You are here


CSU Academic Senate

Preserved and encouraged under the Higher Education Employer-Employee Act (HEERA) of 1978, the Academic Senate of The California State University serves as the official voice of the faculty of the CSU in matters of system wide concern. The Academic Senate CSU generally meets five times per year, its plenary sessions scheduled in advance of meetings of the Board of Trustees. Academic Senate CSU recommendations concerning system wide policies are channeled to or through the Chancellor. CSULB has four representatives to the Academic Senate, CSU. The representatives are elected in an all-University election and serve three-year terms. 

CSULB Academic Senate

On the local level, the Academic Senate of California State University, Long Beach is the duly appointed representative body of the faculty. Concerning itself with many needs of the University, the Academic Senate develops policy subject to the approval of the President. The Academic Senate also serves as a communications link between the faculty and the administration of the University. The Academic Senate is a full-University Senate which includes full-time tenured and probationary faculty, librarians, student services professionals--academic related, lecturers, emeritus representative, administration, staff, and students. Representatives are elected by their constituencies for staggered three-year terms. 

The Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and four members at large, all elected by the Senate, constitute the voting membership of the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate. The CSULB representatives to the Academic Senate of the CSU (ASCSU), the President of the University, the Provost, Vice Provost for Academic Programs and Dean of Graduate Studies, the Vice President for Administration and Finance, a designee of the Vice President for Student Affairs, the Chair of the Staff Council, the Chief Academic Officer of the Associated Students Inc., the president of the CSULB chapter of the California Faculty Association (CFA), and the Immediate-Past Chair of the Academic Senate, serve as ex officio, non-voting members. The specific charge to the Executive Committee is contained in the document titled "Rules and Regulations of the Academic Senate."

Rules and Regulations of the Academic Senate 

Academic Senate Chairs by Year

Chairs by Year
Year Name Department Chair Photo
2021-2022 Neil Hultgren English  
2019-2021 Jessica Zacher Pandya Liberal Studies Dr. Jessica Pandya
2016-2019 Norbert Schürer English Dr. Norbert Schurer
January 2015-2016 Praveen Soni Marketing Praveen Soni
2012-January 2015 Daniel O'Connor Liberal Studies Daniel O'Connor
2010-2012 Lisa Vollendorf Romance, German, and Russian Languages and Literatures Lisa Vollendorf
2006-2010 Praveen Soni Marketing Praveen Soni
2004-2006 Margaret Merryfield Chemistry & Biochemistry Margaret Merryfield
2001-2004 Wayne Dick Computer Engineering & Computer Science Wayne Dick
1998-2001 Simeon J. Crowther Economics Simeon J. Crowther
1995-1998 David Hood History David Hood
1992-1995 Dorothy M. Goldish Chemistry & Biochemistry Dorothy M. Goldish
1992 (April-July) Simon George Physics Simon George
1989-1992 Frank Alfieri Biological Sciences Frank Alfieri
1986-1989 Ben Cunningham Journalism Ben Cunningham
1983-1986 Hiden T. Cox Biological Sciences Hiden T. Cox
1981-1983 Owen O. Jenson Speech Communication  
1980-1981 Raphael Hanson Psychology Raphael Hanson
1978-1980 Helen Chaney Gilde English Helen Gilde
1977-1978 Jack Stuart History Jack Stuart
1975-1977 James E. Ryan Industrial Education  
1974-1975 Jack H. Munsee Physics/Astronomy Jack H. Munsee
1973-1974 Russel E. Orpet Educational Psychology & Administration  
1972-1973 Helen Chaney Gilde English Helen C. Gilde
1970-1972 Nicholas P. Hardeman History Nicholas P. Hardeman
1969-1970 Edwin N. Becker Chemistry & Biochemistry Edwin N. Becker
1968-1969 Leo Gooman-Malamuth Speech Communication Leo Grooman
1967-1968 James N. McClelland Psychology James N. McClelland
1966-1967 Robert E. Tyndall Music Robert E. Tyndall
1965-1966 Ralph C. Graetz Education  
1963-1965 Joseph E. Wagner Speech Communication Joseph E. Wagner
1962-1963 Gene Atkinson Physical Science Gene Atkinson
1961-1962 Jesse J. Thompson Speech Communication Jesse J. Thompson
1959-1961 Samuel E. Wiley Philosophy Samuel E. Wiley
Myron J. Garver