Faculty Personnel Policies Council (FPPC) 2020-2021 Annual Report

"The Faculty Personnel Policies Council," according to its charge, "shall serve as the primary faculty consultative body to the Academic Senate and the University administration on matters of personnel policy development and administration of policies governing personnel practices."

The 2020-2021 council had the following members:

The 2020-2021 council had the following members.	
Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic	Kirsty Fleming (AVP Acad. Affairs)
Affairs (or designee)	-
One (1) College Dean, selected by the Deans	David Wallace (Dean rep)
Two (2) tenured full professors from the College	Richard Marcus (CLA),
of Liberal Arts, and one (1) from each of the other	vacant (CLA)
Colleges, elected by secret majority ballots	Alan Colburn (CNSM),
	Jalal Torabzadeh (COE),
	Erlyana Erlyana, Jo Brocato (CHHS),
	Don Haviland (CED),
	Praveen Singha (spr 2021) (COB)
	Rebecca Sittler, Robin Richesson (COTA)
One (1) full-time tenured Librarian (equivalent to	Leslie Anderson
full professor), elected by secret majority ballot	
One (1) lecturer, who shall serve for a period of	Terry Ross
one year, elected by secret majority ballot of the	
lecturers, with full voting privileges	
One (1) member from the Academic Senate	Alan Colburn
elected by the Academic Senate, who should also	
be an elected member of the Council if possible;	
if an individual with dual membership is not	
available, the Senator becomes a non-voting	
member	
One (1) Department Chair, either an elected	Jalal Torabzadeh
member of the Council or a Department Chair	
appointed by the Senate upon recommendation	
of the Nominating Committee as a non-voting	
member if an elected member is not available	
One representative from the California Faculty	David Stewart (fall 2020), Norbert
Association	Schürer (spr 2021)

At its annual organizational meeting, members of the council elected the following officers:

Alan Colburn (CNSM), chair; Don Haviland (CED), vice-chair; Richard Marcus (CLA), recording secretary. FPPC meets for two hours on the first and third Friday of each month during the academic year, so the council had 13 scheduled meetings this year.

During its first few meetings the council discussed and amended the Emeritus Policy (17-19), but we spent most of the year discussing revisions to the University RTP Policy (09-10). The council collected views and ideas about the policy and its revision from across campus. The council chair and committee members, working with the Senate chair, participated in campus forums on the topic and collected responses from surveys administered in the fall and spring semesters. The chair also met with the President's Equity Commission, the Senate Executive Committee, the CFA co-chair, and faculty with mentoring expertise.

Council members analyzed campus-wide data (with standard qualitative data analysis methodologies). The data was the starting point for wide ranging discussions related to the role of the University RTP Policy *vis-à-vis* college and department policies, issues of policy specificity vs flexibility, equity, mentoring & advising, and differential workloads. We also discussed the role of SPOT forms in revising instructional assessment. These discussions paved the way for the council's policy revision work. As the 2020-2021 academic year closes, we have made significant revisions to the University RTP Policy's guiding principles and instructional evaluation sections.

Next year's council will continue this work, including significant revision to policy sections about evaluating RSCA and, quite possibly, the work of department or college RTP committees. We look forward to finishing this work and seeing this policy (and those previously passed by FPPC) discussed in next year's Academic Senate.

The council encourages every effort that inspires colleges to recruit eligible faculty interested in and able to serve on our collegial, productive committee. We have had vacancies each of the past three years.

Respectfully submitted,

Alberti.

Alan Colburn

FPPC Chair, 2020-21