Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSmall fontMedium fontLarge font
Noteworthy headline

Nobel Laureate Speaks on Campus

Douglas Osheroff

Stanford University Professor Douglas D. Osheroff discussed “How Advances In Science Are Made” at CSULB’s 30th Annual Nobel Laureate in Science Lecture in March.

He previously spoke at CSULB in 2000. Osheroff was a co-recipient of the 1996 Nobel Prize in physics for discovering superfluidity in helium-3, and is a past recipient of the MacArthur Fellowship and the Buckley Condensed Matter Prize.

He formerly was head of the Solid State and Low Temperature Research Department at Bell Laboratories. The College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Student Council (CNSM), CNSM Dean’s Office and Associated Students Inc. hosted the event.

CSULB’s Past Nobel Laureate Lecturers:

1976–Donald A. Glaser, 1960, Physics

1977, 1985–Francis H.C. Crick, 1962, Medicine

1978–Arthur Kornberg, 1959, Medicine

1979–Richard P. Feynman, 1965, Physics

1980–Rosalyn Yalow, 1977, Medicine

1981–Melvin Calvin, 1961, Chemistry

1982, 2006–Roger Guillemin, 1977, Medicine

1983–Gerald M. Edelman, 1972, Medicine

1984–Paul Berg, 1980, Chemistry

1986–Ilya Prigogine, 1977, Chemistry

1987–William N. Lipscombe, 1976, Chemistry

1988–Baruch S. Blumberg, 1976, Medicine

1989–Donald J. Cram, 1987, Chemistry

1990–Linus C. Pauling, 1954, Chemistry; 1962, Peace

1991–James D. Watson, 1962, Medicine

1992–Subramanyan Chandrasekhar, 1983, Physics

1993 Spring–Arthur L. Schawlow, 1981, Physics

1993 Fall–Rudolph A. Marcus, 1992, Chemistry

1995–Kary B. Mullis, 1993, Chemistry

1996–George A. Olah, 1994, Chemistry

1997–Edward B. Lewis, 1995, Medicine

1998–Thomas R. Cech, 1989, Chemistry

1999–Paul D. Boyer, 1997, Chemistry

2000, 2007–Douglas D. Osheroff, 1996, Physics

2002–Walter Kohn, 1998, Chemistry

2003–Edmond H. Fischer, 1992, Medicine

2004–Alan J. Heeger, 2000, Chemistry