Materials and Energy Research

Image
Materials and Energy Research
  • Department faculty are engaged in designing, synthesizing, and characterizing materials with high thermoelectric conversion efficiency, production of hydrogen from water by harnessing solar energy and identifying materials displaying exotic magnetic properties (Derakhshan), developing inorganic-organic hybrid solid state materials for energy and environmental applications, and using ionic liquids and deep eutectic solvents in materials synthesis and design (Bu).
  • In addition, research is being carried out on detection and imaging of single molecules based on their electrical properties (Slowinski), studies on molecular wires and metal organic frameworks with specific coordination modes, which exhibit electronic communication and/or photoluminescent properties (Li), and gas phase spectroscopy (Brazier).

Image
Xianhui Bu

Dr. Xianhui Bu

Professor (2003)
Inorganic, Structural, Solid State, and Materials
Xianhui.Bu@csulb.edu

Prof. Bu's Website


Image
Shahab Derakhshan

Dr. Shahab Derakhshan

Professor (2009)
Inorganic synthesis and Structure
Shahab.Derakhshan@csulb.edu

Prof. Derakhshan's Profile


Image
Prof. Lijuan Li

Dr. Lijuan Li

Professor (1998)
Department Chair

Inorganic, Bioinorganic, and Nanomaterials
Lijuan.Li@csulb.edu

Prof. Li's Profile


Image
Stephen Mezyk

Dr. Stephen Mezyk

Professor (2001)
Physical, Environmental, and Biophysical Chemistry
Stephen.Mezyk@csulb.edu

Prof. Mezyk's Website


Image
Kensaku Nakayama

Dr. Kensaku Nakayama

Professor Emeritus (1987)
Synthetic Organic Chemistry
Kensaku.Nakayama@csulb.edu

Prof. Nakayama's Profile


Image
Young-Seok Shon

Dr. Young-Seok Shon

Professor (2006)
Macromolecular, Materials, and Nanoscience
YS.Shon@csulb.edu

Prof. Shon's Website


Image
Enrico Tapavicza

Dr. Enrico Tapavicza

Associate Professor (2013)
Computational Chemistry and Materials Science
Enrico.Tapavicza@csulb.edu

Prof. Tapavicza's Website


Image
Hadi Tavassol

Dr. Hadi Tavassol

Assistant Professor (2016)
Materials Chemistry and Catalysis
Hadi.Tavassol@csulb.edu

Prof. Tavassol's Website


Image
Fangyuan Tian

Dr. Fangyuan Tian

Associate Professor (2015)
Materials Chemistry and Instrumental Analysis
Fangyuan.Tian@csulb.edu

Prof. Tian's Website