Chair's Message

The issues faced by the boards of public universities are much different today than they were even a decade ago. Although fewer government resources are available, there is more demand than ever for the services provided by high-quality public universities like CSULB. The pressures on these complex institutions—and the boards that help oversee their operations—are increasing, but I am proud to say that, here at The Beach, our 49er Foundation board members are rising to the challenge.

As the six-year terms of several founding board members come to an end, I would like to recognize these talented individuals for their outstanding service to our board and university:

  • Dennis Berryman
  • Mary Alice Braly
  • Cynthia Stamper Graff
  • George Deukmejian
  • Roberta Jenkins
  • Terry Rhodes
  • Louise Ukleja
  • Mort Stuhlbarg (deceased)

These dedicated volunteers helped get the CSULB 49er Foundation off to a successful start, and they have continued to make a positive difference on our campus and in the lives of our students and faculty. Again, on behalf of the entire Beach family, I wish to extend a heartfelt thanks to each one of them their strong and focused leadership



Beverly O’Neill ’52, ’57
Board Chair