Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
University Template Banner Example
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty and Staff

María M. Carreira Maria Carreira

Professor of Spanish
Ph.D. in Linguistics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1990
Phonology, Spanish in the US, Sociolinguistics, Heritage languages, Educational linguistics

  • Location: AS-333
  • E-mail: maria.carreira@csulb.edu
  • Webpage

 

Laura Ceia

ON - LEAVE - FALL 2012

Assistant Professor of French
French Graduate Advisor (Fall 2011)
Ph.D.University of California, Davis, 2005 Dr. Laura Ceia-Minjares
Contemporary France (nouvelles francophonies, intellectual history, contemporary European literature, French and European cinema)

  • Location: AS-327
  • E-mail: laura.ceia@csulb.edu
  • Webpage
Alicia-del-Campo

Alicia del Campo

Associate Professor of Spanish
Ph.D. University of Califorina, Irvine, 1998
Latin American Literature and Culture, Latin American Theater, Cultural Studies in Latin America, Literature and Human Rights,
Memory, Politics and Theatre.

  • Location: AS-331
  • E-mail: alicia.delcampo@csulb.edu; aliciadel@gmail.com
  • Curriculum Vitae
Clorinda

Clorinda Donato

Professor of French and italian
The George L. Graziadio Chair of Italian Studies
Italian Studies Program Director and Undergraduate Advisor
Ph.D. UCLA, 1987
The Enlightenment and Romanticism in France and Italy

  • Phone: (562) 985-4621
  • Location:AS-305
  • E-mail: clorinda.donato@csulb.edu
  • Webpage

Marisa Escolar Marisa Escolar

Visiting Professor of Italian

  • Location: AS-319
  • E-mail: marisa.escolar@csulb.edu

 

 

 

 

Steve-Fleck

Steve Fleck

Professor of French
PhD University of California, Davis, 1993
17th Century French theater, especially Molière; comic theory and practice; opera and other musical theater; poetry and music;
French literature and cinema relations.

  • Location: AS-325
  • E-mail: steve.fleck@csulb.edu
  • Webpage

Bonnie Gasior
Dr. Bonnie Gasior

Professor of Spanish
Spanish Program Director and Undergraduate Advisor
Ph.D., Purdue University, 2001
Early Modern Spain and Colonial Spanish America (subaltern studies, travel literature, theater)

  • Location: AS-338
  • E-mail: bonnie.gasior@csulb.edu
  • Webpage
Nele-Hempel-Lamer

Nele Hempel-Lamer

Professor of German
German Undergraduate Advisor
Ph.D. University of Massachusetts at Amherst, 1998
20th century German Literature and Culture; Contemporary Austrian Studies; Feminism; Service Learning/Community Engagement.

  • Location: AS-326
  • E-mail: nele.hempel-lamer@csulb.edu
  • Webpage
Jeffrey High

Jeffrey High

Professor of German
German Program Director and Graduate Advisor
Ph.D. University of Massachusetts at Amherst, 2001
18th century German Literature, Revolution, Aesthetic Theory, and Moral Philosophy.

  • Location: AS-321
  • E-mail: jeffrey.high@csulb.edu
  • Webpage
Jean-Jacques-Jura

Jean-Jacques Jura

Associate Professor of French
French Program Director
LOTE Coordinator, Single Subject Credential Program
Ph.D. University of California, Irvine, 1988
20th century French literature; theatricality in Julien Green's novels; advisement for foreign language credentialing; silent movie history of Long Beach.

  • 562-985-2200
  • Location: AS-317
  • E-mail: jean.jura@csulb.edu (E-mail contact preferred)
  • Webpage

Claire MartinDr. Claire Martin

Professor of Spanish
Spanish Program Director and Undergraduate Advisor
Ph.D. Yale University, 1988
Ninetenth-century Latin American studies, gender studies, contemporary Argentinean literature.

  • Location: AS-328
  • E-mail: claire.martin@csulb.edu
  • Webpage

Markus Muller

Associate Professor of French
Ph.D. UCLA, 1998
Teaching Methodology (TA training), Second Language Acquisition, 19th Cent. French literature (the novel and the fantastic)

  • Phone: (562) 985-4323
  • Location: AS 342
  • E-mail: markus.muller@csulb.edu
Aparna-Nayak-Guercio

Aparna Nayak-Guercio

Assistant Professor of French
Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh, 2006
20th century France; literature of Fascism and the Resistance; Literature, History, and Memory.

  • Location: AS-320
  • E-mail: aparna.nayak@csulb.edu
  • Webpage
Leslie-Nord

Leslie Susan Nord

Lecturer in Spanish
Spanish Graduate Advisor
Ph.D. Yale University, 1989
Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Spain; Romanticism; Generation of 27

  • Phone: (562) 985-4310
  • Location: AS-336
  • E-mail: leslie.nord@csulb.edu
  • Webpage
Clorinda

Rita Palacios

ON LEAVE - FALL 2012

Assistant Professor of Spanish
Ph.D University of Toronto, 2009

  • Location: AS-329
  • E-mail: rita.palacios@csulb.edu
  • Webpage


Alex-Rainof

Alex Rainof

Associate Professor of Spanish
Ph.D. University of Michigan, 1969
Translation and interpretation with special emphasis on interpretation for the Federal Courts and the California Courts and State
Agencies.

  • Location: AS-323
  • E-mail: alexander.rainof@csulb.edu
  • Webpage

Najib Redouane

Professor of French
French Undergraduate Advisor (Fall 2011)
Ph.D. University of Toronto, 1999
Francophonie literatures with emphasis on northern Africa.

  • Location: AS-335
  • E-mail: najib.redouane@csulb.edu
Harold Schefski

Harold Schefski

Professor of Russian
Russian Program Director and Undergraduate Advisor
Ph.D. Stanford University, l976
Russian language, literature, film and cultural studies

  • Location: AS-334
  • E-mail: harold.schefski@csulb.edu
  • Webpage

Vettore Picture Enrico Vettore

Assistant Professor of Italian
Ph.D. University of Oregon, 2005
19th and 20th century Italian Literature; Italian Cinema; Literature and philosophy,
Literature and Ethics; Jungian Literary criticism.

  • Location: AS-307
  • E-mail: enrico.vettore@csulb.edu
  • Webpage
Lisa-Vollendorf

Lisa Vollendorf

Professor of Spanish
Department Chair
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania, 1995
Women's cultural history (Spain); early modern Spain and colonial Latin American women's writing; gender violence; Inquisition; convent history; Atlantic studies.

  • Location: AS-309
  • E-mail: lisa.vollendorf@csulb.edu (E-mail contact preferred)
  • Webpage