You are here

Department Directory

Please note that the campus buildings are restricted or closed due to COVID-19; faculty and staff will not be available in the listed physical location until further notice. All faculty and staff can still be contacted via email.

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Name Contact Details Office Hours Research Interests
Bill, Andreas
Department Chair; Professor
E: Andreas.Bill@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8616
O: HSCI-220a
Book Appointment with Chair
by appointment condensed matter theory, computational physics
Gu, Jiyeong
Undergraduate Advisor; Professor
E: Jiyeong.Gu@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4848
O: HSCI-264
Appointment with Undergraduate Advisor through Beach Connect
Tue 10:00am-11:00am;
Wed 1:00pm-2:00pm;
or by appointment (email)
condensed matter experiments
Jaikumar, Prashanth
Graduate Advisor; Associate Chair; Professor
E: Prashanth.Jaikumar@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5592
O: HSCI-272e
Book Appointment with Graduate Advisor
Thu 4:00pm-5:00pm theoretical nuclear physics, astrophysics, computational physics
Gredig, Thomas
Professor
E: Thomas.Gredig@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4922
O: HSCI-272d
Mon 9:30am-10:30am;
Thu 11:00am-12:00pm;
or by appointment
condensed matter experiments
Hintzen, Paul
Professor (FERP)
E: Paul.Hintzen@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8619
O: HSCI-244
  astronomy
Klähn, Thomas
Assistant Professor
E: Thomas.Klaehn@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2717
O: HSCI-258
First 30 mins after lecture;
or by appointment
astrophysics, many particle theory, in-medium quantum chromodynamics
Klotz, Alex
Assistant Professor
E: Alex.Klotz@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8700
O: HSCI-252
Thu 3:00pm-4:00pm biophysics, soft materials, complex fluids
Kwon, Chuhee
Professor
E: Chuhee.Kwon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5967
O: HSCI-266
PHYS 254:
Mon 10:00am-11:00am;
Wed 3:30pm-4:30pm;
or by appointment

PHYS 480/580:
Wed 9:30am-10:30am;
Thu 12:45pm-1:45pm;
or by appointment
condensed matter experiments
Ojeda-Aristizabal, Claudia
Society of Physics Student Advisor; Assistant Professor
E: Claudia.Ojeda-Aristizabal@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4923
O: HSCI-248
PHYS 151:
Fri 2:30pm-3:30pm

PHYS 450:
Fri 1:30pm-2:30pm
condensed matter experiments
Papp, Zoltan
Professor
E: Zoltan.Papp@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4900
O: HSCI-272c
Mon 4:45pm-5:45pm;
15 mins after each class;
or by appointment (email)
few body theory, quantum theory, computational physics
Peterson, Michael
Associate Professor
E: Michael.Peterson@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2734
O: HSCI-272b
Thu after class;
or by appointment (email)
condensed matter theory, computational physics
Pickett, Galen
Professor
E: Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4934
O: HSCI-260
Mon 10:00am-10:50am;
Wed 10:00am-10:50am;
Fri 10:00am-10:50am;
or by appointment
condensed matter theory, computational physics
Rajpoot, Subhash
Professor
E: Subhash.Rajpoot@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4847
O: HSCI-242
Wed 3:15pm-4:00pm;
or by appointment
field theory, elementary particle interactions

Lecturers

Name Contact Details Office Hours Research Interests
Asbell, Jessica E: Jessica.Asbell@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-254
Mon 6:00pm-7:00pm;
Tue 11:00am-12:00pm;
Thu 11:00am-12:00pm;
Fri 3:00pm-4:00pm
astronomy
Beck, Kathryn E: Kathryn.Beck@csulb.edu Sat 10:00am-11:00am;
or by appointment
(co-teaching PHYS491B with Meredith Casalino)
 
Casalino, Meredith E: Meredith.Casalino@csulb.edu Mon 5:00pm-6:00pm;
or by appointment
(co-teaching PHYS491B with Kathryn Beck)
 
Chuang, Kuan-Wen E: Kuanwen.Chuang@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-270
PHYS 100A Sect 1:
Tue 9:30am-10:45am;
or by appointment

PHYS 100A Sect 18
Mon 3:30pm-4:45pm;
or by appointment

PHYS 100B Sect 1:
Thu 12:30pm-1:45pm;
or by appointment

PHYS 151 Sect 4:
Tue 12:30pm-1:45pm;
or by appointment

PHYS 152 Sect 3:
Wed 10:00am-11:15am
or by appointment
high energy astrophysics
de la Cruz, Victor E: Victor.DeLaCruz-SA@csulb.edu PHYS 100A Sect 4:
Mon 11:00am-12:30pm;
or by appointment (email)

PHYS 100A Sect 12:
Tue 9:30am-10:30am;
or by appointment (email)

PHYS 100A Sect 15:
Thu 11:30am-12:30pm;
or by appointment (email)

PHYS 100B Sect 8:
Wed 10:00am-11:00am;
or by appointment (email)
experimental physics and materials science
Eisenberg, David
Teacher in Residence
E: David.Eisenberg@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
Thu 4:30pm-5:00pm, 7:45pm-8:15pm  
Eleby, Johnae E: Johnae.Eleby@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
Mon 9:00am-10:00am, 11:00am-12:00pm;
Tue 11:00am-1:00pm
 
Geier, Montserrat E: Montserrat.Geier@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
ASTR 100:
Tue 11:00a-12:15pm;
or by appointment

PHYS 100A:
Mon 2:00pm-3:15pm;
or by appointment

PHYS 100B:
Wed 2:00pm-3:15pm;
or by appointment

PHYS 151:
Thu 12:00pm-1:15pm;
or by appointment
 
Gutierrez, Diego E: Diego.Gutierrez@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
Tue 2:00pm-3:00pm, 7:00pm-8:00pm;
Thu 1:00pm-3:00pm, 7:00pm-8:00pm
 
Mafi, Mariyeh E: Mariyeh.Mafi@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
PHSC:
Wed 11:50am-12:50am

PHYS 100A:
Thu 12:00pm-1:00pm;
or by appointment

PHYS 151:
Thu 10:00am-12:00pm
 
Nishino, Hitoshi E: H.Nishino@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-240
Mon 4:00pm-5:00pm;
or by appointment
high energy physics, particle physics, field theory
Woodhouse, Robert E: Robert.Woodhouse@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-272a
ASTR 100:
Tue 2:00pm-3:00pm;
or by appointment

PHYS 100B:
Wed 2:00pm-3:15pm;
or by appointment
 
Ziolkowski, Rod E: Rod.Ziolkowski@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
Mon 11:00am-12:00pm, 12:30pm-1:00pm, 3:45pm-4:15pm  

Special Appointments

Name Contact Details Office Hours
Duong, Khue
Science Librarian
E: Khue.Duong@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2641
O: Library-418
 
Henriques, Laura
Professor - Science Education & Physics
E: Laura.Henriqes@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.1408
O: HSCI-214
Thu 4:00pm-5:00pm;
or by appointment
Usufzy, Mary
SPS President
E: Mary.Usufzy@student.csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-276
 

Staff

Name Position Contact Details
Dignadice, Lisa Administrative Assistant E: Lisa.Dignadice@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220
Coombs, Korin Administrative Coordinator E: Korin.Coombs@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7026
O: HSCI-220
Conlon, Jay Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Jay.Conlon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
McLaughlin, Mark Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Mark.Mclaughlin@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
Student Assistants Student Assistants P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220

Teaching Associates and Graduate Assistants

Name Contact Details Office Hours
Ashas, Mohamad E: Mohamad.Ashas@student.csulb.edu PHSC 112 Sect 6:
Wed 11:45am-12:30pm

PHSC 112 Sect 8:
Wed 12:30pm-1:15pm

PHSC 112 Sect 10:
Wed 1:15pm-2:00pm
Bergner, Derek E: Derek.Bergner@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100A:
Tue 11:30am-12:30pm;
or by appointment (email)

GA 450: Tue 1:00pm-2:00pm
Blackshire, Dion E: Dion.Blackshire@student.csulb.edu PHSC 112:
Tue 11:00am-12:00pm

PHYS 100B Sect 04:
Mon 3:00pm-4:00pm

PHYS 100B Sect 09:
Wed 3:00pm-4:00pm

PHYS 151 Sect 06:
Mon 1:00pm-2:00pm
Bowman, Trevor E: Trevor.Bowman@student.csulb.edu Thu 6:50pm-7:30pm
Brulc, Angelic E: Angie.Brulc01@student.csulb.edu Mon 11:30am-1:00pm;
or by appointment (email)
Cassar, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Cassar01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152 Sect 06:
Tue 1:00pm-1:40pm

PHYS 152 Sect 15:
Fri 11:00am-11:40am
Fischer, Paul E: Paul.Fischer@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151:
Thu 10:30am-11:10am

GA 562: Thu 11:10am-11:50am
Ford, Colin E: Colin.Ford@student.csulb.edu Tue 11:00am-11:45am;
Thu 11:00am-11:45am
Garcia, Edgar E: Edgar.Garcia04@student.csulb.edu ASTR 100L:
Wed 1:00pm-2:00pm

GA: Tue 1:00pm-2:00pm
Gomez, Angel E: Angel.Gomez01@student.csulb.edu Wed 1:00pm-3:00pm;
or by appointment (email)

GA 340B: Fri 11:00am-12:00pm
Gonzalez, Bryan E: T.GonzalezBaldizon01@student.csulb.edu Tue 10:00am-10:50am
Halls, Spencer E: Spencer.Halls@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100A Sect 08:
Tue 5:00pm-6:00pm;
or by appointment (email)

PHYS 100A Sect 09:
Wed 5:00pm-6:00pm;
or by appointment (email)
Holling Jr., Dave E: Dave.Holling@student.csulb.edu Tue 1:00pm-2:00pm;
Thu 11:00am-12:00pm
Juan, Lydia E: Lydia.Juan@student.csulb.edu Tue 2:00pm-3:00pm
Karzai, Emran E: Emran.Karzai@student.csulb.edu Mon 10:00am-10:40am, 11:00am-11:40am, 12:00pm-12:40pm;
Tue 12:00pm-12:40pm
Lima, Carlos E: Carlos.Lima@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 Sect 14:
Mon 9:00am-9:40am

PHYS 151 Sect 18:
Thu 2:00pm-2:40pm
Lozano, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Lozano01@student.csulb.edu Mon 3:00pm-4:30pm
Luna, Cristopher E: Cristopher.Luna@student.csulb.edu Mon 11:00am-12:00pm, 1:00pm-2:00pm;
Wed 11:00am-12:00pm;
Thu 1:00pm-2:00pm;
or by appointment (email)
Minaker, Zachary E: Zachary.Minaker@student.csulb.edu PHSC 112 Sect 5:
Tue 2:50p-3:50pm

PHYS 152:
Tue 5:00pm-5:45pm

GA: Fri 4:00pm-5:00pm
Modjtahedzadeh, Kam E: Kam.Modjtahedzadeh01@student.csulb.edu Thu 10:00am (40-60 mins)
Molina, Everardo E: Everardo.Molina@student.csulb.edu Fri 11:00am-12:00pm
GA: Fri 10:00am-11:00am
Omidwar, Amir E: Amir.Omidwar@student.csulb.edu Tue 7:00pm-8:00pm;
Thu 7:00pm-8:00pm
Park, Luke E: Luke.Park01@student.csulb.edu Mon 2:00pm-2:40pm
Ragotskie, Joshua E: Josh.Ragotskie@student.csulb.edu Wed 2:15pm-3:15pm
Rawal, Shaina E: Shaina.Rawal@student.csulb.edu Tue 3:20pm-4:00pm;
Thu 3:20pm-4:00pm;
Fri 9:20am-10:00am
Rincon, Adriana E: Adriana.Rincon@student.csulb.edu Mon 2:00pm-3:00pm (Tue Lab);
Tue 11:00am-12:00pm (Wed Lab)
Wed 11:00am-12:00pm (Thu Lab);

GA Geier: Mon 3:00pm-4:00pm
Roberts, Michael E: Grant.Roberts01@student.csulb.edu Mon 4:00pm-5:00pm;
Wed 4:00pm-5:00pm
Smallwood, Seann E: Seann.Smallwood01@student.csulb.edu Fri 2:30pm-3:15pm
Tandy, Laura E: Laura.Tandy01@student.csulb.edu Fri 9:00am-10:30am
Towne, Ryan E: Ryan.Towne@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151:
Tue 1:00pm-2:00pm

PHYS 152:
Tue 12:00pm-12:40pm
Werner, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Werner@student.csulb.edu Tue 6:00pm-7:00pm;
Wed 2:00pm-3:00pm
Zafra, Alejandro E: Alejandro.Zafra01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 Sect 27:
Thu 1:00pm-2:00pm

PHYS 151 Sect 30:
Wed 4:00pm-5:00pm

Emeriti and Former Faculty

  • Yohannes Abate
  • Zahur Anwar
  • R.D. Ayers
  • Mladen Barbic
  • Christian Bracher
  • Lowell Eliason
  • Simon George
  • M. Gross
  • Zvonimir Hlousek
  • C.Y. Hu
  • Pat Kenealy
  • Larry S. Lerner
  • Alfred Leung
  • Ken Luke
  • Jack Munsee
  • Seeman Salem
  • Bruce Scott
  • K.Y. Shen
  • Cramer W. Shultz
  • Edwin L. Woollett
  • A.F. Yano

Former Lecturers and Staff

  • Sandy Dana
  • Michael Frey
  • Kim Gordon
  • Irene Howard
  • George Kuck
  • Eric Muckley
  • Deepak Sharma
  • Jasmina Stankovic
  • Slobodan (Bob) Stankovic
  • Hiroki Sunahata
  • Hooshang Tahsiri
  • Mark Tang