.edu Mon. 1:00pm-2:00pm;
Fri. 11:30am-12:30pm
Cassar, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Cassar01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152 04:
Wed. 2:00pm-2:40pm

PHYS 152 20:
Wed. 1:00pm-1:40pm
Chica, Hugo E: Hugo.Chica@student.csulb.edu Wed. 12:00pm-1:00pm
Chow, Sylvia E: Sylvia.Chow@student.csulb.edu PHSC 112 09:
Mon. 3:00pm-4:00pm

PHSC 112 04:
Tue. 10:45am-11:45am

PHSC 112 06:
Wed. 8:00am-9:00am

GA 254:
Thu. 8:00am-9:00am
Deal, Shanel E: Shanel.Deal01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100B:
Thu. 4:00pm-5:00pm

PHSC 112:
Fri. 1:00pm-2:00pm
Ford, Colin E: Colin.Ford@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 24:
Wed. 2:15pm-3:00pm

PHYS 151 28:
Wed. 1:30pm-2:15pm

PHYS 100B 07:
Thu. 2:00pm-2:45pm
Garcia, Edgar E: Edgar.Garcia04@student.csulb.edu Mon. 12:00pm-1:00pm;
Fri. 10:00am-11:00am, 12:00pm-2:00pm
Gomez, Angel E: Angel.Gomez01@student.csulb.edu GA PHYS 100A/B:
Wed. 1:00pm-2:00pm

GA PHYS 152:
Wed. 2:30pm-3:30pm

GA PHYS 100A:
Thu. 12:00pm-1:00pm
Gonzalez, Bryan E: T.GonzalezBaldizon01@student.csulb.edu Mon. 9:30am-10:30am
Halls, Spencer E: Spencer.Halls@student.csulb.edu Mon. 3:30pm-4:30pm;
Wed. 9:00am-10:00am;
Thu. 1:00pm-2:00pm
Juan, Lydia E: Lydia.Juan@student.csulb.edu Mon. 3:00pm-4:00pm;
Wed. 3:00pm-4:00pm;
Fri. 3:00pm-4:00pm
Karzai, Emran E: Emran.Karzai@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152 06:
Fri. 2:00pm-3:00pm

PHYS 152 05:
Fri. 3:00pm-4:00pm
Felipe Kosareff E: Felipe.Kosareff01@student.csulb.edu GA PHYS 151/152:
Wed. 2:00pm-3:00pm

GA PHYS 450:
Tue. 1:00pm-2:00pm
Lima, Carlos E: Carlos.Lima@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 14:
Mon. 12:30pm-1:30pm

GA PHYS 320 02:
Mon. 1:30pm-2:30pm

GA PHYS 320 03:
Tue. 11:00am-12:00pm

GA PHYS 562 01:
Tue. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Lozano, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Lozano01@student.csulb.edu Wed. 10:00am-11:00am
Luna, Cristopher E: Cristopher.Luna@student.csulb.edu Wed. 12:00pm-4:00pm
Ly, Raymond E: Raymond.Ly01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 21:
Fri. 2:00pm-3:00pm

PHYS 151 22:
Fri. 3:00pm-4:00pm
Mansour, Anise E: Anise.Mansour01@student.csulb.edu Mon. 7:00pm-8pm
Mendez, Fanuel E: Fanuel.Mendez01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 07:
Fri. 11:00am-12:00pm

PHYS 151 15:
Fri. 12:00pm-1:00pm
Mizukami, Ryan E: Ryan.Mizukami01@student.csulb.edu Wed. 11:00am-12:00pm;
by appointment (email)
Modjtahedzadeh, Kam E: Kam.Modjtahedzadeh01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152:
Tue. 1:00pm-3:30pm

GA PHYS 340B:
Mon. 1:00pm-2:00pm
Omidwar, Amir E: Amir.Omidwar@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152 09:
Wed. 9:00am-10:00am

PHYS 152 10:
Wed. 10:00am-11:00am

GA PHYS 360:
Thu. 3:30pm-4:30pm
Park, Luke E: Luke.Park01@student.csulb.edu Mon. 1:00pm-3:00pm
Ragotskie, Joshua E: Josh.Ragotskie@student.csulb.edu Thu. 10:00am-11:00am
Ramirez, Francisco E: Francisco.Ramirez01@student.csulb.edu Mon. 2:00pm-3:00pm;
by appointment
Roberts, Grant E: Grant.Roberts01@student.csulb.edu Fri. 4:00pm-5:00pm
Sundland, Henry E: Henry.Sundland01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151:
Wed. 2:00pm-3:00pm

PHYS 100B:
Wed. 3:30pm-4:30pm
Tandy, Laura E: Laura.Tandy01@student.csulb.edu Thu. 8:00am-9:00am
Virgen, Tomas E: Tomas.Virgen01@student.csulb.edu Wed. 5:00pm-6:00pm
Wingard, Derek E: Derek.Wingard01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 09:
Mon. 12:00pm-12:50pm

PHYS 151 13:
Mon. 1:00pm-1:50pm
Zafra, Alejandro E: Alejandro.Zafra01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 10:
Tue. 9:00am-10:00am

PHYS 151 18:
Thu. 9:00am-10:00am

Emeriti and Former Faculty

  • Yohannes Abate
  • Zahur Anwar
  • R.D. Ayers
  • Mladen Barbic
  • Christian Bracher
  • Lowell Eliason
  • Simon George
  • M. Gross
  • Zvonimir Hlousek
  • C.Y. Hu
  • Pat Kenealy
  • Larry S. Lerner
  • Alfred Leung
  • Ken Luke
  • Jack Munsee
  • Seeman Salem
  • Bruce Scott
  • K.Y. Shen
  • Cramer W. Shultz
  • Edwin L. Woollett
  • A.F. Yano

Former Lecturers and Staff

  • Sandy Dana
  • Michael Frey
  • Kim Gordon
  • Irene Howard
  • George Kuck
  • Eric Muckley
  • Deepak Sharma
  • Jasmina Stankovic
  • Slobodan (Bob) Stankovic
  • Hiroki Sunahata
  • Hooshang Tahsiri
  • Mark Tang