2022 CSULB Dance in Concert

featuring choreographic works by dance faculty
Tsiambwom Akuchu, Lorin Johnson, Rebecca Lemme,
Danzel Thompson-Stout, and Andrew Vaca and guest artist Donna Uchizono

November 16-19 at 8pm / November 19 also at 2pm

order of performance

S P A C E (premiere)

DIRECTION & CHOREOGRAPHY: Danzel Thompson-Stout

MUSIC: "Reflective Orbits" by Don Nichols

SOUND DESIGN: Don Nichols & Danzel Thompson-Stout

COSTUME DESIGN: Kelsey Vidic

MOVEMENT DEVELOPMENT IS

& PERFORMANCE:

Isabella Farris, Malani Harrell, Domitila Nuñez, Joanne Olivo, Shanti Topzand, Reanna Zoellers

Winter Hymn (2006)

CHOREOGRAPHY: Andrew Vaca in collaboration with the dancers

MUSIC: Original composition by Eric Ruskin;

"O' Come All Ye Faithful" composed by John Reading and John Francis Wade, performed by Nando Lauria

COSTUME DESIGN: Liz Carpenter

PERFORMERS: Cambria Anderson, Morgan Dragsbaek,

Isabella Mendoza, Madison Moura, Topanga Scherf

State of Heads (1999)

CHOREOGRAPHY: Donna Uchizono

MUSIC: James Lo

LIGHTING DESIGN: Original: Stan Pressner, Recreated: Stacy D. Fireheart

COSTUME DESIGN: Original: Naomi, Recreated: Kelsey Vidic

PERFORMERS: Tori Cone, Taylor Jackson,

Ashley Magaña (11/16, 11/18, 11/19 2pm),

Natasha Guyulzaryan, Eliza Loran, Sierra Tanji (11/17, 11/19 8pm)

State of Heads was commissioned by Dance Theater Workshop, New York, NY, and premiered in 1999. This CSULB version has been condensed in time from the original.

My Breath Comes Differently (2010)

CHOREOGRAPHY: Lorin Johnson with contributions from the dancers

MUSIC: Joan Jeanrenaud ("Tug of War," "Dervish," and "Axis"

from her album, Strange Toys -- 2008)

COSTUME DESIGN: Kelsey Vidic COSTUME TECHNICIAN: Erika Hansen

PERFORMANCE: Trinity Canga (11/16, 11/19 8pm),

Kaia Collins (11/17, 11/19 8pm), Elaina Greenawalt, Damian Sanchez, Aly Levy (11/16, 11/18, 11/19 2pm),

Wilma Tsutsui (11/17, 11/18, 11/19 2pm)

UNDERSTUDY: Victoria Viveiros

To Sleep Rough (premiere)

CHOREOGRAPHY: Tsiambwom M. Akuchu

MUSIC: "Autumn (L'Autumno) Op. 8 No. 3 Major Allegro",

"Winter (L'Invern No.4 F Minor: Allegro Non Molto"

by Antonio Vivaldi;

"Exposurise Soundscape" by Don Nichols

SOUND DESIGN: Don Nichols COSTUME DESIGN: Liz Carpenter

SET DESIGN: Stephanie Losleben

PERFORMERS: Jayden Cardona, Malia Lyons, Esmeralda Ortiz,

Bella Zeddies, Fabian Zuniga

ASSEMBLY (premiere)

DIRECTION & CHOREOGRAPHY: Rebecca Lemme

MUSIC: "as may be felt" by River Song Quintet,

originally composed for Acts of Matter;

"Jules Jewel" by Don Nichols

SOUND DESIGN: Rebecca Lemme, Don Nichols

COSTUME DESIGN: Odessa Newman

MOVEMENT DEVELOPMENT

AND PERFORMANCE: Baylee Ferrerra, Kar

Kendall Chatham, Tori Cone, Morgan Dragsbaek, Baylee Ferrerra, Kat Giannini, Deven von Griffth,

Amanda Grunloh, Imran Khan, Eliza Loran,

Ashley Magaña, Odessa Newman, Joanne Olivo, Esmeralda Ortiz, Alexandra Portillo, Julia Russell, Damian Sanchez, Jayde Spiegel, Melissa Valenzuela