Office Hours

Fall 2022

The office hours below are for general reference. Please check your course's syllabus for additional information, such as the links to Zoom office hour meetings.

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Chemistry and Biochemistry Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Faculty Contact Information Office Hours
Dr. Deepali Bhandari
Associate Professor,
Biochemistry Graduate Advisor
MLSC-233
562.985.2053
Deepali.Bhandari@csulb.edu
Fri. 3:00pm-4:00pm;
or by appointment
Dr. Christopher Brazier
Professor
HSCI-364
562.985.5275
Chris.Brazier@csulb.edu
Wed. 11:00am-12:00pm;
Fri. 11:00am-12:00pm
Dr. Xianhui Bu
Professor
MLSC-320
562.985.4843
Xianhui.Bu@csulb.edu
Thu. 12:30pm-1:50pm;
or by appointment
Dr. Paul Buonora
Professor;
RISE Program Director
MLSC-319
562.985.4946
Paul.Buonora@csulb.edu
Mon. 2:00pm-3:00pm;
Wed. 12:30pm-1:30pm;
or by appointment on Zoom
Dr. Shahab Derakhshan
Professor,
Chemistry Undergraduate Advisor
MLSC-338
562.985.4865
Shahab.Derakhshan@csulb.edu
Tue. 2:00pm-3:00pm;
Thu. 10:00am-11:00am.
Zoom with Dr. Derahkshan
Meeting ID: 893 8231 1771
Dr. Elena Grintsevich
Assistant Professor
MLSC-234
562.985.4945
Elena.Grintsevich@csulb.edu
Mon. 2:00pm-3:00pm;
Wed. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Dr. Lijuan Li
Professor,
Department Chair
HSCI-370A
562.985.5068
Lijuan.Li@csulb.edu
by appointment
Dr. Marco A. Lopez
Professor Emeritus
HSCI-342
562.985.4936
Marco.Lopez@csulb.edu
by appointment
Dr. Eric R. Marinez
Associate Professor;
HSI-STEM Program Director
MLSC-336
562.985.7773
Eric.Marinez@csulb.edu
Wed. 11:00am-12:00pm
Thu. 2:30-3:30pm
Dr. Margaret Merryfield
Professor Emerita,
CNSM Equity Advisor
HSCI-128
562.985.1957
Margaret.Merryfield@csulb.edu
Mon. 7:00pm-7:30pm;
Wed. 3:00pm-4:00pm
Dr. Stephen Mezyk
Professor
HSCI-358
562.985.4649
Stephen.Mezyk@csulb.edu
Mon. 1:00pm-2:00pm;
Wed. 1:00pm-2:00pm
Dr. Kensaku Nakayama
Professor Emeritus
HSCI-340
562.985.4850
Kensaku.Nakayama@csulb.edu
Mon. 1:00pm-2:00pm;
Wed. 1:00pm-2:00pm;
or by appointment
Dr. Vasanthy Narayanaswami
Professor
MLSC-247
562.985.4953
Vas.Narayanaswami@csulb.edu
Tue. 11:00am-12:00pm
Dr. Michael Schramm
Professor,
NMR Facilities Manager
MLSC-335
562.985.1866
Michael.Schramm@csulb.edu
On Sabbatical Fall 2022
Dr. Jason Schwans
Associate Professor,
Biochemistry Undergraduate Advisor
MLSC-249
562.985.7778
Jason.Schwans@csulb.edu
Tue. 9:30am-11:00am;
Thu. 9:30am-11:00am
Dr. Young-Seok Shon
Professor,
Chemistry Graduate Advisor
MLSC-337
562.985.4466
YS.Shon@csulb.edu
Mon. 1:30pm-3:00pm (via Zoom);
Thu. 1:30pm-3:00pm
Dr. Katarzyna Slowinska
Professor,
Vice-Chair
MLSC-248
562.985.5815
Katarzyna.Slowinska@csulb.edu
In room AS-244:
Mon. 10:00am-11:00am;
Wed. 10:00am-11:00am
Dr. Krzysztof Slowinski
Professor,
Associate Dean
HSCI-160
562.985.8064
Krzysztof.Slowinski@csulb.edu
by appointment
Dr. Eric J. Sorin
Associate Professor
MLSC-322
562.985.7537
Eric.Sorin@csulb.edu
by appointment
Dr. Enrico Tapavicza
Associate Professor
HSCI-350
562.985.7830
Enrico.Tapavicza@csulb.edu
Wed. 11:00am-11:30am
Dr. Hadi Tavassol
Assistant Professor
HSCI-348
562.985.4844
Hadi.Tavassol@csulb.edu
Mon. 2:00pm-3:00pm;
Wed. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Dr. Fangyuan Tian
Associate Professor
HSCI-362
562.985.2115
Fangyuan.Tian@csulb.edu
On Sabbatical Fall 2022
Dr. Julie Wahlman
Assistant Professor
MLSC-320
562.985.5897
Julie.Wahlman@csulb.edu
Mon. 1:00pm-2:00pm
Wed. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Dr. Paul Weers
Professor
MLSC-250
562.985.4948
Paul.Weers@csulb.edu
Mon. 4:00pm-5:30pm

Lecturers

Chemistry and Biochemistry Lecturers
Lecturers Contact Information Office Hours
Dr. Yi An HSCI-352
562.985.5944
Yi.An@csulb.edu
CHEM 111A:
Tue. 9:00-10:00am

CHEM 100:
Tue. 10:00am-11:00am

CHEM 111A:
Thu. 9:00-10:00am

CHEM 90:
Thu. 10:00am-11:00am
Dr. Elaine Bernal HSCI-366
562.985.2213
Elaine.Bernal@csulb.edu
Via Zoom:
Mon. 11:00am-12:00pm;
Wed. 11:00am-12:00pm;
Tue. 2:00pm-3:00pm;
Thu. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Ms. Andrea Chen HSCI-360
562.985.2220
Andrea.Chen@csulb.edu
Mon. 9:00am-10:00am;
Tue. 2:00pm-3:00pm (by appointment);
Wed. 9:00am-10:00am;
Thu. 2:00am-3:00pm (by appointment);
Fri. 9:00am-10:00am
Dr. Hosun Choo HSCI-344
562.985.4908
Hosun.Choo@csulb.edu
Tue. 10:00am-11:00am;
or by appointment
Mr. Tin Do HSCI-338
562.985.5251
Tin.Do@csulb.edu 
by appointment
Mr. Joshua Feng HSCI-338
562.985.5251
Josh.Feng@csulb.edu 
by appointment
Ms. Nancy Gardner HSCI-356
562.985.4905
Nancy.Gardner@csulb.edu
Via Zoom:
Mon. 10:00am-11:00am;
Wed. 10:00am-11:00am;
or by appointment.
Zoom with Ms. Gardner
Meeting ID: 861 5436 1606
Mr. Thach Ho MIC-203
562.985.4904
Thach.Ho@csulb.edu
Mon. 10:00am-11:00am;
Wed. 10:00am-11:00am;
Tue. 1:00pm-2:00pm;
Thu. 1:00pm-2:00pm
Dr. Magdalena Kosinska-Klaehn HSCI-354
Magdalena.Kosinska-Klaehn@csulb.edu
Tue. 11:00am-11:30am;
or by appointment via Zoom
Dr. Jean Lee-Lin HSCI-346
562.985.1311
Jean.Lee-Lin@csulb.edu
Thu. 12:00pm-2:00pm (via Zoom)
Meeting ID: 832 093 3670
Dr. Justin Lim HSCl-344
562.985.4908
Justin.Lim@csulb.edu
Tue. 9:00am–10:45am (via Zoom),
Meeting ID: 876 7199 5729.
Wed. 4:00pm–5:00pm (via Zoom),
Meeting ID: 872 1720 1981
Dr. Surya Manandhar HSCl-352
562.985.5944
Surya.Manandhar@csulb.edu
CHEM 241:
Fri. 10:00am-11:00am.

CHEM 441B:
Fri. 10:00am-12:00pm.

CHEM 442/443:
Fri. 3:00pm-5:00pm
Ms. Marjan Mohammadi HSCl-354
562.985.2220
Marjan.Mohammadi@csulb.edu
Mon. 2:00pm-3:00pm;
Wed. 2:00pm-3:00pm;
Fri. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Dr. Claudia Molina MLSC-140
562.985.4938
Claudia.Molina@csulb.edu
Fri. 2:00pm-3:00pm
Dr. Christine Palmier MLSC-117
562.985.7874
Christine.Palmier@csulb.edu
Mon. 8:30am-9:30am;
Tue. 9:30am-10:30am;
or by appointment
Mr. Patrick Pierce HSCI-366
562.985.2213
Patrick.Pierce@csulb.edu

by appointment
Mrs. Sarah Zigmont HSCI-356
562.985.4905
Sarah.Zigmont@csulb.edu
Tue. 8:00am-9:00am, 11:00-am-12:00pm.
Thu. 8:00am-9:00am;
or by appointment:
Tue. afternoons (in-person or via Zoom)
Zoom with Mrs. Zigmont