You are here

Advancement of Women Awards

The Advancement of Women Awards honor individuals for their work on behalf of women. The PCSW seeks to recognize a student, a lecturer, a tenured/tenure-track faculty member, a staff member and an administrator for their demonstrated commitment to the advancement of women.

The nominee's contributions can be in one or more of the following areas: instructional activities and achievements, scholarly and creative activities and achievements, campus service, advising and mentoring, and community service.  Contributions that were made in other areas will also be considered.

To nominate someone, please fill out this form, which asks for basic information about the Nominee and yourself, and upload the following supplemental materials when/where prompted:

  • A 1-2 page letter of nomination: This should highlight the Nominee's significant activities and achievements relevant to the award.
  • A 1-2 page list of the Nominee's significant activities and achievements: This should simply list out activities and achievements directly related to the award, including those highlighted in the letter of nomination.
  • A 1-2 page personal statement from the Nominee: This statement should focus on how some of the activities and achievements from the nomination letter and list, referenced above, advance women.

The deadline for nominations of the 2022 award is Friday, April 8th.

2022 nominators and all winners will be notified in late April. Selected 2022 recipients will receive their awards at the End-of-Year Awards Ceremony, which will be held on campus on Friday, May 6, 2022.

Any additional questions about the awards and the nominating process can be directed to or

Past Recipients



  • Student: Maythe Alderete Gonzales
  • Student: Liliana Mora
  • Faculty (Tenured/Tenure-Track): Sabrina Alimahomed-Wilson
  • Faculty (Tenured/Tenure-Track): Emily Berquist Soule
  • Staff: Terri Armstrong


  • Faculty (Lecturer): Venette Campbell
  • Faculty (Tenured/Tenure-Track): Helen Hood Scheer
  • Staff: Mitra Baghdadi


  • Community Organization: American Association of University Women (AAUW)
    • Shelley Arnold & Campus Partner: Pam Rayburn


  • Administrator: Natalia Gatdula
  • Staff: Pam Rayburn
  • Student: Genesis Jara


  • Faculty (tenure/tenure-track): Shelley Eriksen
  • Faculty: Denise Cucurny
  • Student: Marissa Mayeda
  • Community Organization: Soroptimist International of Long Beach -
    • Lynn Hermstad & Campus Partner: Jackie Wetteland


  • Faculty (tenure/tenure-track): Sophia Pandya
  • Faculty: Rosie Kar
  • Staff: Pamela Lewis
  • Student: Leah Sakacs


  • Faculty: Raven Pfister
  • Staff: Lindsay San Migel
  • Student: Benigna Hernandez
  • Community Organization: YMCA of Greater Los Angeles - Alva Moreno
    • & Campus Partners: Pamela Rayburn & Jeane Caveness


  • Faculty (tenure/tenure-track): Lori Baralt
  • Faculty: Nina Flores
  • Administrator: Terie Bostic Basile
  • Student: Amber Melvin


  • Student: Daisy Cisneros


  • Faculty: Panadda Marayong
  • Student: Sandra Reed


  • Faculty: Shira Tarrant
  • Staff: Alisha Herrick
  • Student: Roxanna Gracia
  • Community Organization: Girls Incorporated of Orange County -
    • Amanda McMahon
    • & Faculty Collaborators: Courtney Ahrens & Mary Caputi


  • Faculty: Lauren Rauscher
  • Student: Jenna Sutherlin
  • Special Recognition: Chuwee Kwon, Claudia McCain


  • Faculty: Dr. Claire Martin
  • Staff: Vivian Barrera
  • Special Recognition: Women's Studies Student Association


  • Faculty: Dr. Julie Van Camp
  • Staff: Pamela Jesse


  • Faculty: Courtney Ahrens
  • Staff: Coleen Followell
  • Student: Catherine Ricohermoso
  • Special Recognition: Dee Abrahamse


  • Faculty: Dr. Sharon Guthrie
  • Staff: Kim Hinckson
  • Student: Zion Redie
  • Administrator: Dr. Sandra Cynar


  • Faculty: Dr. Eve Oishi
  • Staff: Stacie Bauerle
  • Student: Lauren Leahy
  • Administrator: Dr. Dixie Grimmett
  • Special Recognition: President Maxson


  • Faculty: Rosa Moreno-Alcaraz
  • Staff: Lily Gossage
  • Student: Monique Comminey
  • Administrator: Jean Houck


  • Faculty: Patricia Rozee
  • Staff: Lynne Coenen, Bonnie Myers
  • Student: Cecile Basila