Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Psychology
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Office Hours

Faculty Research and Publications

Department Faculty History

Click here to see department photo (faculty and staff)

Faculty (Professors and Instructors)  Spring 2014

Ahrens, Courtney – Professor, Office: PSY 319, Phone: 562-985-2191, Email: courtney.ahrens@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Domestic Violence (Psy 278), Psychology of Women (Psy 354), Child Development (Psy 361), Community Psychology (Psy 375), Fieldwork in Psychology (Psy 405), Qualitative Methods (Psy 423/523).

Alexander, Linda – Lecturer, Office: PSY 153/239, Email: prof.lalexander@gmail.com. Classes Taught: Psychology of Women (Psy 354).

Amirkhan, James H – Professor, Office: PSY 335, Phone: 562-985-5351, Email: james.amirkhan@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Assessment (Psy 314), Personality (Psy 356), Current Issues in Personality (Psy 458), Graduate Seminar in Personality (Psy 656).

Azab, Marwa – Lecturer, Office: PSY 239, Email: marwa.azab@csulb.edu  Classes Taught: Psychobiology (Psy 241), Social Psychology (Psy 351)

Bernfeld, Jayme – Lecturer, Office: PSY 113, Email: jayme.bernfeld@csulb.eduClasses Taught: Psychological Assessment (Psy 314), Psychology of Sexuality (Psy 457)

Bhagavatula, Anila – Lecturer, Office: PSY 111, Email: anilapb@yahoo.com. Classes Taught: Mind Control or Freedom (Psy 300), Social Psychology (Psy 351)

Caesar, Carol Ann – Lecturer, Office: PSY 405, Email: carolann@vancecaesar.com. Classes Taught: Psychology of Stress (Psy 379), History of Psychology (401), Psychology of Addiction (Psy 477).

Chiappe, Dan – Professor, Office: PSY 407, Phone: 562-985-5024, Email: dan.chiappe@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Human Cognition (Psy 332), Psychology of Happiness (Psy 337), Animal Cognition (Psy 343), Evolutionary Psychology (Psy 346I), History of Psychology (Psy 401/501), Seminar in Situation Awareness (Psy 635).

Cho, Young-Hee – Professor, Office: PSY 331, Phone: 562-985-5019, Email: young-hee.cho@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Introductory Statistics (Psy 210), Intermediate Statistics (Psy 310), Statistical Design and Analysis of Experiments (Psy 411/511), Multivariate Statistical Analysis (Psy 412/512).

Chong de la Cruz, Isis – Lecturer, Office: online only, Email: chong.csulb@gmail.com Classes Taught: Intro to Human Factors (Psy 327).

Chu, Wilson – Lecturer, Office: PSY 211, Email: wilson.chu@csulb.eduClasses Taught: Statistics (Psy 210), Research Methods (Psy 220).

Chun, Chi-Ah – Professor, Office: PSY 325, Phone: 562-985-7608, Email: chi-ah.chun@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Asian American Personality and Mental Health (Psy 368), Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370).

Correa-Chavez, Maricela – Assistant Professor, Office: Psy 223, Phone: 562-985-5080, Email:   Classes Taught: Child and Adolescent Development (Psy 361), Social Personality Development (Psy 463).

Cowan, Ronda – Lecturer, Office: online only, Email: ronda.cowan@csulb.edu. Classes Taught: Social Psychology (Psy 351), Personality (Psy 356).

Deckard, Betty – Lecturer, Office: Psy 235, Email: b.deckard@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Psychobiology (Psy 241), Physiology of Behavior (Psy 340)

Decyk, Betsy – Lecturer, Office: PSY 107, Email: betsy.decyk@csulb.edu. Classes Taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130).

Drumheller, Kristin – Lecturer, Office: PSY 423, Email: kristin.drumheller@csulb.edu. Classes Taught: Emotions (Psy 336), History of Psychology (401)

Dwyer, John – Lecturer, Office: PSY 239, Email: john.dwyer@csulb.edu. Classes Taught: Research Methods (Psy 220)

Fiebert, Martin – Professor, Office: PSY 226, Phone: 562-985-5027, Email: martin.fiebert@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Introduction to Clinical Psychology (Psy 373), Introduction to Family Therapy (Psy 407/507), Clinical Interviewing (Psy 475/575).

Fisher, Joan- Lecturer, Office: PSY 423, Email: joan.fisher@csulb.edu. Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Statistics (Psy 210), Human Cognition (Psy 332)

Fitch, Brian – Lecturer, Office: PSY 109, Email: bdfitch1@yahoo.com, Classes Taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130)

Fruiht, Veronica – Lecturer, Office: Psy 423, Email: veronica.fruiht@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Human Cognition (Psy 332).

Glazek, Kuba – Lecturer, Office: Psy 239, Email: kuba.glazek@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Perception & Attention (Psy 633)

Giralt, Nuria – Lecturer, Office: PSY 235, Email: nuria.giralt@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Psychology 130: Critical Thinking; Psychology 210: Introduction to Statistics; Psychology 310: Intermediate Statistics; Psychology 331: Sensation and Perception; Psychology 361: Child and Adolescent Development; Psychology 350I: Psychology and Current Social Issues; Psychology 495: Forensic Psychology;

Gold, Michael - Lecturer, Office: PSY 239, Email: mikegold99@yahoo.com, Classes Taught: Test Construction (Psy 515).

Halim, May LingAssistant Professor, Office: Psy 329, Phone: 562-985-5020, Email mayling.halim@csulb.edu.  Classes Taught: Child & Adolescent Development (PSY 361), Psy of Adult Development & Aging (PSY 365).

Hamilton, Anita – Lecturer, Office: PSY 423 , Email: Ahamilton@chla.usc.edu. Classes Taught: Psychological Assessment (Psy 314).

Hanna, Rose – Lecturer, Office: MHB 813, Email: rose.hanna@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Introduction to Psychology, Social Psychology, Personality Psychology Community Psychology Psychology of Women Psychology and Contempory Issues.

Hosboyar, Melissa – Lecturer, Office: PSY 239, Email: melissa.hosboyar@csulb.edu. Classes Taught: Organizational Psychology (Psy 581).

Huemer, Sabine – Lecturer, Office: PSY 239, Email: sabine.huemer@csulb.eduClasses Taught: Autism Spectrum Disorders (Psy 362).

Iversen, Annette – Lecturer, Office: Psy 113, Email: aiversenphd@gmail.com, Classes Taught: Personality (Psy 356).

Jennings, Amy – Lecturer, Office: PSY 213, Email: amy.jennings@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Statistics (Psy 210), Psychology as a Discipline and Profession (Psy 301), Applications of Psychology (Psy Resource Office – PRO) (Psy 406).

Jordan, Ryan – Lecturer, Office: 113, Email: Dr.rjjordan@gmail.com. Classes Taught: Psychology of Addiction (Psy 477).

Jorgenson, Dale – Professor, Office: PSY 317, Phone: 562-985-5032, Email: intropsy@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 100 General Psychology, PSY 351 Social Psychology.

Killian, Carey – Lecturer, Office: PSY 110, Email: carey.killian@csulb.edu, Classes taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Mind Control (Psy 300), Psy as a Discipline & Profession (Psy 301).

Laviolette, Alyce – Lecturer, Office: PSY 113, Classes Taught: Psychology of Women (Psy 354).

Lee, Diane – Professor, Office: PSY 421, Email: diane.lee@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 333 Psy of Learning, PSY 401 History of Psychology, PSY 433 Research in Cognition & Learning, PSY 441 Research in Physiological Psychology.

Lewis, Margaret – Lecturer, Office: PSY 111, Email: meg@workgame.comClasses Taught: Group Dynamics (Psy 453/553), Issues in Organizational Development (Psy 683).

Lohmann, Andrew – Lecturer, Office: PSY 233, Email: andrew.lohmann@gmail.com, Classes Taught: Evolutionary Psychology (Psy 346), Social Issues (Psy 350), Social Psychology (Psy 351).

MacDonald, Kevin – Professor, Office: PSY 417, Phone: 562-985-8183 Email: kevin.macdonald@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 346I Evolutionary Psychology, PSY 361 Psy of Child and Adolescent Development, PSY 463 Social & Personality Development.

Maxfield, Lisa – Professor, Office: PSY 327, Phone: 562-985-5029, Email: lisa.maxfield@csulb.edu  Classes Taught: PSY 301 Intro to Psy as a Discipline and Profession.

Miles, James – Assistant Professor, Office: PSY 427, Phone: 562-985-5030, Email: jim.miles@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 331 Sensation & Perception, PSY 332, Human Cognition.

Needham, Samar- Lecturer, Office: PSY 108, Email: samar.needham@csulb.edu. Classes Taught: Research Methods (Psy 220), Intermediate Statistics (Psy 310)

O’Leary, Bernadette – Lecturer, Office: PSY 111, Email: fahamivu@sbcglobal.net Classes Taught: Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370).

Pedersen, William – Professor, Office: PSY 231, Phone: 562-985-5010, Email: bill.pedersen@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 411/511 (Statistical Design and Analysis of Experiments) PSY 351 (Social Psychology) PSY 210 (Introductory Statistics) PSY 350I (Psychology and Contemporary Social Issues)

Pentz, Clyde – Lecturer, Office: PSY 211, Email: clyde.pentz@csulb.edu,  Classes Taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Child and Adolescent Development (Psy 361)

Quon, Judy – Lecturer, Office: PSY 237, Email: judy.quon@csulb.eduClasses Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Intro to I/O Psychology (Psy 381), Women, Family and Work Issues (Psy 383)

Ritt-Olson, Anamara – Lecturer, Office: online only  Email: arittolson@gmail.com Classes Taught: Social Psychology (Psy 351), Personality (Psy 356).\

Rosenberg, Richard – Lecturer, Office: Psy 423, Email: richard.rosenberg@csulb.edu. Classes Taught: Statistics (Psy 210), Psychopharmacology (Psy 342).

Rozee, Patricia – Professor, Office: online only  Email: patricia.rozee@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 354 Psy of Women, PSY 375I Social Psy, PSY 405 Field Work in Psy.

Saberi, Dorit – Lecturer, Office: PSY 111, Email: mynaja@yahoo.com, Classes Taught: Psychology and the Law (Psy 495).

Scott, Ronald – Lecturer, Office: PSY 109, Email: ronald.scott@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370), Intro to Clinical Psychology (Psy 373).

Span, Sherry – Professor, Office: PSY 321, Phone: 562-985-7429, Email: sherry.span@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 100 Intro Psychology, PSY 150 Personality & Social Behavior, PSY 210 Intro Statistics, PSY 220 Research Methods, PSY 331 Sensation & Perception, PSY 370 Abnormal Psychology, PSY 457 Psy of Sexuality, PSY 477 Psy of Addiction.

Strybel , Thomas Z – Professor, Office: PSY 425 , Phone: 562-985-5035, Email: thomas.strybel@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Psychology 418/518 Computer Applications in Psychology, Psychology 331 Sensation & Perception, Psychology 110 Introduction to Statistics, Psychology 427/527 Human Factors, Psychology 627 Human Factors Methods

Thayer, Robert – Professor, Office: PSY 226C, Phone: 562-985-5026, Email: robert.thayer@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 356 Personality, PSY 359 Self Observation, PSY 436 Psy of Mood, PSY 456 Research in Personality

Thoman, Dustin – Assistant Professor, Office: PSY 227, Email: dustin.thoman@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 351 Social Psychology PSY 651 Graduate Seminar in Social Psychology PSY 412/512 Multivariate Statistics.  On Leave Fall 2013.

Thorpe, Elaine - Lecturer, Office: PSY 239 , Email: elaine.thorpe@csulb.edu.  Classes Taught: Intro to Human Factors (Psy 327).

Urizar Jr., Guido G. – Associate Professor, Office: PSY 225, Phone: 562-985-5160, Email: guido.urizar@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: Health Psychology (PSY 378) Psychology of Stress (PSY 379)

Vu, Kim-Phuong L – Professor, Office: PSY 333, Phone: 562 985 5021, Email: kim.vu@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 200: Research Methods PSY 327I: Introduction to Human Factors PSY 332: Cognition PSY 427/527: Human Factors PSY 633: Seminar in Perception and Attention

Warren, Christopher – Assistant Professor, Office: PSY 241, Phone: 562-985-5025, Email: c.warren@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 210 Intro Statistics, PSY 220 Research Methods, PSY 310 Intermediate Statistics, PSY 381 Intro to I/O Psy, PSY 457 Psy of Sexuality.

Whitney, David – Department Chair, Office: PSY 104, Phone: 562-985-5038, Email: dave.whitney@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 210 Intro Statistics, PSY 381 Intro to I/O Psychology.

Williams, Keikilani – lecturer, Office: PSY 111, Email: dr.kmwiliiams@gmail.com   Classes Taught: Health Psychology (Psy 378)

Zavala, Arturo R. – Assistant Professor, Office: PSY 429, Phone: (562) 985-2077, Email: arturo.zavala@csulb.edu, Classes Taught: PSY 241 – Psychobiology PSY 342 – Psychopharmacology