The Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship

The Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship program (MMUF) is the centerpiece of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation’s initiatives to increase diversity in the faculty ranks of institutions of higher learning. Established in 1988 by William G. Bowen, then the president of the Foundation, and Mellon program associate Henry Drewry, the MMUF program began with an initial cohort of eight member institutions.

Since then, this Humanities focused program has grown to include 48 member schools and consortia, including three South African universities and a consortium of historically black colleges and universities within the membership of the United Negro College Fund (UNCF). As of 2021, over 6000 students have been selected as fellows, more than 1000 of whom have earned their PhD and over 190 of whom are now tenured faculty members. The great majority of those who have completed their PhD hold or have held an appointment in the academy. For more information about the Mellon Foundation, please visit

California State University, Long Beach is proud to be a partner of the California State University Consortium of the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship program which includes:


To stay updated on all MMUF announcements and events:
Follow us on Instagram: @mmuf_ csulb