CNSM Winners of the 2024 University Achievement Awards

Published February 21, 2024

Congratulations to our CNSM winners of the 2024 University Achievement Awards!

Outstanding Professor Award

Christine Whitcraft

Dr. Christine Whitcraft, Biological Sciences

The Outstanding Professor Award, established in 1980, is designed to encourage, reward, and publicly acknowledge outstanding professorial performance. This award is the only award given by California State University, Long Beach that recognizes excellence in all three of the following areas: instruction and instructionally related activities, scholarly and creative activities, and professional service.

Early Academic Career Excellence Award

Raisa Hernandez-Pacheco

Dr. Raisa Hernandez Pacheco, Biological Sciences

The Early Academic Career Excellence Award, established in 2008, is designed to recognize outstanding and extraordinary academic and professional achievements of a faculty member at an early career stage. The Award recognizes individuals who have made major intellectual contributions to the profession and University and thereby have brought bringing distinction to the University.

Legacy Lecturer

Tom Maricich

Dr. Tom Maricich, Chemistry and Biochemistry

The Legacy Lecture series provides an opportunity for honorees to address the University community, thus publicly sharing their wisdom, values, and visions as educators. Honorees are selected based on the legacy they leave to the campus.

Outstanding Graduate Student in Research, Scholarly, and Creative Activities Award

Emily Marquez

Emily Marquez, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Emily is currently researching electrochemical analysis under the mentorship of Dr. Hadi Tavassol.

Great job to our amazing faculty and students!