You are here

Department Directory

Please note that the campus buildings are restricted or closed due to COVID-19; faculty and staff will not be available in the listed physical location until further notice. All faculty and staff can still be contacted via email.

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Name Position Contact Details Research Interests
Behl, Rick Department Chair;
Interim Undergraduate Advisor;

Professor
E: Richard.Behl@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5850
O: HSCI-322
sedimentology, stratigraphy, paleoceanography, earth systems science
Abbey, Alyssa Assistant Professor E: Alyssa.Abbey@csulb.edu
O: HSCI-302
tectonics, crustal deformation, surface processes, thermochronology
Balbas, Andrea Assistant Professor E: Andrea.Balbas@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.7553
O: HSCI-318
geochronology, paleomagnetism, stratigraphy
Becker, Matt Professor;
Conrey Endowed Chair in Hydrogeology
E: Matt.Becker@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8983
O: HSCI-304
hydrogeology, hydrology, geothermal reservoirs
Finney, Stan Professor E: Stan.Finney@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.8637
O: HSCI-300
paleontology, stratigraphy, paleogeography
Francis, Dan Professor Emeritus E: Robert.Francis@csulb.edu marine geology, petroleum geology, petrology, organic geochemistry
Hagedorn, Benjamin Associate Professor E: Klaus.Hagedorn@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4198
O: HSCI-310
environmental geochemistry
Holk, Greg Graduate Advisor;
Professor
E: Gregory.Holk@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.5006
O: HSCI-316
isotope geochemistry, economic geology, igneous-metamorphic petrology
Kelty, Tom Associate Professor E: T.Kelty@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4589
O: HSCI-314
structural geology, tectonics, science education
Onderdonk, Nate Professor (on sabbatical) E: Nate.Onderdonk@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4817
O: HSCI-306
tectonics, geomorphology
Stevens, Lora Professor E: Lora.Stevens@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4817
O: HSCI-306
paleoclimatology, paleolimnology, isotope geochemistry

Lecturers

Name Position Contact Details
Fair, Charles Lecturer Charles.Fair@csulb.edu
Hill, Pam Lecturer Pamela.Hill@csulb.edu
Weaver, Carla Lecturer E: Carla.Weaver@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.2250
O: HSCI-312

Staff

Name Position Contact Details
Costello, Margaret Administrative Support Coordinator E: Margaret.Costello@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4809
O: HSCI-322

Volunteers

Name Position Contact Details
Tucker, Karla Curator of the Los Angeles Basin Subsurface Data Center E: Karla.Tucker@csulb.edu
P: 562.985.4928
O: HSCI-377