You are here

Department Directory

Please note that the campus buildings are restricted or closed due to COVID-19; faculty and staff will not be available in the listed physical location until further notice. All faculty and staff can still be contacted via email.

Office hours have been updated for Spring 2021.

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Name Contact Details Office Hours Research Interests
Bill, Andreas
Department Chair; Professor
E: Andreas.Bill@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8616
O: HSCI-220a
Book Appointment with Chair
by appointment condensed matter theory, computational physics
Gredig, Thomas
Professor
E: Thomas.Gredig@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4922
O: HSCI-272d
Mon 3:00pm-4:00pm;
Wed 3:00pm-4:00pm;
or before class
condensed matter experiments
Gu, Jiyeong
Undergraduate Advisor; Professor
E: Jiyeong.Gu@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4848
O: HSCI-264
Appointment with Undergraduate Advisor through Beach Connect
Tue 10:00am-11:00am;
Wed 1:00pm-2:00pm
condensed matter experiments
Hintzen, Paul
Professor (FERP)
E: Paul.Hintzen@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8619
O: HSCI-244
Wed 12:00pm-3:00pm;
or by appointment
astronomy
Jaikumar, Prashanth
Graduate Advisor; Associate Chair; Professor
E: Prashanth.Jaikumar@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5592
O: HSCI-272e
Book Appointment with Graduate Advisor
Fri 1:30pm-2:30pm theoretical nuclear physics, astrophysics, computational physics
Klähn, Thomas
Assistant Professor
E: Thomas.Klaehn@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2717
O: HSCI-258
PHYS 310:
Mon 2:30pm-3:00pm;
Wed 2:30pm-3:00pm;
after class or by appointment

PHYS 434/534:
Mon 6:15pm-6:45pm;
Wed  6:15pm-6:45pm;
after class or by appointment
astrophysics, many particle theory, in-medium quantum chromodynamics
Klotz, Alex
Assistant Professor
E: Alex.Klotz@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8700
O: HSCI-252
Thu 12:15pm-1:15pm biophysics, soft materials, complex fluids
Kwon, Chuhee
Professor
E: Chuhee.Kwon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5967
O: HSCI-266
PHYS 254:
Mon 9:30am-10:30am;
Wed 3:30pm-4:30pm

PHYS 255:
Mon 9:30am-10:30am;
Wed 3:30pm-4:30pm

PHYS 380:
Tue 10:00am-11:00am

PHYS 480/580:
Tue 10:00am-11:00am
condensed matter experiments
Ojeda-Aristizabal, Claudia
Society of Physics Student Advisor; Assistant Professor
E: Claudia.Ojeda-Aristizabal@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4923
O: HSCI-248
Fri 1:30pm-2:30pm condensed matter experiments
Papp, Zoltan
Professor
E: Zoltan.Papp@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4900
O: HSCI-272c
Mon 4:45pm-5:15pm;
after class or by appointment
few body theory, quantum theory, computational physics
Peterson, Michael
Associate Professor
E: Michael.Peterson@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2734
O: HSCI-272b
after class or by appointment condensed matter theory, computational physics
Pickett, Galen
Professor
E: Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4934
O: HSCI-260
Mon 10:00am-10:50am;
Wed 10:00am-10:50am;
Fri 10:00am-10:50am;
or by appointment
condensed matter theory, computational physics
Rajpoot, Subhash
Professor
E: Subhash.Rajpoot@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4847
O: HSCI-242
Mon 1:00pm-2:00pm, 3:15pm-4:00pm;
Wed 1:00pm-2:00pm, 3:15pm-4:00pm;
or by appointment
field theory, elementary particle interactions

Lecturers

Name Contact Details Office Hours Research Interests
Asbell, Jessica E: Jessica.Asbell@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-254
Mon 2:30pm-3:30pm;
Wed 2:30pm-3:30pm;
Fri 11:00am-2:00pm
astronomy
Beck, Kathryn E: Kathryn.Beck@csulb.edu Sat 10:00am-11:00am;
or by appointment
 
Casalino, Meredith E: Meredith.Casalino@csulb.edu Mon 5:00pm-6:00pm;
or by appointment
 
Chuang, Kuan-Wen E: Kuanwen.Chuang@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-270
Mon 3:15pm-4:30pm;
Tue 9:15a-10:30am;
Wed 9:00am-9:50am;
Thu 9:15am-10:30am, 2:40pm-3:30pm;
or by appointment
high energy astrophysics
de la Cruz, Victor E: Victor.DeLaCruz@csulb.edu Mon 11:30am-12:30pm;
Tue 9:30am-10:30am;
Thu 11:30am-12:30pm;
or by appointment
experimental physics and materials science
Eisenberg, David
Teacher in Residence
E: David.Eisenberg@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
Mon 5:00pm-6:00pm;
or by appointment
 
Eleby, Johnae E: Johnae.Eleby@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
Mon 11:00am-1:00pm  
Geier, Montserrat E: Montserrat.Geier@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-268
PHYS 100A:
Mon 11:00am-12:15pm

ASTR 100:
Tue 11:00am-12:15pm

PHYS 100B:
Wed 11:00am-12:15pm

PHYS 152:
Thu 11:00am-12:15pm
 
Gutierrez, Diego E: Diego.Gutierrez@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
Mon 1:00pm-3:00pm;
Tue 5:00pm-6:00pm;
Thu 12:15pm-1:15pm
 
Mafi, Mariyeh E: Mariyeh.Mafi@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
PHYS 112 Sec 09 LAB:
Tue 10:00am-10:40am

PHYS 151 Sec 06 LAB:
Tue 1:00pm-1:40pm

PHYS 151 Sec 07 LAB:
Tue 2:00pm-2:40pm

PHYS 151 Sec 24 LAB:
Thu 10:00am-10:40am
 
Nishino, Hitoshi E: H.Nishino@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-240
Mon 4:00pm – 5:00pm high energy physics, particle physics, field theory
Woodhouse, Robert E: Robert.Woodhouse@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-272a
Tue 11:00am-12:00pm
Wed 2:00pm-3:00pm
 
Ziolkowski, Rod E: Rod.Ziolkowski@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-256
Mon 1:00pm-2:00pm;
30 minutes before and after lab;
or by appointment
 

Special Appointments

Name Contact Details Office Hours
Duong, Khue
Science Librarian
E: Khue.Duong@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2641
O: Library-418
 
Henriques, Laura
Professor - Science Education & Physics
E: Laura.Henriqes@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.1408
O: HSCI-214
 
Usufzy, Mary
SPS President
E: Mary.Usufzy@student.csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-276
 

Staff

Name Position Contact Details
Dignadice, Lisa Administrative Assistant E: Lisa.Dignadice@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220
Coombs, Korin Administrative Coordinator E: Korin.Coombs@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7026
O: HSCI-220
Conlon, Jay Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Jay.Conlon@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
McLaughlin, Mark Instructional Support/Issue Room Technician E: Mark.Mclaughlin@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4853
O: HSCI-234
Student Assistants Student Assistants P: 562.985.7925
O: HSCI-220

Teaching Associates and Graduate Assistants

Name Contact Details Office Hours
Arzate, Cristien E: Cristien.Arzate@student.csulb.edu Wed 11:00am-12:00pm
Ashas, Mohamad E: Mohamad.Ashas@student.csulb.edu PHYS 254:
Mon 4:00pm-5:00pm

PHSC 112 Sec 04:
Thu 10:00am-11:00am

PHSC 112 Sec 06:
Thu 11:00am-12:00pm

PHSC 112 Sec 08:
Thu 12:00pm-1:00pm
Barfield, Patrick E: Patrick.Barfield@student.csulb.edu Thu 5:00pm-6:20pm
Bergner, Derek E: Derek.Bergner@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100A:
Tue 1:00pm-2:00pm

ASTR 100L:
Tue 2:00pm-3:00pm

PHYS 100B GA:
Thu 12:00pm-1:00pm
Blackshire, Dion E: Dion.Blackshire@student.csulb.edu PHYS 522 GA:
Thu 3:00pm-4:00pm

PHYS 112 Sec 07:
Tue 3:00pm-4:00pm

PHYS 100B Sec 13:
Wed 2:00pm-3:00pm

PHYS 151 Sec 15:
Wed 7:00pm-8:00pm
Brulc, Angelic E: Angie.Brulc01@student.csulb.edu Wed 11:00am-12:00pm;
or by appointment
Cassar, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Cassar01@student.csulb.edu Tue 2:00pm-2:40pm;
Thu 2:00pm-2:40pm
Chica, Hugo   Tue 4:00pm-5:00pm;
Thu 4:00pm-5:00pm
Fischer, Paul E: Paul.Fischer@student.csulb.edu Tue 1:00pm-2:00pm
Ford, Colin E: Colin.Ford@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 Sec 13:
Tue 11:00am-11:40 am

PHYS 151 Sec 17:
Tue 11:50am-12:30pm
Garcia, Edgar E: Edgar.Garcia04@student.csulb.edu ASTR 100L Sec 04:
Mon 1:00pm-2:00pm

ASTR 100L Sec 07:
Tue 1:00pm-2:00pm

ASTR 100L Sec 11:
Wed 1:00pm-2:00pm

Fri 1:00pm-2:00pm
Gomez, Angel E: Angel.Gomez01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100A:
Tue 12:30pm-1:30pm;
Thu 12:30pm-1:30pm

PHYS 340A GA:
Mon 2:00pm-3:00pm
Halls, Spencer E: Spencer.Halls@student.csulb.edu Sat 10:00am-12:00pm;
or by appointment
Juan, Lydia E: Lydia.Juan@student.csulb.edu ASTR 100L Sec 03:
Mon 4:00pm-5:00pm

ASTR 100L Sec 05:
Tue 4:00pm-5:00pm
Karzai, Emran E: Emran.Karzai@student.csulb.edu Mon 12:00pm-12:40pm;
Tue 12:00pm-12:40pm;
Wed 12:00pm-12:40pm
Lima, Carlos E: Carlos.Lima@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 Sec 09 LAB:
Mon 10:00am-11:00am

PHYS 151 Sec 10 LAB:
Mon 11:00am-12:00pm

PHYS 151 Sec 01/02 GA:
Wed 11:00am-12:00pm
Lozano, Nicholas E: Nicholas.Lozano01@student.csulb.edu Tue 9:00am-10:30am
Luna, Cristopher E: Cristopher.Luna@student.csulb.edu Mon 1:00pm-2:00pm;
Tue 10:00am-11:00am;
Wed 2:45pm-3:45pm
Minaker, Zachary E: Zachary.Minaker@student.csulb.edu Mon 1:00pm-2:00pm
Fri 5:00pm-6:00pm
Modjtahedzadeh, Kam E: Kam.Modjtahedzadeh01@student.csulb.edu Tue 10:00am-11:00am

PHYS 151 Sec 4:
Tue 11:00am-12:00pm

ASTR:
Tue 12:00pm-1:00pm
Molina, Everardo E: Everardo.Molina@student.csulb.edu Tue 9:00am-12:00pm

PHYS 152 GA:
Fri 10:00am
Omidwar, Amir E: Amir.Omidwar@student.csulb.edu Mon 6:00pm-6:45pm;
Wed 6:00pm-6:45pm
Park, Luke E: Luke.Park01@student.csulb.edu Wed 1:00pm-1:40pm
Ragotskie, Joshua E: Josh.Ragotskie@student.csulb.edu PHYS 152 GA:
Wed 2:00pm-3:00pm

PHYS 100A Sec 01:
Thu 12:00pm-1:00pm

PHYS 152 Sec 02:
Fri 9:30-10:30am

PHYS 100A Sec 02:
Fri 10:30am-11:30am

PHYS 100A Sec 03:
Fri 12:30pm-1:30pm
Rincon, Adriana E: Adriana.Rincon@student.csulb.edu PHYS 100B GA:
Mon 1:30pm-2:30pm

PHYS 152 GA:
Mon 1:30pm-2:30pm

PHYS 151 Sec 11:
Tue 4:30pm-5:30pm

PHYS 151 Sec 14:
Wed 4:30pm-5:30pm

PHYS 151 Sec 19:
Thu 3:00pm-4:00pm
Roberts, Michael E: Grant.Roberts01@student.csulb.edu Thu 11:00am-12:00pm
Smallwood, Seann E: Seann.Smallwood01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 Sec 21:
Fri 5:30pm-6:15pm

PHYS 151 Sec 22:
Fri 4:45pm-5:30pm
Tandy, Laura E: Laura.Tandy01@student.csulb.edu Mon 12:30pm-2:00pm
Towne, Ryan E: Ryan.Towne@student.csulb.edu Tue 10:00am-12:00pm

PHYS 540A GA:
Tue 12:00pm-1:00pm
Tran, Vinh E: Vinh.Tran02@student.csulb.edu Fri 10:00am-11:00am
Zafra, Alejandro E: Alejandro.Zafra01@student.csulb.edu PHYS 151 Sec 08:
Mon 1:00pm-1:50pm

PHYS 151 Sec 12:
Tue 1:00pm-1:50pm

Emeriti and Former Faculty

  • Yohannes Abate
  • Zahur Anwar
  • R.D. Ayers
  • Mladen Barbic
  • Christian Bracher
  • Lowell Eliason
  • Simon George
  • M. Gross
  • Zvonimir Hlousek
  • C.Y. Hu
  • Pat Kenealy
  • Larry S. Lerner
  • Alfred Leung
  • Ken Luke
  • Jack Munsee
  • Seeman Salem
  • Bruce Scott
  • K.Y. Shen
  • Cramer W. Shultz
  • Edwin L. Woollett
  • A.F. Yano

Former Lecturers and Staff

  • Sandy Dana
  • Michael Frey
  • Kim Gordon
  • Irene Howard
  • George Kuck
  • Eric Muckley
  • Deepak Sharma
  • Jasmina Stankovic
  • Slobodan (Bob) Stankovic
  • Hiroki Sunahata
  • Hooshang Tahsiri
  • Mark Tang