California State University, Long Beach
Inside CSULB Logo

49ers Capture 2nd Straight Big West Commissioner’s Cup

Published: June 15, 2012

Big West Conference Commissioner's Cup
49er student-athletes poise with the Big West Commissioner’s Cup, the second straight year Long Beach has earned the honor.

CSULB is hoisting the Big West Conference (BWC) Commissioner’s Cup once again after tallying the best point average during the 2011-12 season. The 49ers recorded a 140.0-point average, the highest ever achieved by any school in the history of the cup. It is the second consecutive cup and fourth overall for the Long Beach State program.

The 49ers picked up significant points thanks to Big West championships in women’s volleyball, men’s basketball, women’s tennis and softball. Second place finishes in women’s soccer, women’s cross country, men’s golf and men’s track also added to the school’s high point total.

UC Davis achieved its highest place in the cup standings (115.6-point average) with a second place finish. The Aggies won titles in women’s cross country, women’s golf, men’s golf and women’s track and placed second in women’s tennis and women’s water polo. The Aggies had finished in fourth place the previous two seasons.

UC Santa Barbara placed third in the standings (115.3-point average) for the second straight year. The Gauchos had one title in men’s track to go along with seven second-place finishes during this past year’s campaign.

UC Irvine finished in fourth place with a 100.0-point average. The Anteaters were buoyed by a sweep of the soccer titles, the second consecutive season that UCI has accomplished that feat. Cal Poly (98.0), Cal State Fullerton (81.4), Cal State Northridge (73.3), Pacific (66.4) and UC Riverside (58.7) round out the standings.

The Big West Commissioner’s Cup, which started during the 1998-99 season, is presented at the end of the spring season to the institution with the top overall point average accumulated from Big West Conference Championships. To determine the champion for the Commissioner’s Cup, total points are summed and divided by the number of championships in which each institution competes. Each sport champion is also given a 20-point bonus.

–Todd Miles