Users are enrolled in groups based on the enrollment options selected on the New Category page. Use the Enroll Users page to:
Tip: Manually enrolling users allows you to exceed the enrollment limit for a group.
Warning: If the ‘Can be auto-enrolled’ option is selected for users that can lead courses and assisting users are added to groups at the same time as users; all or most of your staff might end up in the same group. Make sure you even out enrollment using the Enroll Users page.
Discussion messages remain in the old group and do not count towards a user’s grade if the forum or topic is associated with a grade item. The user must satisfy the discussion message requirements in the new section. You can override a grade using the Grades tool.
Locker files remain in the old group. Users must add any files they want to keep to the new locker area themselves.
Dropbox files submitted for the old group remain with the old group. The user receives the grade achieved by the new group on any group assignments. You can change the user’s grade back to the original group’s mark in the Grades tool.
When a user is deleted from a group, all of their files remain in the system, including: discussion messages, dropbox folders, and locker files.
Self-enrollment allows users to enroll in groups on their own. Use this option when you want users to have the freedom to choose their own group members or to be a part of a group on a topic that interests them.
Users can self enroll in groups by clicking the Choose Group link beside the name of a group category set up for self enrollment. The link displays at the top of the user’s Groups page when self-enrollment is available.
Note: If a group is full, the total listed in the Members column appears in red with the word ‘Full’ beside it.
Tip: Clicking on the total listed in the Members column opens the Group Members pop-up containing a list of current group members.
Course participants access the Groups tool through the Classlist or by clicking the Groups link on the course navigation bar.
From the Groups page, users can: