Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
English Banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

CLICK HERE FOR A LIST OF ALL FACULTY OFFICE HOURS

English Department Faculty

FACULTY EMERITI

FACULTY QUICK FIND: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Faculty Education Interests
Alaei, Bahareh
bbrittanya@mac.com
MHB 409
x8517
Allen, Jeremiah
alljerr@gmail.com
MHB 717
x1824
Amaris, MaryScarlett
msa.gypsy@gmail.com
MHB 711
x4393
BA, Special Emphasis CSULBMA, Literacy Studies  CSULBMA, Spiritual Psychology University of Santa MonicaMinisterial Credential  Fellowship of Isis, UK, Temple of Isis, Ca. Literacy Instruction, Speaking Truth to Power, Changing the World One Student at a Time.
Arroyo, Sarah
sarah.arroyo@csulb.edu
MHB 409
x8517
BS in Education New Mexico State UniversityMA in English CSULBPhD in Rhetoric University of Texas at Arlington digital and networked rhetorics; video and participatory cultures; critical theory; composition theories and pedagogies; writing program administration
Atherton, Anthony
anthony.atherton@csulb.edu
MHB 708
x4216
BA, MA CSULB nineteenth/twentieth-century literature, short story, comedy, and music.
Bass, Jenny
jenny.bass@csulb.edu
MHB 718
BA, MA CSULB
Belhumeur, Monika
mbelhumeur@verizon.net
MHB 405
x4231
BA University of Heidelberg, GermanyMA CSULB ESL, composition, linguistics
Bergeron, Leeanne
leeanne.bergeron@csulb.edu
ECS 526
x8406
MA CSULB English Rhetoric/Composition
BA UCLA English
Digital Rhetoric
ELL Pedagogy
Technical Writing
Bitar, Sara
saraabitar@gmail.com
MHB 717
x1824
Blankley, Elyse
elyse.blankley@csulb.edu
FO2 222
x4892
BA Douglass College, Rutgers UniversityMA, PhD University of California, Davis Twentieth-century British literatureTwentieth-century American literatureFeminist and gender theoryLiterature by womenPost-colonial theory
Bochettaz, Olivier
olivier.bochettaz@gmail.com
MHB 301
x4246
Boyer, Mason
professorb@professorboyer.com
MHB 711
x4393
Braden, Amy
amy.braden@csulb.edu
MHB 313
x2083
BA, Loyola Marymount; PhD, University of Southern California Early modern poetry; drama; performance/stage history; gender studies
Buehler, Jamie
jamiebuehler15@gmail.com
MHB 708
x4216
Cangiano, Dya
dccangiano@gmail.com
MHB 806
x8881
BA in English, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona; MA in English, CSULB Rhetoric and Composition; Hybrid-Academic Discourse; Digital Rhetoric; Shakespeare; Drama; Teaching as Performance; Victorian Literature; Pragmatics and Discourse Analysis
Carlile, Susan
susan.carlile@csulb.edu
MHB 305
x4221
BA Taylor Univ. (IN)
MA, PhD Arizona State Univ.
Eighteenth-century British Literature; the novel; gender theory; Adolescent Lit, English Education
Caron, Tim
tim.caron@csulb.edu
MHB 809
x1538
BA–Louisiana College
MA/PhD–Louisiana State University
19th and 20th century American literature; writers from the American South; comics and graphic novels
Chambers, Carrie
carried@hotmail.com
MHB 401
x1943
BA in English Literature, Bowling Green State University; MTSC (Master’s in Technical and Scientific Communications), Miami University Technical Communication
Chapman, Cheryl
cheryl.chapman@csulb.edu
MHB 401
x5239
MA in Literature, CSULB British modernist and Renaissance lit; film, esp. Japanese and Hays-era American
Clayton, Marcus
marcus2m2@sbcglobal.net
MHB 712
x8661
Clifford, Virginia
missvirginiaclifford@gmail.com
MHB 716
x8881
BA in English Education, CSULB; Single Subject Credential in English, CSULB; MA in Rhetoric & Composition, CSULB Composition instruction; Revision; Digital Rhetoric; Electracy
Cooper, Stephen
stephen.cooper@csulb.edu
MHB-403
x8644
BA, UCLA; MFA, UCI; PhD, USC Creative Writing, Fiction; American Literature; Theory of Fiction and Film; Film and Genocide
Cottingham, Reid
reidann.cottingham@csulb.edu
MHB 708
Covey, Adrienne
adriennecovey@gmail.com
MHB 406
x4232
BA, MA, CSULB
Cummings, Rebecca
rebecca.cummings@csulb.edu
MHB 511
x5285
BA in English, CSULB; MFA in Creative Writing (Fiction), CSULB
Davidson, Matt
13.matt@gmail.com
PSY 219
x7596
Dilts, Tyler
tyler.dilts@csulb.edu
MHB 702
x2101
BA, MA, MFA CSULB Creative Writing, Contemporary Literature and Theory, Narrative Studies, Crime and Detective Fiction
Dinielli, Gene
gene.dinielli@csulb.edu
MHB 510
x4794
BA, MA, University of Connecticut; PhD, Canterbury University American Literature; Henry James; Shakespeare; Modern Theatre; theory
Douglas, Jeffrey
jeffrey.douglas0@gmail.com
MHB 510
x4794
Eddington, Kevin
eddington.kevin@gmail.com
MHB 717
x1824
BA, CSULB Reading and writing poetry!
Egan, Gerald
gerald.egan@pvperegan.com
MHB 312
MA, CSULB; PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara Long eighteenth-century; Romanticism; visual culture; digital humanities
Esparza, Araceli
araceli.esparza@csulb.edu
MHB 318
x4397
PhD University of Southern California
MA California State University, Northridge
BS University of Southern California
ethnic literature, Chicana/o and Latina/o literature, gender and feminist theory
Eyre, Kelly
kelly.eyre@csulb.edu
MHB 808
x4261
Ferris, Boak
boak.ferris@csulb.edu
MHB 406
x4232
BA,MA, Specializing as Writing/Reading Specialist, CSUN; Former GWAR Coordinator; Autodidact in Psycholinguistics/Neuroscience of Learning Neuroscience of Learning; Psycholinguistics; Educational Curriculum Models for K-20; Literature Analysis; The Craft of Fiction Production; The Craft of Nonfiction Production; Publishing; Textual Analysis; Psychometrics of Educational Testing; Teaching and; Pedagogies for EESL; Principles of Undergradate- and Graduate-level Writing Assessment
Finney, Brian
bhfinney@bhfinney.com
MHB 506
x4247
BA (Hons) University of Reading, England
PhD Birkbeck College, University of London, England
British prose fiction since 1900; British and American literature since 1900; European and American drama since 1900; critical theory.
Fleming, Johnetta
j.dfleming@yahoo.com
Off Campus
Flynn, Sharron
sflynn216@verizon.net
Off Campus
BA, MA, Eastern Washington University linguistics; composition; mentoring
Fox, Todd
todd.fox@csulb.edu
MHB 709
x7682
BA, MFA, CSULB
Gilmore, Paul
paul.gilmore@csulb.edu
MHB 410
x4249
BA, University of Mississippi; MA, PhD, University of Chicago
Glatt, Lisa
lisag412@yahoo.com
MHB 713
562-307-4861
MFA, Sarah Lawrence College Contemporary fiction, including novels and short story collections
Greenberg, Suzanne
suzanne.greenberg@csulb.edu
MHB 501
x4243
BA, Hampshire College; MFA, University of Maryland Creative Writing, Fiction and Creative Nonfiction
Griswold, Gary (William)
william.griswold@csulb.edu
MHB 408
x4234
PhD, Claremont Graduate University
MA, BA, CSULB
History of writing instruction
Writing technologies
Writing center theory and practice
Technical and professional writing
Guffey, Robert
rguffey@hotmail.com
MHB 711
x4393
BA, MFA CSULB
Guzik, Elizabeth
elizabeth.guzik@csulb.edu
MHB 405
x4231
Hamwi, Richard
richard.hamwi@csulb.edu
MHB 718
BA, CSULB; MFA, UCI
Hart, George
george.hart@csulb.edu
MHB 410
x4235
BA, Kent State University; MA, Stanford University; PhD, Stanford University 19th and 20th-century American literature; American poetry and poetics; literary theory; ecocriticism; ecopoetics; Robinson Jeffers; Larry Eigner
Hashima, Lawrence
larry.hashima@csulb.edu
FO3  317
x4822
BA in English & American Studies, UCLA; MA in American Studies, Washington State University; MA/ABD in American Culture, University of Michigan Asian Pacific American Literature; American Studies; U.S. Cinema; 19th- & 20th-century African American Literature; 19th- & 20th-century American Literature
Hawk, Jennifer
jennifer.hawk@csulb.edu
MHB 718
x1824
Hawkins, Bradley
brad.hawkins@csulb.edu
MHB 610
x5785
BA in English, UCLA; MA in Public Administration, CSULB
Hernandez, Casandra
english205@gmx.com
MHB 712
x8661
Hernandez, David
davidhernandez4@gmail.com
MHB 713
x4397
MFA, University of California, Irvine
Hoffman, Harold
harold.hoffman@csulb.edu
RLC 187 & FO5 200
x1696
BA, MFA CSULB
Hotchkiss, Mimi (Wilhelmina)
wilhelmina.hotchkiss@csulb.edu
MHB 402
x4219
BA English and German, CSU Fullerton
PhD English, UCLA
[British] literature of the long eighteenth century/Romanticism; British poetry & drama; gender studies; literature & visual culture; Shakespeare (pedagogy & performance)
Hu, Helen
hchau.hu@csulb.edu
MHB 705
x4229
BA, Berea College; MA, University of Wisonsin; PhD, University of London
Hultgren, Neil
neil.hultgren@csulb.edu
MHB 317
x2423
BA English and French, Augustana College (IL)
MA, PhD English Language and Literature, University of Virginia
Victorian studies; British imperialism; the novel; postcolonial theory
Hume, Shawne
shawne.hume@csulb.edu
MHB 709
BA, CSULB, 1995, English Education
MA, CSULB, 2000, English Literature
Virginia Woolf, Charles Dickens, Secondary Education Pedagogy
James, Jessica
jjjames@section-31.org
MHB 709
x1824
Jensen, Deborah
deborahjensen2001@yahoo.com
CBA 438
310-592-8394
Johnson, Stephanie
stephanie.johnson@csulb.edu
MHB 505
x4402
Saint Louis University, CSULB, UC Irvine Graduate Writing Assessment Requirement (GWAR) program; Single Subject Credential Program (SSCP); Supervisor for Student Teachers; Ice Skating Institute (ISI)
Jordan, Sheri
sherilynn.jordan@csulb.edu
MHB 312
x2030
Keirn (Divito), Kathleen
Kathleen.keirn@csulb.edu
MHB 311
x4215
Kermode, Lloyd
lloyd.kermode@csulb.edu
MHB 512
x4212
BA, Hons University of Sheffield, UK; MPhil, The Shakespeare Institute, University of Birmingham, UK; MA, The Johns Hopkins University; PhD, Rice University Renaissance and Early Modern British Literature; Literary and Cultural Theory
Klink, Eileen
eileen.klink@csulb.edu
MHB 419
x4223
BA, UCLA
MA, CSULB
Ph.D. USC
Renaissance Literature, 17th and 18th century British Literature, Rhetoric and Composition, English Education. Current Chair, Department of English
Laurila, Mark
mark.laurila@csulb.edu
MHB 401
x1943
Lawson, Geri
geri.lawson@csulb.edu
MHB 406
x4342
BA, MA, CSULB gender theory; queer modernism/postmodernism; pop culture studies
Leis, Corey
coreyleis@live.com
MHB 718
x1824
 BA, MA CSULB Rhetoric & composition, digital rhetorics & literacies, poststructuralist theory, ecocriticism, theatre, and bicycles.
Lenton, Amanda
amandalenton@verizon.net
MHB 810
x8913
BA English at CSU Fullerton emphasis in American Literature.
MA English at CSU Long Beach emphasis in Rhetoric and Compostion.
Stages of Writing Development
Primary, Secondary, and Post-Secondary Composition Theory
Creative Nonfiction, American Literature
Locklin, Gerald
gerald.locklin@csulb.edu
MHB 511
x5285
BA, St. John Fisher College; MA, University of Arizona; PhD, University of Arizona Literature; Literary Theory; Creative Writing; Popular Culture
Locklin, Zachary
zachary.locklin@csulb.edu
MHB 511
x5285
BA in Modern Literature, University of California, Santa Cruz; MPW (Master’s of Professional Writing), University of Southern California 19th- and 20th-century British and American literature (particularly British Romantic poetry and Victorian fiction); all other British, American, and commonwealth literature; Freudian and semiotic theory/philosophy; existentialist philosophy and literature; feminist and gender theory; crime and horror fiction; film; pop culture.
López, Dennis
dennis.lopez@csulb.edu
MHB 318
x4217
MA, California State University, Northridge; PhD, University of California, Irvine U.S. Ethnic Literatures; Twentieth-Century U.S. Literature; U.S. Protest and Proletarian Literatures; Marxism; Critical Race Theories
Loughrey, Patricia
patricia.loughrey@csulb.edu
MHB 705
x4229
MA Theatre Arts, San Diego State University
MFA Theatre Arts, CSULB
Composition, literature, theatre arts, documentary drama, HIV/AIDS education, LGBTQ history
I am also interested in laughter, compassion, and good Thai food.
Loy, Amy
amyloy05@yahoo.com
MHB 810
x8913
Maertens, Logan
l.z.maertens@gmail.com
MHB 716
x1824
BA, MA, CSULB
Maravilla, Rudith
rudimaravilla@gmail.com
MHB 717
x1824
Margrave, Clint
clint.margrave@csulb.edu
MHB 810
x8913
Matuchniak, Tina
tina.matuchniak@csulb.edu
MHB 706
x2310
BA Chemistry, University of Bombay, India
MA CSULB, Literacy Studies
PhD UCI, Education, Language, Literacy, & Technology
Writing
English Learners
College Access & Persistence
Mello, Barbara (Mary)
barbara.mello@csulb.edu
MHB 810
x4794
BA, MA, CSULB; PhD, USC Medieval & English Renaissance; literature and material culture; Feminism & Gender Studies
Mitchell-Smith, Ilan
ilan.mitchellsmith@csulb.edu
MHB 506
x4247
Mohr, Bill (William)
william.billmohr@gmail.com
MHB 301
x4246
BA, University of California, Los Angeles; MA, PhD, University of California, San Diego Twentieth-century American literature; creative writing; avant-garde theater; visual arts
Moloi, Alosi J.
alosi.moloi@csulb.edu
PSY 433
x4598
Hons. BA, MA.(University of South Africa),D.Litt.(University of the North);South African Teachers’ Diploma(University of the North).
Hons.B.A, M.A(university of South Africa), D.Litt.(University of the North);South African Teachers’ Diploma(University of the North).
Eighteen-century British literature, post- colonial literature, African oral traditions, liberation struggles in Africa and Latin America.
Monaghan, Michael
monaghan@earthlink.net
MHB 709
BA, CSULB; MSFE, USC; MS, Univeristy of LaVerne
Moulton, Renee
moulton.r.2010@gmail.com
MHB 706
x1824
BA, MFA, CSULB
Nyssen, Carla
carla.nyssen@csulb.edu
MHB 806
x1979
BA, MA, CSULB
Olah, Anthony
anthony.olah@csulb.edu
MHB 806
x1979
AA, Cypress J.C.; BA, MA, CSULB
Opsteegh, Michael
michael.opsteegh@csulb.edu
MHB 406
949-390-8320
BA, MA, CSULB technical communication; rhetoric
Orr, Alyesse
alyesseorr@gmail.com
MHB 717
x1824
Ortega, Mark
markortega89@gmail.com
MHB 510
x8881
BA English with Communication minor CSULB
MA English CSULB
Rhetoric and Composition, Composition Pedagogies, Creative Writing, Writing Apprehension, Communication Studies
Parker, Kevin
kevparker08@gmail.com
MHB 717
x1824
Pastrana, Cynthia
cynthia.pastrana@csulb.edu
MHB 806
x1979
BA, MA, CSULB
Pennington, Margaret (Meg)
megpennington1@gmail.com
MHB 808
x4261
Peterson, Lars
lars.peterson@csulb.edu
MHB 506
x4213
BA English, CSULB; MFA Creative Writing, CSULB Creative Writing, Fiction; Composition
Rifkin, Alan
alan.rifkin@csulb.edu
MHB 710
x2140
BA, UCLA / MFA, CSULB Creative Nonfiction, Contemporary Fiction, Personal/Literary Journalism
Rodriguez, Angela
angela.andrea.rodriguez@gmail.com
MHB 717
x1824
BA in English literature CSULB / MA English rhetoric and composition CSULB
Rogers, Sandra
smrogers28@gmail.com
Off-campus
714-334-8243
BA French, Stanford University
MA Education, Stanford University
Secondary Education
Rose, Chris
chris.rose@csulb.edu
MHB 710
x2140
Rust, Rusty (Marilee)
rusty.rust@csulb.edu
MHB 503
x4220
BA English Literature CSU Channel IslandsMA English Literature CSU Long Beach (exp. 2014) Feminism, Gender, and Sexuality
Ethnic Literature, 20th Century American Literature
Sarbo, Linda
linda.sarbo@csulb.edu
HC 104
x8102
BA in English, Pennsylvania State University; MA, PhD in Rhetoric and Composition, University of South Florida Writing assessment; composition pedagogy; Writing Across the Curriculum
Scenters-Zapico, John
john.scenters-zapico@csulb.edu
MHB 313
x2083
Schurer, Norbert
nschurer@csulb.edu
MHB 302
x4213
Scuro, Courtney
cjscuro@hotmail.com
MHB 717
x1824
Seyburn, Patty
patty.seyburn@csulb.edu
MHB 712
x8661
BS, MS in Journalism, Northwestern University; MFA in Poetry, University of California, Irvine; PhD in Creative Writing and Literature, University of Houston 20th-century female poets; Eastern European poetry; Midrash
Sheley, Nancy
nancy.sheley@csulb.edu
MHB 312
x2030
BA Murray State University/MA University of Illinois/PhD University of Kansas The American short story and its history; 19th-century American women writers; American ethnic writers; 19th-early 20th-century art and culture; conflict resolution (Rwanda/Cyprus/Ireland)
Simoes, Marc
Marc.Simoes@csulb.edu
MHB 808
x4261
BA, MA CSULB
Smith, Jennifer
jennifer.smith@csulb.edu
MHB 706
x2310
BA, Pennsylvania State University; MA, CSULB Professional Writing; Technical Editing; Medieval & Early Modern English Literature & Christianity
Smith, Michael
mcsmith6005@charter.net
MHB 501
x4243
Smurthwaite, Lori
lori.smurthwaite@csulb.edu
MHB 405
x4231
MA in English, Brigham Young University; PhD in American Literature and Rhetoric, University of Southern California Nineteenth and twentieth-century American literature; the short story; children’s literature; composition
Stavast, John
johnstavast@gmail.com
MHB 710
x2140
BA, MA, CSULB Twentieth-century American lit; rhetoric; cinema; technical writing
Strahl, Ronald
ronald.strahl@csulb.edu
FO5 216
x7677
BA DePauw University, MA Indiana University, PhD Indiana University Rhetoric/composition, literacy studies, English education, and 18th century American literature
Stuart, Andrew
astuart2@occ.cccd.edu
MHB 312
x2030
Thomas, Graham
graham.thoams@csulb.edu
FO4 151
x4260
Thomas, Marshall
marshall.thomas@csulb.edu
FND 220
x4279
BA, MA, EdD CSULB
Thrasher, Thomas
t.thrasher@csulb.edu
MHB 511
x5285
BA,MFA CSULB
Tsibouris Shaver, Vasiliki (Kiki)
1ktshaver@gmail.com
MHB 716
x1824
Van Elk, Martine
martine.vanelk@csulb.edu
MHB 512
x4222
MA, University of Amsterdam; PhD, Rice University Early modern literature; Shakespeare; 17th-century women writers
Vipond, Dianne
dianne.vipond@csulb.edu
MHB 505
x4402
 BS, McGill University; MA, Concordia University; PhD, York University (Canada)  Twentieth-Century British Literature; Metafiction; Postmodernism; English Education
Webb, Charles
charles.webb@csulb.edu
MHB 502
x4244
BA in Honors English, Rice University; M.A. in English/Poetry Writing, University of Washington; MFA in  Professional Writing, University of Southern California; PhD in Counseling Psychology, University of Southern California Creative Writing (fiction and poetry); 20th-century Poetry and Fiction;
Poetics
Wegener, Frederick
frederick.wegener@csulb.edu
MHB 320
x4226
BA, Columbia University; MA, PhD, Harvard University post-1865 American literature and culture; forms of narrative; critical theory; history of the novel
Williams, Mark
mark.williams@csulb.edu
MHB 310
x1978
BS, Utah State University; MA, University of Texas El Paso; PhD, University of Arizona Rhetorical history, theory, and practice; Composition and literacy studies
Willison, Howard
howard.willison@csulb.edu
FO4 150
x5662
MA animals; mythology; literature; science; nature
Wilson, Cory
cory.csulb@gmail.com
MHB 717
x1824
BFA Creative Writing Chapman University
MA English CSULB
Rhetoric and Composition, British Romanticism, Food Studies, and Theories of Monstrosity
Zepeda, Rafael (Ray)
rafael.zepeda@csulb.edu
MHB 501
x4343
BA, CSULB; MFA, University of Oregon Creative Writing, fiction (short story and novel); Poetry Writing;
Script Writing & Play Writing; Twentieth-Century American and English literature; Nineteenth-Century American and English literature; Twentieth-Century World literature; Film making, Film history, and Film Theory; Photography; Twentieth-Century Art; World Art History; Archeology
Zitzer-Comfort, Carol
carol.comfort@csulb.edu
MHB 317
x7929
BA, CSU Fullerton; MA, Cal Poly Pomona; PhD, Claremont Graduate University Composition and Rhetoric (including Digital Literacy); English Education; Reading and Cognitive Development; Contemporary American Ethnic Literature; American Indian Literature; Disability Studies. My interests are diverse, but all stem from my love of reading and teaching.