Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act

Policies and Procedures for California's Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (CANRA)

 

On July 21, 2017, amendments to the California Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (CANRA) came into effect. As a result, the CSU Chancellor's Office has released the revised Executive Order 1083, “Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse and Neglect,” to provide direction on the implementation of CANRA.

CANRA sets forth legal obligations of persons who are “mandated reporters” of child abuse or neglect. For purposes of this policy, all CSU employees are designated mandated reporters. As a designated mandated reporter, employees are required to report suspected child abuse or neglect in their professional capacity or within the scope of one's employment in which they observe or have knowledge of a person, under the age of 18 years, whom they know or reasonably suspect has been the victim of child abuse or neglect.

Important

Employees must report suspected child abuse or neglect immediately or as soon as practically possible by contacting the University Police Department (562.985.4101). Employees must also file a report (SS 8572) within 36 hours with University Police. In addition, all CSU employees are now required to sign an acknowledgment form, which states the employee knows his/her legal reporting obligations and the need to comply with this law.

Non-Emergency Contacts

Larisa Hamada, AVP of Equity and Diversity, has been designated as the Mandated Reporting Coordinator for California State University, Long Beach. As the Mandated Reporting Coordinator, she can assist employees with any questions regarding their mandated reporting duties and completing the incident form. Larisa Hamada can be reached at larisa.hamada@csulb.edu or 562.985.8256.

In the event Larisa Hamada is not available, Associate Vice President, Human Resources Management, can be reached at 562.985.2299.