Menu

Bob Cole Conservatory of Music

Prospective Student Audition Dates

Spring 2015 Semester Audition Dates

Undergraduate Transfer Students Only:

  • Saturday, October 18, 2014—All Areas

Fall 2015 Semester Audition Dates

Undergraduate:

  • Saturday, February 7, 2015—All Areas
  • Saturday, February 14, 2015—Voice And Jazz Only
  • Saturday, February 28, 2015—All Areas Except Voice And Jazz

Graduate:

  • Wednesday, March 11 , 2015

top ↑

Prospective Student Auditions

A performance audition is required for acceptance into the degree programs of the Bob Cole Conservatory of Music. Prospective students should schedule a music auditon before you receive notification of your acceptance into the university. All entering freshmen and undergraduate transfer students who have been admitted to the university are required to pass a performance audition and take a theory placement examination.

Audition Requirements

Students wishing to audition should prepare solo, etude, or art song material from the standard repertoire of approximately 10 minutes in length. The selection(s) should demonstrate both technical and lyrical skills. For specific audition requirements see table below.

Theory Placement Exam

The Theory Placement Exam is a diagnostic test used to determine the appropriate level of theory in which the student should enroll. The test is offered on each audition day and the first Friday of each semester.

Pre-Screening Auditions

Pre-screening auditions are required in the Keyboard Studies, Jazz Studies and graduate Choral, Vocal & Opera Studies areas. Please contact 562-985-4781 for more information.

top ↑

What To Expect On Audition Day

Parking

When you arrive for auditions you’ll be greeted by a student volunteer in the parking lot who will provide you with a parking pass, orient you towards the Bob Cole Conservatory and, if necessary, help you unload large instruments. They will direct you to Registration. All of our student volunteers, staff, and faculty will be wearing name tags.

Parking Map + Directions PDF format (1.1m) cole_directions.pdf

Registration

The Registration tables are in the lobby of Daniel Recital Hall. Student volunteers will check you in by area, ensure that you have an audition form, answer any questions, and offer a map of the department to you. You’ll also get a name tag.

Refreshments

We’ll have complimentary coffee, tea, juice, water, and breakfast pastries for you in the lobby of Daniel Recital Hall.

Opening Session

You’ll start your day with a 20-minute orientation in Daniel Recital Hall. We’ll begin with a short performance by one our ensembles. Then you’ll hear about what it means to be a student at the Bob Cole Conservatory and also about what to expect if you are accepted to the conservatory and the university.

Waiting Rooms

A student volunteer will walk you to a room where you and your family can wait until it is your turn to audition. A volunteer will come to get you from the waiting room when it is your turn to warm up.

Warm-Up

A volunteer will walk you to a practice room to warm up. You’ll get about 10-15 minutes to warm up.

Audition

A student volunteer will walk you to your audition. Hand your audition form to one of the faculty members. Excellent accompanists are provide for voice, wind, and brass auditions.

Preliminary Theory Placement

Either before or directly after you audition, you’ll take a short theory test. This assesses whether you should be in a two-unit course or a five-unit course; you’ll need this information for summer registration.

Meet & greet

Several faculty members will be available to answer your questions about specific programs.

Campus Tour

Student volunteers will take small groups on campus tours. They’ll answer any questions you might have as they show you some of the 322 acres of campus. If you plan to take a tour, bring walking shoes.

top ↑

Audition Requirements / Area Director Contacts
Program Undergraduate and Transfer Audition Requirements Graduate Audition Requirements Area Director
Brass Euphonium euphonium.pdf
Horn horn.pdf
Trombone trombone.pdf
Trumpet trumpet.pdf
Tuba tuba.pdf
*contact your area director Rob Frear rob.frear@csulb.edu
Choral, Vocal, and Opera Voice voice.pdf *contact your area director Jonathan Talberg jonathan.talberg@csulb.edu
Conducting (Choral) Please contact your area director for more info. *contact your area director Jonathan Talberg jonathan.talberg@csulb.edu
Conducting (Orchestral) Please contact your area director for more info. *contact your area director Johannes Müller-Stosch johannes.mstosch@csulb.edu
Conducting (Winds) Please contact your area director for more info. *contact your area director John Carnahan john.carnahan@csulb.edu
Composition Please contact your area director for more info. *contact your area director Alan Shockley alan.shockley@csulb.edu
Jazz Instrumental
inst_jazz_ugrad.pdf
Vocal
vocal_jazz_ugrad.pdf
Instrumental inst_jazz_grad.pdf
Vocal vocal_jazz_grad.pdf
Instrumental—Jeff Jarvis jeff.jarvis@csulb.edu
Vocal—Christine Guter christine.guter@csulb.edu
Keyboard Piano piano.pdf
Organ organ.pdf
*contact your area director Shun-Lin Chou sam.chou@csulb.edu
Music Education Please contact your area director for more info. *contact your area director Deborah Mitchell deb.mitchell@csulb.edu
Music History Please contact your area director for more info. *contact your area director Alicia Doyle alicia.doyle@csulb.edu
Percussion Percussion percussion.pdf *contact your area director Ted Atkatz ted.atkatz@csulb.edu
Strings Cello cello.pdf
Double Bass double_bass.pdf
Viola viola.pdf
Violin violin.pdf
*contact your area director Moni Simeonov moni.simeonov@csulb.edu
Woodwinds Bassoon bassoon.pdf
Clarinet clarinet.pdf
Flute flute.pdf
Oboe oboe.pdf
Saxophone saxophone.pdf
*contact your area director John Barcellona john.barcellona@csulb.edu

top ↑

Side Menu
  • Bob Cole Conservatory of Music
  • California State University, Long Beach
  • 1250 Bellflower Blvd.
  • Long Beach, CA 90840-7101
  • 562-985-4781 phone
  • 562-985-2490 fax

Privacy Policy

© 2002-2014 Bob Cole Conservatory/CSULB