You are here

Office Hours

Please note that the campus buildings are restricted or closed due to COVID-19; faculty and staff will not be available in the listed physical location until further notice. All faculty and staff can still be contacted via email.

Fall 2020 Office Hours 

Please contact the department office or email specific instructors at the addresses below to request office hours that are not listed.

Tenure/Tenure-Track Faculty

Faculty Contact Information Office Hours
Dr. Stuart Berryhill
Professor
HSCI-364
562.985.5275
Stuart.Berryhill@csulb.edu
N/A
Dr. Deepali Bhandari
Associate Professor
MLSC-233
562.985.2053
Deepali.Bhandari@csulb.edu
M/W 10 - 11 AM
Dr. Christopher Brazier
Professor
Department Chair
HSCI-370A
562.985.5897
Chris.Brazier@csulb.edu
By Email
Dr. Xianhui Bu
Professor
MLSC-320
562.985.4843
Xianhui.Bu@csulb.edu
N/A
Dr. Paul Buonora
Professor
MLSC-319
562.985.4946
Paul.Buonora@csulb.edu
 
Dr. Shahab Derakhshan
Associate Professor
MLSC-338
562.985.4865
Shahab.Derakhshan@csulb.edu
 
Dr. Elena Grintsevich
Assistant Professor
MLSC-234
562.985.4945
Elena.Grintsevich@csulb.edu
 Friday 12 - 1 pm or by appt 
Dr. Lijuan Li
Professor
MLSC-321
562.986.5068
Lijuan.Li@csulb.edu

T/Th 12:15 or by appt

Dr. Marco A. Lopez
Professor
HSCI-342
562.986.4936
Marco.Lopez@csulb.edu
W/Th 1 - 4 PM
Dr. Eric R. Marinez
Associate Professor
MLSC-336
562.986.7773
Eric.Marinez@csulb.edu
W: 1:00-2:00 pm, Th: 11:00-12:15 pm
Dr. Margaret Merryfield
Professor
CNSM Equity Advisor
HSCI-160J
562.985.1957
Margaret.Merryfield@csulb.edu
 
Dr. Stephen Mezyk
Professor
HSCI-358
562.985.4649
Stephen.Mezyk@csulb.edu
M/W 8:30 - 9:30 AM
Dr. Kensaku Nakayama
Professor
HSCI-340
562.985.4850
Kensaku.Nakayama@csulb.edu
M/W 5 - 5:30 PM
Dr. Vasanthy Narayanaswami
Professor
MLSC-247
562.985.4953
Vas.Narayanaswami@csulb.edu
CHEM 441B: M/Th 9-10 AM
CHEM 541: T/W 9:30-10:30 AM
Dr. Michael Schramm
Professor 
NMR Facilities Manager
MLSC-335
562.985.1866
Michael.Schramm@csulb.edu
 
Dr. Jason Schwans
Associate Professor
Undergrad Biochemistry Advisor
HSCI-354
562.985.7778
Jason.Schwans@csulb.edu
T/Th 9:30 - 10:30 AM or by appt
CNSM Advising Center
Dr. Young-Seok Shon
Professor
Chemistry Graduate Advisor
MLSC-337
562.985.4466
YS.Shon@csulb.edu
T/Th 1 - 2:30 PM
Dr. Katarzyna Slowinska
Professor
Undergrad Chemistry Advisor
MLSC-248
562.985.5815
Katarzyna.Slowinska@csulb.edu

Teaching: M/W 12 - 1 PM
Advising: M/T/W/Th 9-10 AM
or by appointment
CNSM Advising Center

Dr. Krzysztof Slowinski
Professor & Assc. Dean
HSCI-160
562.985.8064
Krzysztof.Slowinski@csulb.edu
 
Dr. Eric J. Sorin
Associate Professor
MLSC-322
562.985.7537
Eric.Sorin@csulb.edu
Mon/Weds 11 AM - 12:30 PM
or by appointment
Dr. Enrico Tapavicza
Associate Professor
HSCI-350
562.985.7830
Enrico.Tapavicza@csulb.edu
 
Dr. Hadi Tavassol
Assistant Professor
HSCI-348
562.985.4844
Hadi.Tavassol@csulb.edu
M/W 9:00-9:30 AM & 10:45-11:15 AM or by appt
Dr. Fangyuan Tian
Assistant Professor
HSCI-362
562.985.2115
Fangyuan.Tian@csulb.edu
T/Th 8 - 9 AM
or by email appointment
Dr. Paul Weers
Professor & Vice-Chair
Biochemistry Grad Advisor
MLSC-250
562.985.4948
Paul.Weers@csulb.edu
T/Th 9:30 - 11:00 AM
or by appointment

Lecturers

Lecturers Contact Information Office Hours
Dr. Elaine Bernal HSCI-366
562.985.2213
Elaine.Bernal@csulb.edu
M/W 12-1 PM or by appt  
community study room hour: Fridays 1 - 3 PM
Ms. Andrea Chen HSCI-360
562.985.2220
Andrea.Chen@csulb.edu
M/W/F 9 - 10 AM  & 12 - 1PM
Zoom ID on syllabus;
for all other students, please email instructor.
Dr. Hosun Choo HSCI-344
562.985.4908
Hosun.Choo@csulb.edu
T/Th  12 - 1 PM or by email appointment
 Zoom id for the virtual office hours is 545 301 7268
Ms. Nancy Gardner HSCI-356
562.985.4905
Nancy.Gardner@csulb.edu
Email hours M-F 8am – 5pm 
Online Office Hours: M/W 10 – 10:50AM
Appointments available upon request
Mr. Thach Ho MIC-203
562.985.4904
Thach.Ho@csulb.edu
 
Dr. Jean Lee-Lin HSCI-346
562.985.1311
Jean.Lee-Lin@csulb.edu
 
Dr. Justin Lim HSCl-344
562.985.4908
Justin.Lim@csulb.edu
Th 2:00 - 3:30 PM: Zoom Meeting Number 99034549463
Fri: 5:00 - 6:30 PM: Zoom Meeting Number 96416638457
Mr. Xiaoguang Liu MLSC-140
Phone N/A
Xiaoguang.Liu@csulb.edu
T/Th 2 - 3 PM  Zoom meeting link
https://csulb.zoom.us/j/6488069263
Dr. Surya Manandhar HSCl-352
562.985.5944
Surya.Manandhar@csulb.edu
CHEM 441A: Fridays 10AM – 11AM or by appt
CHEM 443: Fridays 3 - 4 PM or by appt
Ms. Marjan Mohammadi HSCl-360
562.985.2220
Marjan.Mohammadi@csulb.edu
 
Dr. Christine Palmier MLSC-117
562.985.7874
Christine.Palmier@csulb.edu
M/W 1:30 - 2:30 PM on Zoom
(link provided to enroll students)
Mr. Patrick Pierce HSCI-366
562.985.2213
Patrick.Pierce@csulb.edu
 
Dr. Chatu Sirimanne Office N/A
Phone N/A
Chatu.Sirimanne@csulb.edu
T 3:30 - 4:30 PM in Zoom
Mrs. Sarah Zigmont HSCI-356
562.985.4905
Sarah.Zigmont@csulb.edu