CSULB Films Represent Half of The Finalists For The 2022 CSU Media Arts Festival 

Year after year the  CSU Media Arts Festival receives numerous film submissions from the CSU system consisting of 23 campuses. The CSU Summer Arts established the Media Arts Festival in 1991 to give talented students studying film, broadcasting, video, screenwriting, and new media within the 23-campus California State University system an opportunity to present their work for critical review. In 2000, the Media Arts Festival further expanded to include events focused on helping prepare CSU students to work in the entertainment industry.  

This year half of the finalists for the CSU Media Arts Festival are from the Film & Electronic Arts Department and School of Art Animation program at CSULB. Below is a list of the twelve finalists who will screen their films.

The 2022 MAF Finalists’ projects will be available for screening Friday, October 21 through Tuesday, October 25, 2022. The actual page where you will find the projects for viewing is not yet available, however, you will be able to access the link via the Attend Page on the MAF website. The running time to view all of the finalists is about 2.5 hours. You will see the full roster and will be able to select individual projects for viewing.

The MAF Awards Presentation will be Wednesday, October 26, 2022, beginning at 1pm PDT and will run for about an hour via Zoom. 

Zoom Link for CSU Media Arts Festival Awards Presentation on 10/26

CSU Long Beach CSU Media Arts 2022 Finalists: 


Dead Dog in the Summer | Chloe Pitko, Jesus Adame, Joseph Forquer, Dane Charles Tharp, Fio Cabral & Sebastian Hernandez   (School of Art, Animation)

My Grandma | Hyunsuh Paik (Film & Electronic Arts Department, Creative Nonfiction)

Ocean in My Box | Ian Lima & Isaac Kau  (Film & Electronic Arts Department, Creative Nonfiction)

Rainbow | Hui Tan  (School of Art, Animation)

Documentary / Creative Non-Fiction / Television News

Dear Long Beach: Sincerely, A Broke College Student | Jason Charles Bauguess, Justin Castillo, Duy Mai & Joey Quian  

Jeanette | Tiffany & Krystal Sandoval  (Film & Electronic Arts Department, Creative Nonfiction)

Phillip’s Way | Matthew Carney & Sarah Locastro  (Film & Electronic Arts Department, Creative Nonfiction)


170 | Samuel Park, Kai Rebollo, Ben Kahan, Vera Ha & Cesar Plasencia 

Fault | Derrick Corcuera & Ronald Seiter  

The Phoenix | Shane Reale Brunton, Kaitlin Thompson, Audrey Resella, Gregory Dahlquist & Kristy Morales

Short Screenplay

Band Camp | Chris Padron  

The Uber | Jonah King Church