the ORED Team

Dr. Simon Kim
Associate Vice President (AVP)
Simon.Kim@csulb.edu
562.985.8147

Crystal Trocadero
Senior Director, Sponsored Programs
Crystal.Trocadero@csulb.edu
562.985.5316

Dr. Jason Wang 
Director, Research Integrity & Compliance
Jason.Wang@csulb.edu
562.985.2502

Henry Wu
Administrative Services Manager
562.985.4646

Mae DeBruin
Business Analyst
Mae.DeBruin@csulb.edu
562.985.4633

Pre-Award

Pre-award oversight includes:

  • SPIN database
  • Proposal development
  • Pre-award review
  • Grants & Contracts submittal
  • Cayuse, FastLane & Grants.Gov operations

For general pre-award questions, please contact us at ORSP-PreAward@csulb.edu

Nora Momoli
Associate Director, Pre-Award
Nora.Momoli@csulb.edu
562.985.1567

Monica McGuthrie
Pre-Award Specialist
Monica.McGuthrie@csulb.edu
562.985.5330

Jacqueline Reyes
Pre-Award Specialist
Jacqueline.Reyes@csulb.edu
 

John Ciulik
Pre-Award Specialist
John.Ciulik@csulb.edu

 

Dr. Karl Freels
Grant Development & Pre-Award Specialist
Karl.Freels@csulb.edu
Supports: SPIN Primary Point of Contact, CBA, COTA
562.985.1065

Post-Award

Post-award oversight includes:

  • Grant management
  • Purchase review
  • Grant closeout

For general post-award questions, please contact us at ORSP-PostAward@csulb.edu

Annie Hong
Project Support Services Manager
Annie.Hong@csulb.edu
562.985.8597

Carmen Flores
Project Support Services Assistant
Carmen.Flores@csulb.edu
562.985.2202

Barbara McClinton
Grants & Contracts Administrator
Barbara.McClinton@csulb.edu
Supports: CHHS, COTA
562.985.2009

Neria Myers
Grants & Contracts Administrator
Neria.Myers@csulb.edu
Supports: COE
562.985.1694

Bessie Strategos
Grants & Contracts Administrator
Bessie.Strategos@csulb.edu
Supports: CNSM
562.985.2444

Sydney Dawes
Grants & Contracts Administrator
sydney.dawes@csulb.edu
Supports: COTA, CHHS-HCA, CLA, CITT, CPACE
562.985.2177

For general research compliance questions, please contact us at: ORED-Compliance@csulb.edu

Institutional Animal Care and Use (IACUC)

Please send an email to ORED-IACUC@csulb.edu

Courtney Brown
Research Compliance Specialist - IACUC
courtney.brown@csulb.edu
562.985.5314

Natalie Hummel
Animal Facility Coordinator
natalie.hummel@csulb.edu
562.985.5483

Priscilla Vincent 
Animal Resources Assistant
priscilla.vincent@csulb.edu
562.985.5483

Dr. James Finlay
D.V.M
james.finlay@csulb.edu

Bryan Rourke
IACUC Chair
bryan.rourke@csulb.edu
562.985.5594

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

Please send an email to ORED-IBC@csulb.edu

Dr. Judy Brusslan
IBC Chair
judy.brusslan@csulb.edu
562.985.8133

Chris Frost
CNSM Safety Officer
chris.frost@csulb.edu
562.985.5623

Human Subjects (IRB)

Please send an email to IRB@csulb.edu

Trong Pham
Research Compliance Specialist
trong.pham@csulb.edu
562.985.2472

Tim Ryan
Senior Research Compliance Specialist
tim.ryan@csulb.edu
562.985.1095

Dr. Connie Ireland
IRB Chair
connie.ireland@csulb.edu
562.985.8711

RCR / FCOI / IP 
Import / Export

For Responsible Conduct of Research, please email ORED-RCR@csulb.edu

Jade Sche 
Director, Innovation & Economic Development
Jade.Sche@csulb.edu
562.985.4382

Dr. Elyzza Aparicio
Director, OURS & UROP
elyzza.aparicio@csulb.edu
562.985.7754

Penelope Gaibor
OURS Administrative Coordinator
penelope.gaibor@csulb.edu
562.985.7754

Carlos Guijarro
OURS Program Coordinator
carlos.guijarro@csulb.edu
562.985.7919

Aja Mack
MMUF Program Coordinator
aja.mack@csulb.edu
562.985.8303

 

The URAC provides guidance on the research agenda of the University including strategic research initiatives, major requests for research program allocations, reviewing applications for internal research funding initiatives, research core facilities, and general issues concerning research program infrastructure that could substantively improve existing research programs at the University.

The committee has representation from each of the major academic units on campus and acts as a liaison to facilitate communication between ORED and the faculty within the various colleges, departments and other academic and ancillary units.

URAC meetings are held monthly and provide a forum for information exchange that is subsequently disseminated to the research community on campus.

Committee Membership AY 2023 - 2024

Name College Email @csulb.edu Ext 5- Title
Jasmine Yur-Austin COB Jasmine.Yur-Austin 8615 Associate Dean for Accreditation
Tyler Reeb CPaCE Tyler.Reeb 2879 Associate  Director of the Federal Highway  Administration’s Southwest  Transportation  Workforce Center/Project Manager, Center for International Trade & Transportation
Laura Portnoi CED Laura.Portnoi 7047 Associate Dean, Graduate Programs
Grace Reynolds-Fisher CHHS Grace.Reynolds-Fisher 5885 Associate Dean for Faculty & Research
Gwen Shaffer CLA Gwen.Shaffer 5433 Director for Research
Ali Igmen CLA Ali.Igmen 8765 Director for Research
Barbara Taylor CNSM Barbara.Taylor 5545 Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Studies
Praveen Shankar COE Praveen.Shankar 1518 Associate Dean for Research
Chiara Ferrari COTA Chiara.Ferrari 7885 Associate Dean
Gabriel Gardner ULIB Gabriel.Gardner 4976 Senior Librarian
Rafael Topete Student Affairs
Division
Rafael.Topete 2185 Executive Director, TRiO and Migrant Programs