Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
History Department banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

 Department of History Faculty

Additional hours are available by appointment.  Please email the faculty directly to schedule an appointment.

Full-Time Faculty

H. Berberian, Ph.D.
Email: Houri.Berberian@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215
Phone: (562) 985-4524
Office Hours: 
Professor
Graduate Advisor
Middle East, World (women, minorities)
E. Berquist, Ph.D
Email: Emily.Berquist@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-115
Phone: (562- 985-4427
Office Hours: M 5:00-6:00, Tu 10:30-11:30
Assistant Professor Latin America (colonial, visual culture, religious history, history of science)
J. Blutinger, Ph.D.
Email: Jeffrey.Blutinger@csulb.edu
Office
: FO2-210
Phone: (562) 985-2196
Office Hours:  On leave Fall 2014
Associate Professor Modern Europe, World, Jewish Studies (modern Jewish history, Holocaust, memory, historiography)
P. Cleary, Ph.D.
Email: Patricia.Cleary@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 212
Phone: (562) 985 – 4419
Office Hours: M/W 11:00-11:30, 2:30-3:00
Professor United States (Revolution, early America)
K. Curtis, Ph.D.
Email: Kenneth.Curtis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 105A
Phone: (562) 985 – 5090
Office Hours:
Professor
Africa, Comparative World
J. Dabel, Ph.D.
Email: Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 202
Phone: (562) 985 – 2408
Office Hours:
Professor
Editor, The History Teacher
United States (African American, women)
D. Hood, Ph.D.
Email: David.Hood@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 108
Phone: (562) 985 – 4420
Office Hours: M/W 9:30-11:00, T/TH 5:20-6:20
Professor
Ancient (historiography of Roman Republic, Plutarch & Greek, military)
A. Igmen, Ph.D.
Email: ali.igmen@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 116
Phone: (562) 985 – 8765
Office Hours:
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Advisor
Director, Oral History Program
Central Asia, Russia, Middle East, World (theater, cultural)
A. Jenks, Ph.D.
Email: andrew.jenks@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 207
Phone: (562) 985 – 8759
Office Hours:
Associate Professor Modern Europe, Russia (politics, technology, environment)
A. P. Kaminsky, Ph.D.
Email: Arnold.Kaminsky@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –209
Phone: (562) 985 – 5279
Office Hours:  On leave Fall 2014
Professor South Asia, Southeast Asia, World (India, British Empire)
T. Keirn
Email: Tim.Keirn@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 117
Phone: (562) 985 – 4428
Office Hours:
Lecturer
Coordinator, Social Science Credential Program
Modern Britain, World (economic, history education)
M. Kelleher, Ph.D.
Email: Marie.Kelleher@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 120
Phone: (562) 985 – 4462
Office Hours:
Associate Professor, Undergraduate Advisor Medieval Europe (women & law, Medieval Crown of Aragon, concubines & marginal women)
M. Kuo, Ph.D.
Email: margaret.kuo@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-112
Phone:(562) 985-4426
Office Hours: 
Associate Professor Asia (modern China)
A. Lazarowitz, Ph.D.
Email: Arlene.Lazarowitz@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 107
Phone: (562) 985 – 4423
Office Hours: M/W 2:30-3:20, T/TH 1:00-1:50, 4:00-4:50
Professor United States, World, Jewish Studies (foreign policy, 20th c. U.S. political & diplomatic, American Jewish history)
G. Li, Ph.D.
Email: GT.Li@csulb.edu
Office:F02-220
Phone: (562) 985-4465
Office Hours:
Associate Professor Asia (Late Imperial China, family & gender, migration & social mobility)
E. Luhr, Ph.D.
Email: Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 122
Phone: (562) 985 – 4511
Office Hours:

Associate Professor
Advisor, Social Science Credential Program
United States (modern/contemporary U.S., politics, religion, cultural)
D. Mizelle, Ph.D.
Email: Brett.Mizelle@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 109
Phone: (562) 985 – 4424
Office Hours:
Professor
Director, American Studies
United States, American studies (cultural, Early Republic and Antebellum, human-animal relationships, nature/culture)
C. Murdock, Ph.D.
Email: C.Murdock@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 203
Phone: (562) 985 – 2601
Office Hours:  On leave Fall 2014
Associate Professor Modern Europe, Central & Eastern Europe, Germany (borderlands, social, cultural, transnational)
C. Ponce de Leon, Ph.D.
Email: Charles.Poncedeleon@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –214
Phone: (562) 985 –4425
Office Hours: 
Professor United States, American Studies (20th c. Cultural and Intellectual, Mass Media)
N. Quam-Wickham, Ph.D.
Email: Nancy.Quam-Wickham@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 102
Phone: (562) 985 – 4431
Office Hours:  W 3:30-5:00 and by appointment.  No office hours
8/27. Will hold office hours Monday 8/25, 11:00-1:00 Tuesday 8/26, 9:00-11:00
Professor
Chair, Department of History
United States (Western)
S. Salinas
Email: Salvadore.Salinas@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-111
Phone:  562-985-
Office Hours:
S. Sayegh, Ph.D.
Email: Sharlene.Sayegh@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 110
Phone: (562) 985 – 5428
Office Hours:
Lecturer Europe, World, Critical Theory (early modern & modern Britain, methods & critical thinking)
S. Schrank, Ph.D.
Email: Sarah.Schrank@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 204
Phone: (562) 985 – 2293
Office Hours:  
Professor United States (urban, public art, culture, women, California)
D. Shafer, Ph.D.
Email: david.shafer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 218
Phone: (562) 985 – 4612
Office Hours:  On leave Fall 2014
Professor Modern Europe (France, revolutions, cultural)
D. Sheridan, Ph.D.
Email: David.Sheridan@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985 -
Office: FO2 –224
Office Hours:
Lecturer Modern Europe (Britain, gender, music, culture)
M. Takeuchi, Ph.D.
Email: Michiko.Takeuchi@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –114
Phone: (562) 985 –4440
Office Hours: 
Assistant Professor Japan (U.S.-Japan relations, women, sexuality)
H. Wilford, Ph.D.
Email: hugh.wilford@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 216
Phone: (562) 985 – 4422
Office Hours: On leave Fall 2014
Professor United States (20th c., intellectual & diplomatic)

Part-Time Faculty

E. Altenbernd
Email:  Erik.Altenbernd@csulb.edu
Phone:  562-985-5279
Office:  FO2-209
Office Hours:
G. Beirich
Email: Gregory.Beirich@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4458
Office: FO2-118
Office Hours: 
Lecturer Medieval Europe (intellectual & religious, monasticism & heresy)
D. Binkiewicz
Email: Donna.Binkiewicz@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4423
FO2-107
Office Hours:
Lecturer United States (recent, politics & culture)
D. Bollelli
Email: Daniele.Bolelli@csulb.edu
Phone:FO3-
Office Hours:
Lecturer
G. Hamilton
Email: Gail.Hamilton@csulb.edu
Phone:
Office:  FO2-118
Office Hours:
Lecturer
A. Hawk, Ph.D.
Email: Angela.Hawk@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985 – 4429
Office: FO2 – 113
Office Hours: 
Lecturer United States
M. Kadue, Ph.D, J.D.
Email: m.kadue@gmail.com
Office: FO2 – 118
Phone: (562) 985 – 4458
Office Hours: 
Lecturer Legal History
J. Lawler
Email: Jeffrey.Lawler@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –218
Phone: (562) 985 – 4612
Office Hours:
Lecturer United States
D. McClure
Email:  Daniel.McClure@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-113
Phone:  562-985-4429
Office Hours:
W. Mullikin
Email: Wanda.Mullikin@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 224
0Phone: (562) 985 -
Office Hours:
Lecturer World, United States (immigration)
D. Neumann
Email: Dave.Neumann@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-219
Phone: (562) 985-2122
Lecturer Single Subject Credential program
B. O’Neil, Ph.D.
Email: Brian.Oneil@csulb.edu
Office
: FO2 –118
Phone: (562) 985 – 4458
Office Hours:
Lecturer United States (foreign relations, U.S.-Latin America, WWII, Cold War & Vietnam, immigration, CA history)
P. Palmieri
Email:  Pasquale.Palmieri@csulb.edu
O
ffice:
Phone:
Office Hours:
H. Schillig
Email: Hollie.Schillig@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 202
Phone: (562) 985 – 2408
Office Hours: T/TH 11:00-1:00
Lecturer World
J. Smith
Email:  Justin.Smith@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-209
Phone:
Office Hours:
S. Smith
Email: sean.smith@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 212
Phone: (562) 985 – 4419
Office Hours:
Lecturer United States (19th c. American West, social & cultural)
M. Stonis
Email: michelle.stonis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 113
Phone:
Office Hours: 
Lecturer United States
M. Takahashi
Email: Mariko.Takahashi@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-208
Phone:
Office Hours:
B. Wisialowski
Email: Bart.Wisialowski@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985 – 4431 (dept ofc)
Office: F02-224
Office Hours:
Lecturer

Associated Faculty

L. Arroyo
Email: Luis.Arroyo@csulb.edu
Office: F03-302
Phone: (562) 985 – 4640
Office Hours:
Professor
L. Maram
Email: Linda.Maram@csulb.edu
Office
: F03-317
Phone: (562) 985 – 4822
Office Hours:
Professor
L. Mahoney
Email: Lynn.Mahoney@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985 – 4128
Office: BH-310
Interim Vice Provost & Dean USAA