You are here

Grad Slam Competition

Grad Slam Competition

The GSRC is pleased to announce the 2021 virtual Grad Slam Competition at CSULB. Winners of the Grad Slam will receive cash prizes and gain valuable experience delivering a professional research presentation. 

This event is designed to showcase and celebrate our graduate students and their research and creative activities. Graduate students across all disciplines are encouraged to participate in Grad Slam.

What is Grad Slam?

Grad Slam at CSULB is a campus-wide competition for the best short (no more than 3-minutes) graduate student research presentation.  A panel will judge the pre-recorded video presentations on comprehension, content, engagement, and oration.  Successful Grad Slam presentations will engage a non-specialist audience, while communicating key details about their research in three minutes or less.

Who is eligible to participate?

  • Currently enrolled master’s, graduate certificate, credential, or doctoral students at CSULB.
  • Individual presenters (group presentations are not permitted at this time).

Why Participate?

Your participation in Grad Slam will not only advance the visibility of your research but serve as an opportunity for you to deliver a professional presentation while representing CSULB. Grad Slam presenters develop strong communication skills that will be key to success in any career or discipline. This experience can also serve as a valuable addition to your CV or résumé.

Winners of the CSULB Grad Slam will receive cash prizes in the following amounts:

  • $500 first-place winners (1 STEM & 1 Non-STEM)
  • $300 second-place winners (1 STEM & 1 Non-STEM)
  • $200 third-place winners (1 STEM & 1 Non-STEM)

Two winners from the CSULB Grad Slam competition will be selected to advance to the CSU-Wide Grad Slam competition taking place on May 6, 2021.

New! Grad Slam Winners / Videos

Non-STEM Category

First Place ($500): Nicholas Matthews

Second Place ($300): Julia MacLaren

Third Place ($200): Andrea Hammond

STEM Category

First Place ($500): Tiffany Gonzalez

Second Place ($300): Faiyaz Omerjee

Third Place ($200): Filipe Coelho