California State University, Long Beach
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
President’s Commission Names Award Winners

The President’s Commission on the Status of Women (PCSW) at CSULB has completed the selection process for its Fifth Annual Advancement of Women Awards.

The commission honors a student, staff member, administrator and faculty member who actively contribute to the advancement of women on campus through their scholarship, teaching, organizational work, campus community service or any other form of support for women at the university. Women and men who are current members of the campus community are eligible for the award.

Faculty honors went to Courtney Ahrens, an assistant professor in psychology. The award-winning staff member was Coleen Followell, assistant to the President, President’s Office, and the successful student nominee was Catherine Ricohermoso, an English major.

The winners were recognized at the Spring Women’s Research Colloquium in late March for their support of women at CSULB and were presented a plaque by their nominator. Their names were also included on a perpetual plaque which is displayed in the Women’s Resource Center.

Dorothy Abrahamse, who retired as Acting Provost, received special recognition from the organization for her dedication to the advancement of women throughout her career at CSULB.