Science Education News

Young Scientists Camp is Ready for Summer 2022!

We are very excited to be able to offer Young Scientists Camp for this summer on July 18-29, 2022. This is an academically focused, hands-on science camp program hosted on campus for children entering 2nd-8th grade. Sign up today!

Angelica Gunderson Received $25k Milken Educator Award

Angelica Gunderson, a CSU Long Beach graduate and professor, received a $25,000 national Milken Educator Award on May 10, 2022. The Milken Educator Awards was conceived by Lowell Milken to celebrate, elevate, and activate the teaching profession.

SLC Re-opens with New In-Person Exhibit

After a 2-year closure, the Science Learning Center re-opens to our campus community with a special exhibit: Dig It! The Secrets of Soil, featuring info panels, hands-on activities, and even live specimens. Open Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays from 11am to 1pm and lasts through June.

Lisa Martin selected as NARST Executive Director

The Science Education Department Chair Dr. Lisa Martin was selected to serve in a 3-year term as the Executive Director of  the National Association of Research in Science Teaching (NARST).

Lili Gallegos Wins 2021 CASE Future Science Teacher Award

Lili Gallegos was recognized by the California Associate of Science Educators with the 2021 Future Science Teacher Award. Lili graduated from CSULB in Spring 2021 with  degree in Liberal Studies/Multiple Subject Credential (ITEP). Congratulations, Lili!

Laura Henriques Wins 2021 CASE Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Laura Henriques was recognized by the California Associate of Science Educators with the 2021 Margaret Nicholson Distinguished Service Award. Congratulations, Laura!