California State University, Long Beach
Inside CSULB Logo

Women and Philanthropy Awards Scholarships to Re-Entry Students

Published: January 30, 2009

For the 10th consecutive year, the Women and Philanthropy program at CSULB has awarded scholarships to re-entry students. This year, six returning students each received financial support in the amount of $2,000.

To qualify for a scholarship, individuals must be undergraduates with a five-year break in their education progress, 25 years of age or older, presently enrolled in six or more units, have an overall grade point average of 2.5, and the ability to demonstrate financial need.

This year’s recipients (and their majors) include: Debra Burrough (art-fiber), who received the Dr. Katherine White Memorial Scholarship; Rosaura Figueroa (journalism and Spanish), who received the Connie Shainline Memorial Scholarship; Sharareh Moazed (construction engineering), who received the Soroptimist International of Long Beach Scholarship; Patricia Ramsey (business management and operations management); Amber Ross (kinesiology/exercise science); and Brent Robinson (marine biology).

“We are very happy to support these six students in their effort to continue their education,” said Barbara Holden, program director. “This scholarship opportunity is very important to these students. In some cases it makes the difference of whether they can continue their progress at a consistent level. Women and Philanthropy is beginning to see former recipients who have graduated become members of the group. Their desire to give back reflects what an impact their scholarship opportunity meant to them.”

Women and Philanthropy was formed in 1998 to create opportunities for students who have demonstrated a commitment to academic success, an intellectual curiosity, and innovative spirit. Made up of alumnae and friends of the university, members make financial contributions to the university to support scholarships, and volunteer their time on campus in areas corresponding to their individual interests.

Women and Philanthropy
Photo by Terri McAdams
Recipents include (l-r) Patricia Ramsey, Rosaura Figueroa, Debra Burrough, Brent Robinson, Amber Ross and Sharareh Moazed

Rita Lamkin, who received her bachelor’s degree from CSULB, is the current chair. To date, 69 scholarships totaling $102,000 have been awarded, providing assistance to returning students who would otherwise find it difficult to complete their education.

For additional information regarding the scholarships or membership in Women and Philanthropy, call Holden at 562/985-4126.