You are here

Research Staff

Administration

Dr. Simon Kim
Associate Vice President 
562.985.8147

Maria Reyes 
Senior Director, Sponsored Programs
Maria.Reyes@csulb.edu
562.985.8051

Dr. Jason Wang 
Director, Research Integrity & Compliance
Supports: IRB, IACUC, ACPC, IBC, RCR, FCOI Reporting, Research Misconduct Inquiries, and Centers and Institutes
Jason.Wang@csulb.edu
562.985.2502

Henry Wu
Administrative Services Manager
562.985.4646

Carmen Flores
Faculty Liaison
Carmen.Flores@csulb.edu
562.985.2202

Mae DeBruin
Business Analyst
Mae.DeBruin@csulb.edu
562.985.4633

Meliana Prado
Administrative Coordinator & Assistant to AVP
Meliana.Prado@csulb.edu
562.985.8147

Sponsored Programs

Pre-award

Pre-award oversight includes:

  • SPIN database
  • Proposal development
  • Pre-award review
  • Grants & Contracts submittal
  • Cayuse, FastLane & Grants.Gov operations

For general pre-award questions, please contact us at ORSP-PreAward@csulb.edu

Nazareth Lijiam
Pre-Award Specialist
Nazareth.Lijiam@csulb.edu
Supports: CBA, CED, CLA
Other Divisions & Units: AA, SA, URD
562.985.2478

Nora Momoli
Pre-award Specialist
Nora.Momoli@csulb.edu
Supports: CNSM, CCPE
Other Divisions & Units: A&F, Library
562.985.1567

David A. Smith
Pre-award Specialist
David.Smith@csulb.edu
Supports: CHHS, COE
562.985.5330

Jacqueline Wilvers
Grant Development & Pre-Award Specialist 
Jacqueline.Wilvers@csulb.edu
Supports: University-wide (Proposal Review); COTA (Pre-Award)
562.985.1065

Post-award

Post-award oversight includes:

  • Grant management
  • Purchase review
  • Grant closeout

For general post-award questions, please contact us at ORSP-PostAward@csulb.edu

Crystal Smith
Project Support Services Manager
Crystal.Smith@csulb.edu
562.985.5316

Annie Hong
Grants & Contracts Administrator
Annie.Hong@csulb.edu
Supports: CBA, CED, BUILD
Other Divisions & Units: Student Services, URD, A&F, Library
562.985.8597

Barbara McClinton
Grants & Contracts Administrator
Barbara.McClinton@csulb.edu
Supports: CHHS, COTA
562.985.2009

Neria Myers
Grants & Contracts Administrator
Neria.Myers@csulb.edu
Supports: COE
562.985.1694

Bessie Strategos
Grants & Contracts Administrator
Bessie.Strategos@csulb.edu
Supports: CNSM
562.985.2444

Mary Thoen
Grants & Contracts Administrator
Mary.Thoen@csulb.edu
Supports: CLA, CCPE
562.985.5633

Research Compliance

Research Compliance oversight includes:

  • Regulatory committees
  • Institutional guidelines & policies
  • Conflicts of interest
  • Export controls
  • Sponsored Programs

For general research compliance questions, please contact us at: ORSP-Compliance@csulb.edu

Institutional Animal Care and Use (IACUC)

Please send an email to IACUC@csulb.edu

Dr. Mary Walker
Compliance Specialist 
Mary.Walker@csulb.edu 
562.985.5314

Natalie Hummel
Animal Facility Coordinator
562.985.5483

Priscilla Vincent 
Animal Resources Assistant
562.985.5483

Dr. John Young
V.M.D.
562.985.8147

John de la Cuesta
IACUC Chair
562.985.5623

Human Subjects (IRB)

Please send an email to IRB@csulb.edu

Alex Guerrero
Alex.Guerrero@csulb.edu
Research Compliance Coordinator
562.985.2472

Dr. James Amirkhan
IRB Chair 
562.985.5351

RCR / FCOI / IP 
Import / Export

Alex Guerrero
Research Compliance Coordinator 
Alex.Guerrero@csulb.edu
562.985.2472