FACULTY COUNCIL

Agenda May 4, 2018

11:00-12:30 pm ET-235

In Attendance: Robert Schug (CCJEM), Sandhya Shimoga (HCA), Fiona Gorman (HSC), Will Wu (KIN), Vennila Krishnan (PT), Ed Martin (PPA), Keith Fulthorp (RLS), Alaine Ocampo (SLP), Terry Robertson (CHHS)

Absent: Michelle Barrack (FCS), Tiffanye Vargas (KIN), Beth Keely (NRSG), Yolanda Green (SW) **Guests/New Members**: Soo Hyun Cho (FCS), Cathy Deckers (NRSG), Jo Brocato (SW), Ed Garcia (SLP)

- I. The meeting was called to order at 11:10am
- II. Approval of the agenda
 Additions to the agenda: Section V. Updates and Topics for Next Year. The agenda was approved (Passes: Unanimous)
- III. Approval of the minutes

The minutes from the Faculty Council meeting on April 6, 2018 were approved (Passes: Unanimous)

IV. Final Vote on Educational Policy Committee and Graduate Advisors Council Chair During the April 2018 meeting, the Faculty Council voted to change the chair of both the EPC and the Graduate Advisors council. Final language was determined from the previous vote, where "full professor" was adjusted to "tenured/tenure-track" faculty member for both committees, and changed "beginning of each academic year" to "during each academic year".

The Faculty Council approved the following changes for the Graduate Advisors Council (Passes: Unanimous):

Procedures

The Committee shall elect one tenured/tenure-track professor faculty member Chair by majority vote during each academic year. The term of the Chair shall be one academic year. The Dean, Associate Dean, or other Management Personnel Plan (MPP) faculty/staff are not eligible to serve as Chair. The Chair of the Committee has the following responsibilities:

The Faculty Council approved the following changes for the Educational Policy Committee (Passes: Unanimous):

Procedures:

The Committee shall elect one tenured/tenure-track professor faculty member Chair by majority vote during each academic year. The term of the Chair shall be one academic year. The Chair must have previously served at least one year on the EPC committee. The Dean, Associate Dean, or other Management Personnel Plan (MPP) faculty/staff are not eligible to serve as Chair. The Chair of the Committee has the following responsibilities:

V. Updates and Topics for Next Year

The Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs and Research search is holding open forums for the four finalists. Faculty are encouraged to attend. Also, please look for an email invitation for a reception celebrating Terry Robertson on May 21 for his service to the college as the Interim Associate Dean.

University Communications and Branding: Family and Consumer Sciences did not have enough time at their April department meeting due to the Dean's attendance for Andy to attend, and so Andy's presentation is now slotted for the May meeting on Monday, May 7. Andy will provide a professional to film the presentation and then the film will be available for distribution. Therefore, the branding discussion will be carried over until next year.

The Dean would like the Faculty Council to reconsider how lottery and SEF funds are distributed and how we can improve our strategy in the coming year. The Faculty Council Chair for next academic year will be attending meetings with stakeholders in the college to represent the Faculty Council voice in these discussions.

Lastly, with RTP processes going electronic, there may be some changes to the process. The Faculty Council will need to keep this a running agenda item for next year to make sure the faculty have input on changes in the process.

- VI. Election of Chair and Vice Chair for AY 2018-19

 Jo Brocato was elected Chair and Vennila Krishnan was elected Vice Chair of the Faculty Council for the upcoming academic year 2018-19 (Passes: Unanimous)
- VII. The meeting was adjourned at 11:33 am

Optional: Attend ASI Student Banquet 11:45 am – 1pm, USU Southwest Terrace

Submitted by Natalie McGlocklin