## Faculty Personnel Policies Council (FPPC) 2021-2022 Annual Report

"The Faculty Personnel Policies Council," according to its charge, "shall serve as the primary faculty consultative body to the Academic Senate and the University administration on matters of personnel policy development and administration of policies governing personnel practices."

The 2021-2022 council had the following members:

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic	Kirsty Fleming (AVP Acad. Affairs)
	Kirsty Fleiting (AVF Acad. Allans)
Affairs (or designee)	Cl: D:(D)
One (1) College Dean, selected by the Deans	Shireen Pavri (Dean rep)
Two (2) tenured full professors from the College	Richard Marcus (CLA),
of Liberal Arts, and one (1) from each of the other	Barbara LeMaster (CLA)
Colleges, elected by secret majority ballots	Alan Colburn (CNSM),
	Jalal Torabzadeh (COE),
	Jo Brocato (CHHS),
	Don Haviland (CED),
	Tianjiao Qiu (COB),
	Rebecca Sittler (COTA)
One (1) full-time tenured Librarian (equivalent to	Leslie Anderson
full professor), elected by secret majority ballot	
One (1) lecturer, who shall serve for a period of	Frank Cardinale
one year, elected by secret majority ballot of the	
lecturers, with full voting privileges	
One (1) member from the Academic Senate	Alan Colburn
elected by the Academic Senate, who should also	
be an elected member of the Council if possible;	
if an individual with dual membership is not	
available, the Senator becomes a non-voting	
member	
One (1) Department Chair, either an elected	Jalal Torabzadeh
member of the Council or a Department Chair	
appointed by the Senate upon recommendation	
of the Nominating Committee as a non-voting	
member if an elected member is not available	
One representative from the California Faculty	Gary Hytrek
Association	

At its annual organizational meeting, members of the council elected the following officers:

Alan Colburn (CNSM), chair; Don Haviland (CED), vice-chair; Richard Marcus (CLA), recording secretary.

FPPC meets for two hours on the first and third Friday of each month during the academic year, so the council had 12 scheduled meetings this year, plus an organizational meeting for the 2022-2023 academic year.

The council spent virtually all its meeting time this year discussing and revising policy 09-10, the University RTP Policy. We have revised eight of its sixteen pages and begun discussing revisions to come in the remaining half of the document. Discussions are always multifaceted, showcasing not only diverse views but also the widely ranging differences among disciplines that make university campuses interesting—and RTP policies difficult to revise.

I have tried, in my role as council chair, to discuss potential revisions and solicit input and suggestions about the policy from the campus community. Towards that end I have attended meetings of the College of Education, CNSM Faculty Council, CPE Faculty Council, and CLA Faculty Council. I have also attended meetings and received feedback from the COVID Equity Task Force, the President's Equity and Change Commission, and President's Commission on the Status of Women. Of course, I have also had many conversations and emails with lots of other people on campus and attended multiple meetings of the Senate's Executive Committee. Finally, as council chair, I have also played a role as team leader for the Beach 2030 Reimagining Faculty team.

Next year's council will continue this work, including discussion about the possibility of using equity advocates within the RTP process. We look forward to finishing the work and seeing this policy (and those previously passed by FPPC) discussed in Academic Senate.

I anticipate the council may begin working on a faculty hiring policy after finishing its work revising 09-10. At the same time, it's worth noting that 09-10 revisions (related to instructional assessment) may also spur efforts to revise policies related to student evaluations ("SPOT" forms) and annual lecturer evaluations.

As always, the council encourages every effort that inspires colleges to recruit eligible faculty interested in and able to serve on our collegial, productive committee.

Respectfully submitted,

Aberri :

Alan Colburn

FPPC Chair, 2021-22