California State University, Long Beach
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font

Slowinski Receives Grants for Research
into Electrical Properties of Thin Films

Krzysztof “Kris” Slowinski, CSULB associate professor of chemistry, recently received two additional grants to advance his research into the electrical properties of nanomaterials and thin films.

The American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund (ACS PRF) provided Slowinski with  $65,000 to continue a study of electrical conductivity of molecular assemblies and he also received a Cottrell College Science Award of $42,884 from Research Corp. Slowinski received previous funding from both organizations for his research, which also involves undergraduate and graduate students.

For the ACS PRF project, Slowinski and his student researchers use what is called the Langmuir method to create a single layer of molecules on the surface of mercury. They use this technique to investigate the electrical properties of various two-component systems comprising conjugated “molecular wire,” molecules imbedded within a non-conductive matrix.

The ACS PRF proposal “is focused on measurements of electrical transport in multi-component Langmuir monolayers organized at the mercury-water interface,” he said. “These fundamental studies are important in a wide array of applications including new photovoltaic devices, nanopatterning of surfaces, fuel cells, molecular electronics and energy storage.”

The Research Corp. award is for a project called “Lateral Charge Transport in 2-D Monolayers of Polyaniline.” Again using the Langmuir method, Slowinski’s lab is examining how the single molecular layer of organic polymer polyaniline conducts electricity.

The American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund supports fundamental research in a variety of areas related to petroleum, chemistry and materials sciences at non-profit institutions.

Research Corp., founded in 1912, is the second foundation established in the United States and is the only one devoted to the advancement of science. The Cottrell College Science Award, named for foundation’s founder Frederick Gardner Cottrell, supports “significant research that contributes to the advancement of science and to the professional and scholarly development of faculty at undergraduate institutions along with their students.”