Faculty Personnel Policies Council Annual Report 2022-2023

Membership: Alan Colburn (CNSM, chair), Don Haviland (CED, vice-chair), Richard Marcus (CLA, secretary), Jalal Torabzadeh (COE), Barbara LeMaster (CLA), Erlyana Erlyana (CHHS), Robin Richesson (COTA), Tianjiao Qiu (COB), Leslie Andersen (Library), Tyler Dilts (Lecturer), Gary Hytrek (CFA, fall semester), Tracey Mayfield (Dean), Malcolm Finney (VP).

FPPC officially met a dozen times this year, as well as a couple "meetings" via reply-all email exchanges.

The council's main accomplishment was completing the work of revising policy 09-10, the University Policy on Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion, a process that began during the last ice age. That work was the council's main focus throughout the fall semester (as well as preparing a summary presentation about the policy and additional documents summarizing key policy changes for particular interest groups). In my role as chair, I briefed college councils, commissions, affinity groups, and others across campus.

The council also discussed potential revisions to the Student Perceptions of Teaching (SPOT form) form and process, aligned with RTP revisions. I met with ATS staff to discuss the feasibility of our proposed changes. We anticipate introducing these potential revisions next academic year, once the campus transition to a new SPOT form vendor is complete.

Finally, FPPC also revised the Student Grievance Policy, completing work begun pre-COVID(!), and collected documents from past administrator reviews for use as a starting point for committees conducting future reviews.

Respectfully submitted,

flolburn.

Alan Colburn