Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Communication Studies - Small Banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

FULL TIME FACULTY

Please see the home page for a complete listing of faculty and office hours

Dr. Jessica Abrams (Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara)
Area of expertise: Intergroup Communication and Media Effects
Office phone number: (562) 985-9141
Office location: AS-365
Email address: jessica.abrams@csulb.edu

Mr. Scott Allen, Technical Director, Hauth Center (M.F.A., Louisiana State University)
Area of expertise: Performance
Office phone number: (562) 985-7142
Office location: LAB-200
Email address: scott.allen@csulb.edu

Dr. Terre Allen (Ph.D., Louisiana State University)
Area of expertise: Interpersonal Communication, Language and Social Interaction, Small Group Communication, Instructional Communication
Currently serving as the Director of the Center for Faculty Development
Office phone number: (562) 985-5260
Email address: terre.allen@csulb.edu

Mr. Joseph Anderson (ABD, University of Utah)
Area of expertise: Critical Cultural Studies of Popular Communication
Office location: AS-301
Email address: janders456@yahoo.com

Dr. Jennifer Asenas (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Language
Office phone number: (562) 985-7679
Office location: AS-373
Email address: jennifer.asenas@csulb.edu

Dr. Guy F. Bachman (Ph.D., Arizona State University)
Area of expertise: Interpersonal Communication
Office location: AS -371
Email address: guy.bachman@csulb.edu

Dr. Amy M. Bippus, Associate Dean, College of LIberal Arts (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
Area of expertise: Interpersonal Communication
Email address: amy.bippus@csulb.edu

Dr. San Bolkan (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
Area of expertise: Applied Communication
Office location: AS 350
Email address: san.bolkan@csulb.edu

Dr. Nancy Briggs, Emeritus (Ph.D., University of Southern California)
Area of expertise: Performance, Rhetoric, and Communication Theory
Email address: nancy.briggs@csulb.edu
Personal web page: www.orangutang.com

Dr. Aaron Cargile (Ph.D., University of California – Santa Barbara)
Area of expertise: Intercultural Communication
Office phone number: (562) 985-7971
Office location: AS-361
Email address: aaron.cargile@csulb.edu
Personal web page: www.csulb.edu/~acargile

Mr. Anthony Castello (MA, CSULB)
Office phone number (562) 985-4300
Office location: AS 302
Email address: anthony.castello@csulb.edu

Dr. Christina Derme (Ph.D., State University New York at Buffalo)
Area of expertise: Interpersonal and Organizational Communication
Office Phone Number: (562) 985-7111
Office: AS-356
Email address: cderme@aol.com

Dr. Sharon D. Downey (Ph.D., University of Colorado – Boulder)
Area of expertise: Contemporary Rhetorical Criticism
Office location: AS-352
Email address: shadowney@aol.com

Dr. Christopher Duerringer (Ph.D., Arizona State University)
Area of expertise: Public Rhetoric, including Campaign Rhetoric and Popular Culture
Office phone number: (562) 985-1647
Office location: AS-363

Dr. Ragan Fox (Ph.D., Arizona State University)
Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Performance Studies
Office location: AS-364
Email address: ragan.fox@csulb.edu

Dr. Amy Heyse (Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park)/Graduate Advisor
Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Public Address
Office phone number: (562) 985-7162
Office location: AS-366
Email address: amy.heyse@csulb.edu

Dr. Ann Johnson (Ph.D., University of Massachusetts – Amherst)/Department Chair
Area of expertise: Rhetoric, Popular Culture, and Audiences
Office phone number: (562) 985-7673
Office location: AS-311
Email address: ann.johnson@csulb.edu

Dr. Kevin Johnson (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
Area of expertise: Cultural Psychoanalysis, First Amendment, Contemporary Rhetorical Theory & Criticism
Office phone number: (562) 985-7130
Office location: AS-354
Email address: rhetoricalcritic@gmail.com

Dr. Patricia Kearney (Ed.D., West Virginia University)
Area of expertise: Instructional and Interpersonal Communication
Office location: AS-369
Email address: pkearney7@gmail.com

Ms. Dawn Kelsey (MA, CSULB)/Undergraduate Advisor
Area of expertise: Advising and Instructional Communication
Office phone number: (562) 985-5957
Office location: AS-374
Email address: dawn.kelsey@csulb.edu

Mr. Alan (Ty) Kopp (MFA, Louisiana State University)
Area of expertise: Performance Studies
Office phone number: 562-985-4300
Office location: AS-302
Email address: kopprone@hotmail.com

Dr. Pamela Kreiser (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
Area of expertise: Interpersonal Communication and Quantitative Methods
Office phone number: 562-985-7111
Office location: AS-356
Email address: pamela.kreiser@csulb.edu

Dr. James Manseau Sauceda (Ph.D., University of Southern California)
Area of expertise: Performance Studies and Intercultural Communication
Office phone number: 562-985-8151
Office: FO-3, room 3 (lower level)
Email: james.sauceda@csulb.edu

Dr. Lynda L. McCroskey (Ph.D., University of Oklahoma)
Area of expertise: Interpersonal, Organizational, and Instructional Communication
Office location: AS 373
Email address: lynda.mccroskey@csulb.edu

Dr. Valerie McKay (Ph.D., University of Oklahoma)
Area of expertise: Instructional, Gender, and Family
Office location: AS 353
Email address: valerie.mckay@csulb.edu

Dr. Mary McPherson (Ph.D., Ohio University)
Area of expertise: Instructional and Interpersonal Communication
Office phone number: (562) 985-4312
Office location: AS-357
Email address: mary.mcpherson@csulb.edu

Dr. Kirran Moss (EdD., UC Irvine)
Area of expertise: policy analysis and leadership
Office phone number: (562) 985-8564
Office location: AS-355
Email address: kirran.moss@csulb.edu

Mr. William Neesen (MA, CSU Fullerton)
Assistant Director of Debate
Office phone number: 562 985-8849
Office location: AS-377
Email address: bill@theneesens.us

Dr. Raven Pfister (Ph.D., Purdue)
Area of expertise: Critical Theory. Orientalism, and Feminist Postcolonial Theory
Office location: AS-375
Email address: raven.pfister@csulb.edu

Dr. Tim Plax, Administrative Director, Hauth Center (Ph.D., University of Southern California)
Area of expertise: Interpersonal and Organizational Communication
Office location: AS-369
Email address: timplax@aol.com

Dr. Karen Rasmussen (Ph.D., University of Colorado – Boulder)
Area of expertise: Rhetorical Studies
Office location: AS-344
Email address: krasmus44@verizon.net

Dr. Marc Rich (Ph.D., Southern Illinois University – Carbondale)
Area of expertise: Performance Studies, Social Change and Violence Prevention
Office phone number: (562) 985-8835
Office location: AS-362
Email address: marc.rich@csulb.edu

Dr. Subrina Robinson (Ph.D., Southern Illinois University – Carbondale)
Area of expertise: Performance Studies, Culture and Activism
Office phone number: (562) 985-1350
Office location: AS-349
Email address: subrina.robinson@csulb.edu

Dr. Jose I. Rodriguez (Ph.D., Michigan State University)
Area of expertise: Persuasion and Interpersonal Communication
Office phone number: (562) 985-7954
Office location: AS-367
Email address: jose.rodriguez@csulb.edu

Dr. Clariza Ruiz De Castilla (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Language Studies

Dr. Jessica Russell (Ph.D., Michigan State University)
Area of expertise:  Strategic Communication in Health and Interpersonal Contexts
Office phone number (562) 985-5004
Office location: AS-370
Email address: jessica.russell@csulb.edu

Nicholas Russell (ABD, University of Utah)
Director of Forensics
Office phone number: 562 985-4340
Office location: AS-380
Email address: nicholas.russell@csulb.edu

Dr. Craig R. Smith, Director, Center for 1st Amendment Studies (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University)
Area of expertise: First Amendment Studies, Rhetoric, and Public Address
Office phone: (562) 985-4313
Office location: AS-304
Email address: craig.smith@csulb.edu
Personal web page:http://www.csulb.edu/~crsmith/1amendment.html

Dr. Ebony A. Utley (Ph.D., Northwestern University)
Area of expertise: Rhetorical Criticism and Theory, Hip Hop
Office phone number: 562-985-5303
Office location: AS-372
Email address: ebony.utley@csulb.edu
Personal webpage: http://www.csulb.edu/~eutley

Ms. Reyna Velarde (MA, CSULB)
Forensics/Assistant Director of Individual Events
Office phone number: 562-985-8849
Office location: AS-377
Email address: reyna.velarde@csulb.edu

Ms. Jamie Wiles (MA, CSULB)/Undergraduate Advisor
Office phone number: 562-985-2136
Office location: AS-316
Email address: jamie.wiles@csulb.edu

Dr. Stacy L. Young (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
Area of expertise: Interpersonal and Relational Communication
Office phone number: (562) 985-9388
Office location: AS-348
Email address: sly.young@csulb.edu

Please see a complete listing of contact information including part-time lecturers and teaching associates on the main page under Faculty Office hours