You are here

Sabbatical and Difference-in-Pay Leaves

Sabbatical Leaves are available to full-time faculty and librarians in order to facilitate their professional development and thus enhance the overall quality of the University and its instructional programs.

There are 2 types of sabbaticals with different eligibility requirements and levels of compensation:

Full-pay Leave for 1 Semester
Half-pay Leave for 1 Academic Year

Faculty are eligible for such a leave after completing six consecutive years of full-time service following any previous sabbatical leave or since their appointment to the faculty.

See Article 27 of the Collective Bargaining Agreement for more information.

Difference-in-Pay Leave

Difference-in-Pay compensates faculty an amount equal to the difference between the minimum salary of the lecturer rank and their current salary for either the semester or the academic year.

Faculty are eligible for this type of leave after six years and then after three consecutive years of service since their last leave.

See Article 28 of the Collective Bargaining Agreement for more information.