University Research Advisory Committee (URAC)

The URAC provides guidance on the research agenda of the University including strategic research initiatives, major requests for research program allocations, reviewing applications for internal research funding initiatives, research core facilities, and general issues concerning research program infrastructure that could substantively improve existing research programs at the University.

The committee has representation from each of the major academic units on campus and acts as a liaison to facilitate communication between ORED and the faculty within the various colleges, departments and other academic and ancillary units.

URAC meetings are held monthly and provide a forum for information exchange that is subsequently disseminated to the research community on campus.

Committee Membership AY 2022-23

Name College Email ( Phone Title
Jasmine Yur-Austin COB Jasmine.Yur-Austin 5-8615 Associate Dean for Accreditation
Tyler Reeb CPIE Tyler.Reeb 5-2879 Associate  Director of the Federal Highway  Administration’s Southwest  Transportation  Workforce Center/Project Manager, Center for International Trade & Transportation
Laura Portnoi CED Laura.Portnoi 5-7047 Associate Dean, Graduate Programs
Grace Reynolds-Fisher CHHS Grace.Reynolds-Fisher 5-5885 Associate Dean for Faculty & Research
Isabella Lanza CLA Isabella.Lanza 5-4698

Director for Research         

Barbara Taylor CNSM Barbara.Taylor 5-5545 Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Studies
Hamid Rahai COE Hamid.Rahai 5-8032 Associate Dean for Research & Development
Colleen Dunagan COTA Colleen.Dunagan 5-7040 Acting Associate Dean, COTA
Gabriel Gardner ULIB Gabriel.Gardner 5-4976  Senior Librarian
Janette Mariscal Student Affairs
Janette.Mariscal 5-2040 Director, McNair Scholars Program


Dr. Simon Kim, AVP

Mae DeBruin, Business Analyst