Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Anthropology Banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty and Staff

Karen Quintiliani

Title: Department Chair
Email: Karen.Quintiliani@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-1301
Office: F03-303
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Research and Teaching Focus: Urban and applied anthropology, social welfare, public policy, gender and sexuality; North America, Southeast Asia.
Mitra Baghdadi

Title: Department Coordinator
Email:  Mitra.Baghdadi@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5171
Office: FO3-305
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
M-F 8:30 am-4:30 pm

Faculty


Jayne Howell

Title: Professor
Email: Jayne.Howell@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5192
Office: FO3-312
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Tu 2:00pm – 3:45 pmWed 3:00 pm – 3:45 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Education and employment, gender, migration, urban anthropology, ethnohistory, tourism, Mexico; Mexico, Latin America

Alexandra Jaffe

Title: Professor
Email: Alexandra.Jaffe@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-2594
Office: PSY-415
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Mon/Wed 11:00 am – 12:00 pmTh 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Research and Teaching Focus: Minority language planning and politics, language ideology, anthropology and education, bilingual education, language in the media, orthography and transcription, sociolinguistics

Wendy Klein

Title: Assistant Professor
Email: W.Klein@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-8828
Office: PSY-221
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Mon 3:00 pm – 4:00 pmTu 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Undergraduate Advisor for Linguistics – additional hours for advising on Tu/Th

Research and Teaching Focus: Linguistic anthropology, ethnography of communication, language socialization, narrative, language ideology; Japan, Northern India, United States

Barbara LeMaster

Title: Professor
Email: Barbara.LeMaster@csulb.edu
Website: www.csulb.edu/~lemaster/
Phone: (562) 985-5171
Office: F03-322
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Tu/Th 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Research and Teaching Focus: Ethnicity and gender, applied linguistics, deaf languages and culture, interpreting and translation, intercultural communication, applied anthropology, anthropology and education, urban anthropology, medical anthropology; Ireland, Southern California

Carl P. Lipo

Title: Professor
Email: Carl.Lipo@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-2393
Office: PH1-204
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Wed 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
Website: http://www.csulb.edu/~clipo
Blog: http://www.evobeach.com
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeological method and theory, evolutionary theory, complex societies, cultural elaboration, cultural transmission, simulation, ceramics, community structure, stylistic variability, seriation, quantitative methods; Eastern North America, Oceania

Ron Loewe

Title: Professor
Email: Ronald.Loewe@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5034
Office: F03-324
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Research and Teaching Focus: Medical anthropology, applied anthropology, Maya language, culture and politics, tourism; Mexico, Latin America

Hector Neff

Title: Professor
Email: Hector.Neff@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4468
Office: PH2-210
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
On Leave
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeology, archaeometry, evolutionary theory, origins of agriculture, quantitative methods; Mesoamerica, Southwest United States, South America

Steven Rousso-Schindler

Title: Associate Professor
Email: Steven.Rousso-Schindler@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-8179
Office: FO3-320
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Wed 12:30 – 2:00 pm, 3:30 – 4:00 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Visual anthropology and anthropology of Palestine/Israel, national narrative theory, narrative theory, demography, Middle East
anthropology, medical anthropology; Israel/Palestine, United States, rural China

George Scott

Title: Associate Professor in the Faculty Early Retirement Program (FERP)
Email: George.Scott@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5186
Office: F03-314
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Research and Teaching Focus: Anthropology and literature, cultural diversity, anthropology of religion, urban anthropology; South Asia and United States

R. Scott Wilson

Title: Associate Professor & Undergraduate Advisor
Email: Scott.Wilson@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5172
Office: F03-318
Office Hours
Fall 2014
Tu 11:00 am – 1:00 pm

Wed 9:30 am – 11:30 am

Th 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm

Website: http://www.anthropologyandfilm.net
Research and Teaching Focus: Race and ethnicity, transnational media, cultural production; Taiwan, global East Asia

Marcus Young Owl

Title: Professor
Email: Dr.YoungOwl@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5179
Office: FO3-316
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Mon/Tu/Wed/Th 11:15 am – 12:15 pm
Research and Teaching Focus: Primate anatomy and comparative biology, evolutionary theory, anatomical lexicon, history of physical anthropology and anatomy, science education

 

Part-time, Full-time Temporary Faculty


Denise Cucurny

Title: Professor
Email: Denise.Cucurny@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5189
Office: LA5-159
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Research and Teaching Focus: Cross-cultural healing, primate behavior & anatomy, human variation & evolution

Thomas J Douglas

Title: Professor
Email: tjdouglas@earthlink.net
Phone: (562) 985-5170
Office: PSY-315
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Mon/Wed 10:00 – 11:00 amWed/Th 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Urban and economic anthropology, religion, culture; California, Washington, Cambodian immigrants

Linda D Light

Title: Professor
Email: Linda.Light@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5189
Office: LA5-159
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Tu/Th 9:30 am – 10:30 am, 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Guatemalan Maya in Los Angeles, language, gender/ethnicity

Kaoru Oguri

Title: Professor
Email: Kaoru_Oguri@hotmail.com
Phone: (562) 985-4515
Office: LA5-269
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Mon 12:15 pm – 1:15 pmWed 9:15 am – 9:45 am,1:30 pm – 2:00 pm

Th 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm

Research and Teaching Focus: Ethnicity, gender, urban anthropology, expressive culture, Asian-American studies; Japan, China, North America

Namika Raby

Title: Professor
Email: Namika.Raby@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5186
Office: F03-314
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Mon/Wed 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm & by appointment & via e-mail
Website http://namikaraby.com/
Research and Teaching Focus: Development anthropology, cross-cultural community management of water resources, gender & development; Southeast Asia, United States

Sachiko Sakai

Title: Professor
Email: Sachikosak@gmail.com
Phone: (562) 985-1916
Office: FO5-230
Office Hours
Fall 2014:
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeology of Southwest United States, ceramic production and exchange, ceramic source study, luminescence dating, chemical compositional analysis, evolutionary archaeology, field school near the Grand Canyon

 

Emeriti Faculty


Keith Dixon

Email: Keith.Dixon@csulb.edu
Research and Teaching Focus: Ethnohistory, cultural resources conservation, collections curation, ethics, research design, and report review in cultural resources management; Archaeology of Orange County and southern Los Angeles County, central and southern Mexico, Guatemala, Southwest United States

James R Gregory

Email: James.Gregory@csulb.edu
Research and Teaching Focus: Sociocultural dynamics, economic anthropology, political anthropology; Caribbean, Latin America

Robert Harman

Email: Robert.Harman@csulb.edu
Research and Teaching Focus: Intercultural communication, applied anthropology, aging; Karen Maya, Mesoamerica, Thailand

Daniel O. Larson

Email: Daniel.Larson@csulb.edu
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeology, cultural ecology, evolutionary theory, research design, ethnohistory, climatic change; Western North America, Ireland

Eugene Ruyle

Email: Eugene.Ruyle@csulb.edu
Research and Teaching Focus: Intercultural communication, applied anthropology, aging; Karen Maya, Mesoamerica, Thailand