Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Journalism Department Banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty

Following is a list of all full time and emeriti faculty members and also all current lecturers of the Department of Journalism & Mass Communication at CSULB.

Click on the name of any faculty member on the left column or on their picture for their full profile.

Rick Acosta
Visiting Professor

Acosta

Email: richard.acosta@csulb.edu

Office Location: SSPA-024B
Phone: 562-985-8540
Office Hours: Tuesdays, 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.; Thursday 10:30 a.m.-12 p.m. or by appointment

Dr. Lee Brown
Professor Emeritus

Lee Brown

Email: lee.brown@csulb.edu

Office Location: SSPA-007A
Phone: 562-985-2103
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays, 1:00-2:00 p.m.

Dr. Chris Burnett

Professor

Email: chris.burnett@csulb.edu
Office Location: SSPA-024
Phone: 562-985-7440
Office Hours: Tuesdays 1-2 p.m., Wednesdays 10:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Fridays 8:30-9 a.m. or by appointment

Dr. Emma Daugherty
Department Chair and Professor

Emma Daugherty Phillingane Email: emma.daugherty@csulb.edu
Office Location: SSPA-027
Phone: 562-985-4981
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays from 1:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m. or by appointment

Holly Ferris

Lecturer

Holly Ferris Email: holly@ferriscomm.com
Office Location: SSPA-026
Phone: 562-985-5361 (no messages)
Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays, 9-9:30 a.m. and by phone or appointment
Dr. Jennifer Fleming
Associate Professor
& Adviser

Email: Jennifer.Fleming@csulb.edu

Office Location: SSPA-002
Phone: 562-985-7986
Office Hours: Tuesdays and Wednesdays, 9:00 a.m.-10:30 a.m.
Advising Hours: Tuesdays, 2 p.m.-5 p.m.; Thursdays, 9 a.m.-11 a.m. 

Todd Henneman
Lecturer
Email: Todd.Henneman@csulb.edu
Office Location: SSPA-026
Phone: 562-985-5361 (no messages)
Office Hours: Tuesdays, 3-4 p.m. or by appointment
Dr. Heloiza Herscovitz
Associate Professor

E-mail: heloiza.herscovitz@csulb.edu

Office Location: SSPA-009
Phone: 562-985-5667
Office Hours: Tuesdays, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m. and 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.; Wednesdays, 11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.

Robin Jones
Lecturer
Email: robinjones90814@yahoo.com
Office Location: SSPA-026
Phone: 
562-985-5361 (no messages)
Office Hours: 
Monday and Wednesday, noon-1:30 p.m.

Dr. Chris Karadjov
Associate Professor

Chris Karadjov

Email: chris.karadjov@csulb.edu
Office Location: SSPA-024
Phone: 562-985-2140
Office Hours: Tuesdays 3-6 p.m. or by appointment

Barbara Kingsley-Wilson
Lecturer, Daily 49er Adviser

Email:

Office Location: SSPA-003
Phone: 562-985-5779
Office Hours: Mondays, 1-3 p.m.; Tuesday, 3-5 p.m. or by appointment

Peter Larsen

Lecturer

Email: plarsen@ocregister.com
Office Location: SSPA-026
Phone: 562-985-5361 (no messages)
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays, 9:50-10:20 a.m. or by appointment
Suzanne Mapes
Lecturer
Suzanne Mapes

Email: suzphoto@yahoo.com

Office Location: SSPA-009A

Phone: 562-985-7985
Office Hours: Tuesdays, 5:30-6 p.m. and 9:50-10:20 p.m.

Jolyn Matsumuro
Lecturer

jolyn2013

Email: jolyn.matsumuro@csulb.edu
Office Location: SSPA-026
Phone: 562-985-5361 (no messages)
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays, 1:00-2:00 p.m.

Gary Metzker

Lecturer, Online 49er Adviser

Gary Metzker Mugshot

Email: gary.metzker@csulb.edu
Office Location: SSPA-009A
Phone: 562-985-7985
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays, 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. or by appointment

Ron Milligan

Lecturer

Ron Milligan Email: ronald.milligan@csulb.edu
Office Location: SSPA-026
Phone: 562-985-5361 (no messages)
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays from 10:50 to 11:50 a.m. or by appointment
Dr, Danny Paskin
Associate Professor
and Adviser
Danny Paskin

Email: danny.paskin@csulb.edu

Office Location: SSPA-025
Phone: 562-985-2602
Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays, 8;30-9:50 a.m. or by appointment
Advising Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays, 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m., via email or by appointment 

Joni Ramirez

Lecturer

Email: joni.ramirez@edelman.com
Office Location: SSPA-026
Phone: 323-532-0746
Office Hours: Mondays 10 a.m.-12 p.m. or by appointment

Tyler Reeb

Lecturer

Tyler Reeb Email: tyler.reeb@csulb.edu
Office Location: SSPA-026
Phone: 562-985-5361 (no messages)
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays. 9:15 a.m. – 9:45 a.m. or by appointment
Nick Roman
Lecturer
 Nick Roman Email: nroman@kpcc.org
Office Location: SSPA-026
Phone: 562-985-5361 (no messages)
Office Hours: Thursdays 10:00 a.m., after class or by appointment

Dr. Gwen Shaffer

Assistant Professor

gwen_2014 Email: gwen.shaffer@csulb.edu
Office Location: SSPA-008
Phone: 562-985-5433A
Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays, 12:30-2 p.m. or by appointment

John Shrader

Assistant Professor

John Shrader Email: john.shrader@csulb.edu
Office Location: SSPA-010A
Phone: 562-985-1730
Office Hours: Mondays, 10:00 a.m.–12 p.m.; Tuesdays, 11:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m. or by appointment
Carla Yarbrough
Lecturer
Carla Yarbrough Email: carla.yarbrough@csulb.edu
Office Location: SSPA-004B
Phone: 562-985-5568
Office Hours: Thursdays, 10:00-11:00 a.m.

 

Faculty Committees

Click here to see a list of faculty committees for 2014-2015, and the faculty members serving in each committee

 

Last Updated: Sep 10, 2014