Physical & Computational Research

Image
Physical Research

Physical chemists are focused on understanding the physical properties of atoms and molecules, the way chemical reactions work, and what these properties reveal. Their work involves analyzing materials, developing methods to test and characterize the properties of materials, developing theories about these properties, and discovering the potential use of the materials.

Using sophisticated instrumentation and equipment has always been an important aspect of physical chemistry. Most physical chemistry labs are full of analytical instruments, which can include lasers, mass spectrometers, nuclear magnetic resonance, and electron microscopes. Using these tools, physical chemists predict properties and reactions of chemicals, then test and refine those predications.

They use mathematical analysis and statistics on huge datasets, sometimes with millions of data points, to reveal hidden information about compounds, materials, and processes. They may also conduct simulations, developing mathematical equations that predict how compounds will react over time.


Image
Chris Brazier

Dr. Christopher Brazier

Professor (2001)
Chris.Brazier@csulb.edu

Prof. Brazier's Profile


Image
Shahab Derakhshan

Dr. Shahab Derakhshan

Professor (2009)
Inorganic synthesis and Structure
Shahab.Derakhshan@csulb.edu

Prof. Derakhshan's Profile


Image
Stephen Mezyk

Dr. Stephen Mezyk

Professor (2001)
Physical, Environmental, and Biophysical Chemistry
Stephen.Mezyk@csulb.edu

Prof. Mezyk's Website


Image
Kensaku Nakayama

Dr. Kensaku Nakayama

Professor Emeritus (1987)
Synthetic Organic Chemistry
Kensaku.Nakayama@csulb.edu

Prof. Nakayama's Profile


Image
Eric Sorin

Dr. Eric Sorin

Associate Professor (2007)
Computational Biochemistry and Biophysics
Eric.Sorin@csulb.edu

Prof. Sorin's Website


Image
Enrico Tapavicza

Dr. Enrico Tapavicza

Associate Professor (2013)
Computational Chemistry and Materials Science
Enrico.Tapavicza@csulb.edu

Prof. Tapavicza's Website


Image
Hadi Tavassol

Dr. Hadi Tavassol

Assistant Professor (2016)
Materials Chemistry and Catalysis
Hadi.Tavassol@csulb.edu

Prof. Tavassol's Website