CSULB Students Honored with Art of Science Scholarship for 2023

Kudos to Eli Domingo, Christine Chu, Mia Miyata-Rodriguez, Victoria Tapper, and Alexis Loza as recipients of the Joe Russo Art of Science Award and Scholarship for 2023!

The scholarship, established to honor Joe Russo, a graduate of CSULB's M.S. in Math Education program, identifies students enrolled in SCED 100 during the Fall semester, who excel in one of the course assignments that challenges students to creatively examine spatial reasoning using real-world art. SCED 100 (Introduction to Scientific and Spatial Reasoning) is a foundational GE course designed to provide experiences that help students ‘think outside of the box’ and recognize the role of spatial reasoning, perception, and creativity in the practices of science.

Special thanks to Alberto Lazaro, Lecturer for the Science Education Department, for his efforts in coordinating the selection process.