You are here

Tuition and Fees

The CSU makes every effort to keep student costs to a minimum. Fees listed in published schedules or student accounts may need to be increased when public funding is inadequate. Therefore, CSU must reserve the right, even after fees are initially charged or initial fee payments are made, to increase or modify any listed fees. All listed fees, other than mandatory system-wide fees, are subject to change without notice, until the date when instruction for a particular semester or quarter has begun. All CSU listed fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by the Board of Trustees, the Chancellor, or the Presidents, as appropriate. Changes in mandatory system-wide fees will be made in accordance with the requirements of the Working Families Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act (Sections 66028 - 66028.6 of the Education Code).

 

Part-Time Fees (0-6 Units)

Part-Time Fees

Tuition &
Mandatory Fees

Undergrad

Graduate

Teacher Credential

EdD
Education

Doctorate
Physical Therapy

Tuition Fee 

$1,665.00

$2,082.00

$1,932.00

$5,919.00

$8,598.00

Facility

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

Associated Students Inc.

$62.00

$62.00

$62.00

$62.00

$62.00

Instructionally Related Activities

$25.00

$25.00

$25.00

$25.00

$25.00

University Student Union

$183.00

$183.00

$183.00

$183.00

$183.00

Student ID Card

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

Student Excellence Fee

$173.00

$173.00

$173.00

$173.00

$173.00

Student Health Center

$75.00

$75.00

$75.00

$75.00

$75.00

Total Tuition & Mandatory Fees Per Semester 

$2,193.00

$2,610.00

$2,460.00

$6,447.00

$9,126.00

Note: Teacher Credential Program participants are post baccalaureate students who have been admitted to a Multiple Subject, Single Subject or Special Education teaching credential. Students pursuing an advanced or service credential or who are simultaneously enrolled in a Master's program pay the Graduate rate.

Non-Resident Tuition

If you are not a resident of California , you must add $396.00 to the above totals for each unit of credit you take.

Example for a non-resident undergraduate who wishes to register for 6 units:

Find your Total Tuition and Mandatory Fees in the table above: $2,193.00

Multiply the number of units you will take by 396: 6 units X 396= $2,376.00

Add the answers: $2,193.00 + $2,376.00 = $4,569.00

You may be exempt from nonresident classification if you are a teacher, military service member, a California high school graduate who has attended a California high school at least three years, or a dependent child of California residents. If so, you must apply for an exemption every semester through Enrollment Services. See Residency.

Graduate Business Professional Fee

The Graduate Business Professional Fee is charged to all students at $270.00 per credit unit and is in addition to the Tuition and Mandatory Fees for the following graduate business programs:

  • Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.)
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Accountancy
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business Administration
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Health Care Management
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business and Technology
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Information Systems
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Taxation

Note: Not all programs listed above are offered at CSULB.

Student Involvement and Representation Fee (SIRF)

On January 28, 2015 the CSU Board of Trustees established a new voluntary student fee, the Student Involvement and Representation Fee. This fee is charged to all students unless they choose to opt out of the fee, which can be done via your student portal. The fee amount is $2 per fall and spring term, and is used to support the student leadership, involvement, governance, and advocacy programs managed by the California State Student Association (CSSA). For more information, see the CSSA website.

Full-time Fees (7 or more units)

Full Time Fees

Tuition & Mandatory Fees

Undergrad

Graduate

Teacher Credential

EdD
Education

Doctorate
Physical Therapy

Tuition Fee 

$2,871.00

$3,588.00

$3,330.00

$5,919.00

$8,598.00

Facility

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

Associated Students Inc.

$62.00

$62.00

$62.00

$62.00

$62.00

Instructionally Related Activities

$25.00

$25.00

$25.00

$25.00

$25.00

University Student Union

$183.00

$183.00

$183.00

$183.00

$183.00

Student ID Card

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

Student Excellence Fee

$173.00

$173.00

$173.00

$173.00

$173.00

Student Health Center

$75.00

$75.00

$75.00

$75.00

$75.00

Total Tuition & Mandatory Fees Per Semester

$3,399.00

$4,116.00

$3,858.00

$6,447.00

$9,126.00


Note: Teacher Credential Program participants are post baccalaureate students who have been admitted to a Multiple Subject, Single Subject or Special Education teaching credential. Students pursuing an advanced or service credential or who are simultaneously enrolled in a Master's program pay the Graduate rate.

Non-Resident Tuition

If you are not a resident of California , you must add $396.00 to the above totals for each unit of credit you take.

Example for a non-resident undergraduate who wishes to register for 12 units:

Find your Total Tuition and Mandatory Fees in the table above: $3,399.00

Multiply the number of units you will take by 396: 12 units X 396 = $4,752.00

Add the answers: $3,399.00 + $4,752.00 = $8,151.00

You may be exempt from nonresident classification if you are a teacher, military service member, a California high school graduate who has attended a California high school at least three years, or a dependent child of California residents. If so, you must apply for an exemption every semester through Enrollment Services. See Residency.

Graduate Business Professional Fee

The Graduate Business Professional Fee is charged to all students at $270.00 per credit unit and is in addition to the Tuition and Mandatory Fees for the following graduate business programs:

  • Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.)
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Accountancy
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business Administration
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Health Care Management
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business and Technology
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Information Systems
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Taxation

Note: Not all programs listed above are offered at CSULB.

Student Involvement and Representation Fee (SIRF)

On January 28, 2015 the CSU Board of Trustees established a new voluntary student fee, the Student Involvement and Representation Fee. This fee is charged to all students unless they choose to opt out of the fee, which can be done via your student portal. The fee amount is $2 per fall and spring term, and is used to support the student leadership, involvement, governance, and advocacy programs managed by the California State Student Association (CSSA). For more information, see the CSSA website.

Other Fees

Other fees and charges may apply to you. View the sample list below.

Other Fees

Description

Fee

Application or Reapplication Fee Pay when you apply or reapply to CSULB

$55

Course Fees - Some courses may have special materials or activities fees

Various

Commencement/Diploma Fee Pay when you apply online to graduate

$45

Dishonored check charge applied to your account if your bank cannot honor any check you write to CSULB

$20

Enrollment Deposit

$150

Disputed Credit Card Fee

$20

Installment Plan Fee

$33

Late Payment fee charged to your account if you miss administrative deadlines 

$10

Late registration fee applies if you register on or after your first day of class instruction

$25

Refund processing fee

$10

Replacement CSULB ID fee

$5

Tuition deferment fee

$15

Official transcript fee

$4

Expedited official transcript fee pay for faster delivery of your official transcript

$10

Charges by other University Departments 

Various

When to Pay

Paying Your Fees Before Classes Start

Fees are due 30 days from registration or by the pre-semester payment deadline, whichever date comes first. The pre-semester payment deadline is:

  • Fall 2017:  August 16, 2017 
    (A $10 late payment fee will be assessed on balances past due after August 16, 2017) 
  • Spring 2018:  January 10, 2018
    (A $10 late payment fee will be assessed on balances past due after January 10, 2018)

Once the pre-semester payment deadline has passed, payment is due the same day of registration.

If you add classes or are moved from a waitlist into classes and, as a result, owe additional fees, you are still responsible to pay by your due date. If you do not pay by your payment due date, you may be dropped from your classes unless you have a financial aid fee deferment in place.

If you qualify for a full or partial financial aid fee deferment or have a third party sponsorship, you will only need to pay any remaining balance due by your due date.

You are responsible for confirming your enrollment by making any payment necessary even if you do not receive an invoice or reminder of a balance due and deadline date. Make sure you check your account balance regularly at MyCSULB for payment due dates and financial aid activity, to pay fees, verify payment has been received and processed and to track and pay additional fees due to schedule adjustments or being moved from a waitlist into a class.

It is also your responsibility to drop classes, regardless of the reason, by the published deadlines to avoid charges or be eligible for a full or pro-rated refund. Failure to track your enrollment and student account records may result in charges and holds, restricting access to critical university services.

If you had a Financial Aid fee deferment in place when you registered, and are later determined ineligible for aid, or you decline your aid, you are responsible for your fees.

Students who do not plan to attend any classes should drop all classes before the first day of instruction. Once instruction begins, students who drop all their classes will owe pro-rated fees based on the date of withdrawal.
 


 

Paying Your Fees After Classes Start

The Late Registration Fee is charged beginning:  

  • Fall 2017:  August 28, 2017 
    (A $25 late registration payment fee - (after first day of instruction) will be assessed on balances past due after August 28, 2017)
  • Spring 2018:  January 22, 2018 
    (A $25 late registration payment fee - (after first day of instruction) will be assessed on balances past due after January 22, 2018)

All fees incurred after classes start, are due the same day of registration or a financial hold will be placed on the student account.
 


 

The Final Deadline to Pay Fees is:

  • Fall 2017: September 25, 2017
  • Spring 2018: February 16, 2018

Students who fail to pay by the final deadline with a balance greater than $1,500.00 may have all their classes cancelled, owe pro-rated fees for these classes, have a hold put on their account until the pro-rated fees are paid, be withdrawn from the University and may not be eligible to re-enroll.

Regardless of who funds your education, you are personally responsible for making sure that your Tuition and Mandatory Fees and any other fees or charges are paid on time to CSULB. If you do not pay your balance, in addition to canceling your registration requests, the University can authorize the California Franchise Tax Board to deduct your debt from any future state income tax refunds due to you.

If your balance becomes delinquent, you may be placed with an outside collection agency. You will be responsible for any additional fees. As required by law, you are hereby notified that a negative credit report reflecting on your credit record may be submitted to a credit reporting agency if you fail to resolve this matter immediately.

 

How to Pay

CSULB accepts the following forms of payment:

Check or Money Order

Personal Check, Cashiers Check or Money Order

  • ​Payable to: California State University, Long Beach (CSULB)
  • Mail to: Cashier's Office, BH-148, 1250 Bellflower Boulevard, Long Beach CA 90840-0103 (Please allow 10 business days to process) or payment can be dropped off in the "Student Payment Drop Box" located in the Brotman Hall courtyard. (Please do not place Cash in drop box!)
  • The University is not responsible for delayed or lost mail via U.S. Postal Service.
  • Payable in $USD and must be written in blue or black ink. 

E-Check (Electronic Check)

  • Payments can be made via MyCSULB.
  • Have Campus ID ready
  • Have banking information ready (Account & routing numbers)

Credit Card

SmartPay for Credit Cards (MC, Disc, AMEX, & VISA)

  • Payments can be made via MyCSULB.
  • Have Campus ID ready
  • SmartPay charges a 2.75% service charge.
  • The university has contracted with CASHNet SmartPay to accept credit card payments.  SmartPay charges a 2.75% service charge on all payment transactions.  There is no convenience fee to pay by E-CHeck at MyCSULB or in person with an ATM/Debit, check, money order, or cash.

 


Third Party Fee Payment

If a company or organization wishes to pay your fees, a sponsorship agreement and authorization of services must be received, prior to registration, by Student Account Services, 562.985.8280. If your sponsor does not pay some or all of your fees, it is your responsibility to pay or your classes may be canceled, a financial hold placed on your record and services withheld until fees are paid.

Veterans

If you are a veteran or dependent of a veteran, you may be eligible for financial assistance for your higher education. For more information, go to Veterans' Affairs Services or the Veterans Affairs Office, Foundation Building, Room 265, or call 562.985.5115.

Dishonored Payments

A $20 dishonored check fee will be charged to your account if a check is returned for any reason. If a credit card charge is disputed, a $20 dishonored credit card fee will be charged to your account. Contact Student Account Services, 562.985.8280, before disputing a credit card charge through your bank. If your payment for registration fees is dishonored or disputed, your classes may be cancelled. Personal checks will not be accepted for repayment of dishonored checks or disputed credit cards.

Installment Plans

Payment Plan contracts are offered to assist students with paying tuition and fees by dividing tuition and fees into equal payments. Payment Plans are online at your MyCSULB under the Student Center/Finances/Enroll in Payment Plan.

A non-refundable $33.00 administrative fee is charged for participation in a Basic Payment Plan, and is included as a part of the first installment payment. Non-resident payment plans are also available on MyCSULB and charge a 9% administrative fee. Once you enroll in a payment plan, changes to your academic load, subsequent fee increases or new charges may affect the amount of your payments which are not necessarily distributed evenly. It is your responsibility to check your account for any such changes.

The Payment plan does not cover some fees, such as library fines or tuition from a previous term. These fees will need to be paid prior to enrollment in a Payment plan. It is the student's responsibility to check their MyCSULB account to ensure the Payment Plan is successfully enrolled and to verify due dates. For additional questions, contact Student Account Services at 562.985.8280. 

Refunds

Refund regulations for the California State University System are prescribed by the California Code of Regulations, Title V, Section 41802.

The university automatically generates refunds two weeks after census, which is approximately 6 weeks after the start of the semester. If you drop all classes prior to the first day of instruction or drop from full time to part time on or prior to the last day of self-service registration you may submit an Application for Refund of Fees.

Important: It is YOUR responsibility to drop classes, regardless of the reason, by the deadlines to avoid charges or be eligible for a full or pro-rated refund. Students who do not plan to attend should drop all classes before the first day of instruction. After instruction begins, students who drop all their classes will owe pro-rated fees based on the date of withdrawal.

Refund Schedules for Tuition and Mandatory Fees and Nonresident Tuition

Check the refund schedule below to determine whether you are eligible for a refund and how it will be calculated. 

Fall 2017 Refund Schedule:

Fall 2017 Refund Schedule

Fall 2017 Enrollment
Adjustment Period 

Reduce units by dropping some classes
(incl. full to part-time)

Drop / Withdraw from All Classes
(inc. Medical & Ed Leave 

On or before August 27 

100% of reduction in calculated charges 

Full Refund

August 28 through September 11 

100% of reduction in calculated charges

Prorated refund based on date of withdrawal 

September 12 through October 30

No Refund

Prorated refund based on date of withdrawal 

Starting October 31

No Refund

No Refund

Spring 2017 Refund Schedule: 

Spring 2017 Refund Schedule

Spring 2017 Enrollment
Adjustment Period 

Reduce units by dropping some classes
(incl. full to part-time)

Drop / Withdraw from All Classes
(inc. Medical & Ed Leave 

On or before January 22

100% of reduction in calculated charges 

Full Refund

January 23 to February 5

100% of reduction in calculated charges

Prorated refund based on date of withdrawal 

February 6 through April 6

No Refund

Prorated refund based on date of withdrawal 

Starting April 7

No Refund

No Refund

 

If you paid your fees by credit card, your refund will be credited to the card that you used to pay. Any other method of payment will be refunded via e-refund. Sign up for e-refund on MyCSULB. A $10 refund processing fee, and any outstanding fees or charges, will be deducted from your refund.

Students who withdraw or drop in units after the deadlines have passed may appeal for a Special Circumstances Refund. When a refund is requested due to a serious medical condition or injury beyond the student's control, the student should NOT request a special circumstances refund. Instead, the student must complete a Medical Withdrawal Petition form obtainable at Enrollment Services BH-101. Refunds will be calculated on a pro-rated basis.

For more information on refunds, contact Student Account Services, 562.985.8280.

How to Calculate Prorated Refund:

  1. Count the number of days from the first day of the semester (Fall 2017 = Aug. 21, Spring 2017 = Jan. 23) to the date of your withdrawal.
  2. Divide the number of days by 107 (number of days in the semester) and multiply it by actual fees charged to get your prorated fee.
  3. Subtract prorated fee from actual fees paid. This will be your approximate refund, minus the $10 refund processing fee.

Example:

  1. Burt withdraws from all his Fall 2017 classes on the 10th day of the semester.
  2. 10/107 x $3,399.00 = $305.91
  3. $3,399.00 - $305.91 - $10.00 = $3,083.09 refund