## UNIVERSITY MINI-GRANT, SUMMER STIPEND COMMITTEE (UMGSSC)

## **Meeting Minutes**

Friday, September 20, 2019

2 PM - 3 PM

FO-5, ORSP Conference Room #116/134.

Members present: Maria Claver, Edwin Achoa, Bill Zhang, Ming Chen, Teresa Chen, Martine van Elk, Chuhee Kwon, Chris Miller, and Niloofar Bavarian (joining remotely)

Others present: Jason Wang, Mae DeBruin

Led by Arturo Zavala

- 1. UMGSSC Meeting on October 16, 2018 minutes were approved.
- Mae DeBruin asked if there was any feedback from last year's process. Four continuing
  members reported that last year's process was smooth and there were no requests for changes
  to the process.
- 3. Edwin Achola and May Ling Halim volunteered to be vice chair of the UMGSSC committee. Committee voted to have both Edwin Achola and May Ling Halim be co-chairs if allowed by the by-laws.
- 4. The UMGSSC committee membership roster was updated.
- 5. Bill Zhang was elected to serve on the University Awards Committee (UAC).
- 6. Reassigned time for exceptional levels of service to students review process and timeline was explained.
- 7. Mini-grant and summer stipend review process and timelines were reviewed.
- 8. [Bill Zhang seconded] 2020-2021 proposed UMGSSC timeline was approved.
- 9. Academic Senate document was reviewed stating that the committee should be made up of tenured faculty. Decision to ask for an exception to the policy as four members who are assistant professors have already been elected.
- 10. Meeting was adjourned.

Minutes submitted by May Ling Halim