You are here

Create, Edit or Delete Groups and Categories

Creating a Group

Creating a group is simple in BeachBoard. 

  1. Click the Add Group icon on the Manage Groups page
    Adding a group
  2. Update the Group Name if you want it to be different from the one provided.
  3. Update the Group Code if you want it to be different from the one provided.
  4. Enter a Description for the group, if desired.
  5. Click Save

Creating a New Group After Enrolling Users

If you add a new group with Auto-Enroll New Users turned on, new users are automatically enrolled in the new group until users are evenly distributed between it and other groups. Once it is the same size as other groups, new users are added normally.

Editing Groups and Categories

  1. From the Manage Groups page, open the context menu next to the group category you want to edit.
  2. Click Edit Category.
    edit group category
  3. Update the appropriate fields. See Creating a Group or Creating a Category for detailed instructions.
  4. Click Save.

Deleting Groups and Categories

  1. From the Manage Groups page do one of the following:
    1. Select the check box beside the group or category you want to delete.
    2. Select the check box at the top of the list to select all groups and categories.
  2. Click Delete

What happens when you delete a group?

  1. If Auto-Enroll New Users is selected, users are automatically distributed in the remaining groups.
  2. If groups are set up for manual enrollment, users must be added to the remaining groups using the Enroll Users page.
  3. Group discussion forums remain available for reference. They can be deleted using the Discussions tool.
  4. Group locker areas and the files they contain are deleted.
  5. Group dropbox folders and the files they contain are deleted.

What happens when you delete a category?

  1. Users are no longer enrolled in groups because they do not exist.
  2. Group discussion forums remain available for reference. They can be deleted using the Discussions tool.
  3. Group locker areas and the files they contain are deleted.
  4. Group dropbox folders and the files they contain are deleted.