Roster

 

 

Last Updated: 07/01/2022

  • ​Quorum: 38 (75 Voting Senators)
  • Terms: Tenure and Tenure-Track Faculty serve 3 year staggered terms. Lecturer Faculty, Alternates, and Students serve 1 year
  • (A) : Alternate
  • (L) : Lecturer Faculty

College Representatives

College of Business - Five Senators (total including lecturers)

COB Representatives
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Chailin Cummings Management/HRM 2023 51526 chailin.cummings@csulb.edu
Christine Kang Marketing 2023 52089 christine.kang@csulb.edu
Praveen Soni Marketing 2024 54763 Praveen.Soni@csulb.edu
Laura Gonzalez Alana  Finance 2024 54567 laura.gonzalezalana@csulb.edu
HoWook Shin (A) Management/HRM 2023 54579 howook.shin@csulb.edu
Gustavo Del Rivera (L) Management/HRM 2023 55516 gustavo.delrivera@csulb.edu
Ken Miller (L,A) Marketing 2023 54256 Kenneth.miller@csulb.edu

College of Education - Five Senators (total including lecturers)

CED Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Jonathan O'Brien Educational Leadership 2023 58593 jonathan.obrien@csulb.edu
Kristi Hagans Advanced Studies in Education & Counseling 2025 54435 kristi.hagans@csulb.edu
Heather Macias Teacher Education 2024 54506 heather.macias@csulb.edu
Oscar Navarro Teacher Education 2025 ~ oscar.navarro@csulb.edu
Deborah Hamm (L) Teacher Education 2023 55525 deborah.hamm@csulb.edu
Rita Suh (L,A) Teacher Education 2023 ~ rita.suh@csulb.edu

College of Engineering - Five Senators (total including lecturers)

COE Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Ali Sleiman (L) Electrical Engineering 2023 51514 a.sleiman@csulb.edu
Praveen Shankar  Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering 2023 51518 praveen.shankar@csulb.edu
Mehrdad Aliasgari  CECS 2025 54957 mehrdad.aliasgari@csulb.edu
Perla Ayala Biomedical Engineering 2024 54899 perla.ayala@csulb.edu
Shadnaz Asgari Biomedical Engineering 2025 58023 shadnaz.asgari@csulb.edu
Sara Moghtadernejad (A) Chemical Engineering 2023 57534 sara.moghtadernejad@csulb.edu
Sean Kwon (A) CECEM 2023 51556 sean.kwon@csulb.edu
Tom Wang (L,A) CECEM 2023 ~ tom.wang@csulb.edu

College of Health and Human Services - Eight Senators (total including lecturers)

CHHS Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Peter Kreysa Family & Consumer Sciences 2024 58111 peter.kreysa@csulb.edu
Pei-Fang Hung- CHAIR Speech Language Pathology 2023 54159 pei-fang.hung@csulb.edu
Melissa Dyo Nursing 2025 55099 melissa.dyo@csulb.edu
Tina Zhao PPA 2025 55637 tina.zhao@csulb.edu
Nancy Meyer-Adams Social Work 2023 57774 nancy.meyer-adams@csulb.edu
Ryan Fischer- Secretary CCJEM 2025 51677 ryan.fischer@csulb.edu
Henry O'Lawrence Health Care Administration 2023 58103 henry.olawrence@csulb.edu
Debby Rannalli (A) Nursing  2023 51804 debby.rannalli@csulb.edu
Mimi Nakajima (A) Kinesiology 2023 58011 mimi.nakajima@csulb.edu
Kevin Valenzuela (A) Kinesiology  2023 ~ kevin.valenzuela@csulb.edu
Lucy VanOtterloo (A) Nursing  2023 54472 lucy.vanotterloo@csulb.edu
Mischelle Van Brakle (L) CCJEM 2023 52649 mischelle.vanbrakle@csulb.edu
Venetta Campbell (L,A) Social Work  2023 55041 venetta.campbell@csulb.edu

College of Liberal Arts - Seventeen Senators (total including lecturers)

CLA Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Soumitro Sen Journalism & Public Relations 2025 55568 soumitro.sen@csulb.edu
Ali Igmen History 2025 58765 ali.igmen@csulb.edu
Neil Hultgren- AY leave English 2025 52423 neil.hultgren@csulb.edu
Leakhena Nou Sociology  2025 57439 leakhena.nou@csulb.edu
Aparna Nayak RGRLL 2024 54531 aparna.nayak@csulb.edu
Chris Karadjov Journalism & Public Relations  2024 52104 chris.karadjov@csulb.edu
Kris Zentgraf- S 23 sabbatical Sociology 2024 51689 kris.zentgraf@csulb.edu
Eileen Klink English 2024 54223 eileen.klink@csulb.edu
Chris Warren  Psychology  2023 55025 c.warren@csulb.edu
Norbert Schürer- Vice Chair  English  2023 54213 norbert.schurer@csulb.edu
Danny Paskin  Journalism & Public Relations 2023 52602 danny.paskin@csulb.edu
Nellie Wieland- F 22 sabbatical Philosophy 2023 54346 nellie.wieland@csulb.edu
William Mohr- F 22 sabbatical English 2024 54246 william.mohr@csulb.edu
Kathryn Chew Classics 2023 55810 kathryn.chew@csulb.edu
Jessica Russell Communication Studies  2023 55004 jessica.russell@csulb.edu
Cory Wright Philosophy 2023 52736 cory.wright@csulb.edu
Linna Li (A) Geography 2023 54454 linna.li@csulb.edu
Sean Smith (L) History 2023 54419 sean.smith@csulb.edu
Elizabeth Guzik (L) English 2023 54231 elizabeth.guzik@csulb.edu
Michael Palomarez (L,A) English 2023 51538 michael.palomarez@csulb.edu

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics - Eight Senators (total including lecturers)

CNSM Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Jason Schwans Chemistry & Biochemistry 2025 57778 jason.schwans@csulb.edu
Jeffrey Pair Mathematics and Statistics 2025 54351 jeffrey.pair@csulb.edu
Vas Narayanaswami Chemistry & Biochemistry 2024 54953 vas.narayanaswami@csulb.edu
Brian Katz Mathematics and Statistics 2024 ~ brian.katz@csulb.edu
Shahab Derakhshan Chemistry & Biochemistry 2023 54865 shahab.derakhshan@csulb.edu
Margaret Merryfield Chemistry & Biochemistry 2023 ~ margaret.merryfield@csulb.edu
Alan Colburn Science Education 2023 55948 alan.colburn@csulb.edu
Vacant (A)        
Vacant (L)            
Vacant (L,A)        

College of the Arts - Six Senators (total including lecturers)

COTA Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Vacant            
Steve Boyer  Design 2024 ~ steve.boyer@csulb.edu
Von Dominguez Design 2024 ~ von.dominguez@csulb.edu
Andrea Caban Theatre Arts 2023 57893 andrea.caban@csulb.edu
Brooke Winder Dance 2023      ~ brooke.winder@csulb.edu
Vacant (A)        
Todd Ciborowski (L) School of Art 2023 57992
Vacant (L,A)            

College of Professional and International Education - One Senator

CPIE Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Courtney Stammler American Language Institute 2025 57143 courtney.stammler@csulb.edu
Christina Nellis (A) American Language Institute 2023      ~ christina.nellis@csulb.edu

University Library - One Senator

University Library Senator
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Kelly Janousek (A) University Library 2025 57815 kelly.janousek@csulb.edu
Alexis Pavenick University Library 2025 52332 alexis.pavenick@csulb.edu

Student Services Division - Three Senators

Student Services Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Ferdinand Arcinue Counseling & Psychological Services 2023 54001 ferdinand.arcinue@csulb.edu
Kirstyn Yuk Sim Chun Counseling & Psychological Services 2024 54001 k.chun@csulb.edu
Judy Prince Counseling & Psychological Services 2023 54001 judy.prince@csulb.edu
Vacant (A)        

Staff - Five Senators

Staff Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Alessandro Russo Staff Council Chair 2023 54318 alessandro.russo@csulb.edu
Colleen Ryan Office of the Provost 2025 54911 colleen.ryan@csulb.edu
Kristin Bonetati 49 er shops 2024 57711 kristin.bonetati@csulb.edu
Christopher Knight English 2025 51369 christopher.knight@csulb.edu
Sharon Olson  Center for International Education 2025 55585 sharon.olson@csulb.edu
Rosa Trujillo (A) Career Development Center 2024 58463 rosa.trujillo@csulb.edu
Bethany Price (A)  COTA 2025 54326 bethany.price@csulb.edu
Michael Warden (A) UCUA 2025 55296 michael.warden@csulb.edu

Students - Five Senators

Student Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Isaac Julian ASI President 2023 55241 isaac.julian@csulb.edu
  Senator at Large 2023 55241  
  Senator, CED 2023 55241  
  Senator, CHHS 2023 55241  
                           ASI Executive Vice President 2023 55241                                                

Emeritus & Retired Faculty - One Senator

ERFAS Senator
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Carol Riley Emeritus & Retired Faculty Association ~ 52539 carol.riley@csulb.edu

Deans - Two Senators, Voting

Dean Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Michael Solt Dean, COB 2023 55307 michael.solt@csulb.edu
Curtis Bennett Dean, CNSM 2023 51521 curtis.bennett@csulb.edu

CFA - One Senator, Ex-officio, Voting

CFA Senator
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Deborah Hamm   Co-President, CFA    2023   55525 deborah.hamm@csulb.edu 

Administration - Five Senators, Ex-officio, Voting

Administrative Senators
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Jane Conoley President of the University ~ 54121 jane.conoley@csulb.edu
Karyn Scissum Gunn Provost & Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs ~ 54129 karyn.scissumgunn@csulb.edu
Kerry Johnson Vice President for Undergraduate Studies ~ 54128 kerry.johnson@csulb.edu
Jody Cormack Vice Provost for Academic Affairs & Dean of Graduate Studies ~ 58225 jody.cormack@csulb.edu
Malcolm Finney Interim Associate VP of Faculty Affairs ~ 58264 malcolm.finney@csulb.edu

Non-Voting Senate Members

Ex-officio, Non-Voting

Ex-officio Non-Voting List
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Jeff Cook Interim V.P. for University Relations & Development ~ 55195 jeff.cook@csulb.edu
Beth Lesen V.P. for Student Services  ~ 55587 beth.lesen@csulb.edu
Scott Apel V.P. for Administration & Finance ~ 51658 scott.apel@csulb.edu
Min Yao V.P. and Chief Information Officer ~ 55459 min.yao@csulb.edu
Chris Swarat Dean, College of Continuing and Professional Education ~   chris.swarat@csulb.edu
Anne D'Zmura Acting Dean, College of the Arts ~ 54364 anne.dzmura@csulb.edu
Tracey Mayfield  Acting Dean, Library Services ~ 54047 tracey.mayfield@csulb.edu
Deborah Thien Dean, College of Liberal Arts ~ 55384 deborah.thien@csulb.edu
Anna Ortiz Interim Dean, College of Education ~ 54513 anna.ortiz@csulb.edu
Jinny Rhee Dean, College of Engineering ~ 58032 jinny.rhee@csulb.edu
Monica Lounsbery Dean, College of Health and Human Services ~ 54691 monica.lounsbery@csulb.edu

CSULB Representatives to Academic Senate CSU - Non-Voting

CSULB Rep to CSU Senate List
Name Department Term Ext. E-Mail
Kelly Janousek University Library 2023 57815 kelly.janousek@csulb.edu
Eileen Klink English 2025 54223 eileen.klink@csulb.edu
Praveen Soni Marketing 2024 54763 praveen.soni@csulb.edu