UNIVERSITY MINI-GRANT, SUMMER STIPEND COMMITTEE (UMGSSC)

Meeting Minutes

Thursday, September 24, 2020

3 PM - 4 PM

Via Zoom

Members present: Edwin Achola, Maria Claver, May Ling Halim, Darren Johnson, Olga Korosteleva, Sergio Mendez, Wikrom "Art" Prombutr, Hema Ramachandran, Martine van Elk, David Waldman, Will Wu, Xiaolong Wu, Shelley Xu, Bill Zhang Others present: Mae DeBruin and Jason Wang

Led by May Ling Halim

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:00 PM, followed by a roll call and brief introduction of committee members.
- 2. The committee designated Olga Korosteleva to take minutes.
- 3. The September 20, 2019 UMGSSC Meeting minutes were reviewed. Bill Zhang suggested to follow the Robert's Rules of Order and to add "moved/seconded/passed". Edwin Achoa moved to approve the minutes as corrected, Maria Claver seconded, the motion passed unanimously.
- 4. Bill Zhang moved to elect Olga Korosteleva as the UMGSSC vice-chair, Maria Claver seconded, the motion passed unanimously.
- 5. Bill Zhang volunteered to serve on the University of Awards Committee (UAC), Maria Claver moved to elect Bill Zhang, Martine van Elk seconded, the motion passed unanimously.
- 6. May Ling Halim presented the review process, member duties, and timeline for the reassigned time for exceptional levels of service to students. It was announced that there are currently no mini-grants and summer stipend awards allotted for this year, but there is a possibility that it might change later in the year pending on an announcement from the Chancellor's office. The UMGSSC committee membership roster was updated. The members were assigned to four groups for the reviewing process. The underlined members volunteered to be the group leaders.

Group 1: <u>Achoa</u>, Shim, Wu W., Zhang Group 2: <u>Claver</u>, Esparza, Johnson, Prombutr Group 3: <u>Halim</u>, Korosteleva, Wu X., Xu Group 4: Mendez, Ramachandra, van Elk, <u>Waldman</u>

7. The meeting was adjourned at 3:43 PM (Hema Ramachandran moved to adjourn, Bill Zhang seconded).

These minutes have not been approved yet.

Respectfully submitted by Olga Korosteleva.