Public Affairs & Publications
Inside CSULB
CSULB Home page
Current Issue: Calendar: Archives: Contact Us
Inside CSULB
Vol 58 No. 2 : February, 2006
Vol 58 No. 2 : February, 2006
PCSW Seeks Nominations

The President’s Commission on the Status of Women (PCSW) at CSULB is seeking nominations for its Fourth Annual Advancement of Women Awards.

The commission will honor a student, a staff member, a faculty member, and an administrator who actively contribute to the advancement of women on campus through their scholarship, teaching, organizational work, campus community service and/or any other form of support for women at CSULB. All women and men who are current members of the campus community are eligible for the award (with the exception of current PCSW commissioners).

“This will be the fourth consecutive year that the commission has given this type of award,” said Elizabeth Novack, university ombuds and PCSW awards committee chair. “The commission has focused its work on improving circumstances and opportunities for the women who study and work here. PCSW also recognizes other campus community members who have joined in this effort, and are deserving of acknowledgment for their help toward the progress of women at the university.”

Each of the winners receive a plaque and will be recognized at the Spring Women’s Research Colloquium on Tuesday, March 28. In addition, the winners’ names will be included on a perpetual plaque displayed in the Women’s Resource Center.

Nominations must include an extensive letter detailing the work that the candidate has done for women at CSULB and why that work is significant. Pink nomination forms were distributed campus-wide in January. However, a form may be obtained by contacting the Office of University Ombuds at 562/985-5983.

The deadline for receiving nomination forms is Friday, Feb. 17, and all nominations should be mailed to the Women’s Resource Center, LA-3, Room 105, or e-mailed to

For more information about the awards or the nominating process, please contact Novack, the awards committee chair, at 562/985-2577.

Back to top