ACADEMIC SENATE 2019-20 AGENDA ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Thursday, May 2, 2019, 2:00 - 2:30 pm Towner Auditorium (PSY 150)

- 1. CALL TO ORDER
- 2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA
- 3. WELCOME OF NEW SENATORS
- 4. PRESENTATION of NICHOLAS PERKINS HARDEMAN ACADEMIC LEADERSHIP AWARD-TIME CERTAIN 2:10 pm
- 5. ELECTION OF CHAIR
 - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
- 6. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR
 - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
- 7. ELECTION OF SECRETARY
 - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
- 8. SEQUENTIAL ELECTION OF **FOUR** MEMBERS AT LARGE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
 - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
 - The four at-large members of the Executive Committee are elected sequentially, i.e., *first* we elect at-large member #1, *then* at-large member #2, *then* at-large member #3, and *finally* at-large member #4.
 - In each of those four elections, we take nominations from the floor and then vote on those nominees. (If there are five or fewer nominees we can vote by clicker; if there are six or more nominees we will have a paper ballot.)
 - Then, two things can happen:
 - Either one nominee receives at least 50% + 1 of the votes cast (abstentions do not count either way). In that case, that nominee is elected and we proceed to the next election.
 - Or no nominee receives at least 50% + 1 of the votes cast. In that case, the nominee with the lowest number of votes is dropped from the ballot and we vote again on the remaining nominees.
 - Then (again), *either* one nominee is elected with at least 50% + 1 of the votes cast, *or* the nominee with the lowest number of votes is dropped from the ballot and we vote again—until one nominee has a majority of votes cast.
 - For the next election of a member at large, any nominee from the previous election can be nominated again. However, that nomination is not automatic, but must be named. Then, we go through the whole process again.
- 9. ELECTION/CONFIRMATION OF COLLEGE/UNIT REPRESENTATIVES TO THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE
 - One senator from each academic college (two from College of Liberal Arts), one senator from the University Library, one senator from Counseling and Psychological Services, and one lecturer senator.
- 10. ADJOURNMENT