Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Asian and Asian American Studies
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty and Staff

  • Dr. Teri A. Yamada, Professor and Chair
  • Office: FO3-336
  • Phone: (562) 985-7942
  • E-mail: teri.yamada@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tue 10:00-1:00 p.m. (except second Tuesday of the month); Wed 10:00-1:00 p.m., or by appointment
  • Succession Plan as of Spring Jan_2014
  • Dr. Barbara W. Kim, Vice Chair, Grad and Undergrad Adviser
  • Office: FO3-334
  • Phone: (562) 985-7530
  • E-mail: barbara.kim@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tuesdays 2:00-5:00 p.m.; Wednesdays 3:30-6:30 p.m., and by appointment.
  • Dr. John Tsuchida, Professor of ASAM Studies and Study Abroad Administrator
  • Office: FO3-338
  • Phone: (562) 985-8085 E-mail: john.tsuchida@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Mon & Tue 3:30-4:30 p.m., Wed 5:00-6:00 p.m., or by appointment
  • Michelle Seales, Administrative Support Coordinator and Study Abroad Adviser
  • Office: FO3-340
  • Phone: (562) 985-4645
  • E-mail: m.seales@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Mon – Fri – 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
  • Dr. Hiroko Kataoka, Professor and Adviser to the Japanese Language Program
  • Office: FO3-321
  • Phone: (562) 985-4030
  • E-mail: hiroko.kataoka@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours:
  • Dr. Masako Douglas, Professor and Adviser for the Japanese Language Program
  • Office: FO3-332
  • Phone: (562) 985-5280
  • E-mail: masako.douglas@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: On Sabbatical for Spring 2014
  • Dr. Kiyomi Chinen, Assistant Professor for the Japanese program
  • Office: FO3-330
  • Phone: (562) 985-5277
  • E-mail: k.chinen@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Mon & Wed 11:10-12:10 pm; Tue 5:00-6:00 p.m., or by appointment.
  • Dr. Ruixi Ai, Assistant Professor and Chinese Program Advisor
  • Office: FO3-319
  • Phone: (562) 985-5493
  • E-mail: ruixi.ai@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tue and Thurs 2:00-3:00 pm or by appointment
  • Dr. Linda Maram, Professor of ASAM Studies
  • Office: FO3-317
  • Phone: (562) 985-4822
  • E-mail: linda.maram@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tuesdays 3:30-4:30 p.m. or by appointment
  • Dr. Dean S. Toji, Assistant Professor of ASAM Studies
  • Office: FO3-304
  • Phone: (562) 985-1668
  • E-mail: dean.toji@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: TBA (please email for appointment until further notice)
  • Chuc Bui, Lecturer for the Vietnamese language courses
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: quyendi.bui@gmail.com
  • Office Hours: Mon & Wed 4:15-4:55 p.m., or by appointment.
  • Dr. Sam Coleman, Lecturer for Asian Studies and the Japanese program
  • Office: FO3-321
  • Phone: (562) 985-4030
  • E-mail: scolema2@csulb.edu
  • Website: www.samcoleman.tk
  • Office Hours: Fri 10:00-11:00 a.m., or by appointment.
  • Lawrence S. Hashima, Lecturer in ASAM Studies
  • Office: FO3-317
  • Phone: (562) 985-4822
  • E-mail: lhashima@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 2:00-3:00 p.m. or by appointment
  • Kumiko Kitagawa, Lecturer for the Japanese language program
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: kumiko.kitagawa@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Mon, Tue & Thur 9:00-9:30 a.m. and 12:00-12:30 p.m., or by appointment
  • Haley Ariel Lee, Lecturer for the Korean language courses
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: akimucla@gmail.com
  • Office Hours: Mon & Wed 8:30-9:00 a.m., or by appointment
  • JiHyun Park, Lecturer for the Korean language courses
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: jiparkusc@gmail.com
  • Office Hours: TBA
  • Dr. Kaoru Oguri, Lecturer for the ASAM and Asian Studies programs
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: kaoru.oguri@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: TBA
  • Outey Khuon, Lecturer for the Khmer (Cambodian) language courses
  • Office: LA5 269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • Email: okhuon@lbusd.k12.ca.us
  • Office Hours: TBA
  • Ching-I Tsao, Lecturer for the Chinese language program
  • Office: FO3 315
  • Phone: (562) 985-5278
  • E-mail: chingitsao@yahoo.com.tw
  • Office Hours:
  • Jeff Winters, Lecturer for the Chinese language program
  • Language Lab Director
  • Office: LAB-303
  • Phone: (562) 985-1082
  • E-mail: jeff.winters@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours:
  • Debra Whittaker, Lecturer for the Asian Studies program
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: dwhittaker@lbcc.edu
  • Office Hours: Tue 3:15-4:15 p.m., or by appointment
  • Xiaowen Wu, Lecturer in Chinese Studies
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: xiaowen.wu@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tue & Thur 12:15-1:45 p.m., or by appointment
  • J-Son Ong , Lecturer in Chinese Studies
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: jsonwooichin@gmail.com
  • Office Hours: TBA
  • Daphne De Falco, Lecturer in Chinese Studies
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: daphnedefalco@yahoo.com
  • Office Hours: TBA
  • Karen Quintiliani, Assistant Professor- department of Anthropology
  • Office: FO3-322
  • Phone: (562) 985-9275
  • E-mail: karen.quintiliani@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: TBA

Upcoming Events

  • No events.

Contact Us

Department of Asian and Asian American Studies

Contact us at 562-985-4645 or stop by our office in FO3-340

And please join our CSULB Asian and Asian American Studies Facebook page for events, internships, grants and job updates:

FacebookIcon

RedPin